We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen Better Days” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seen Better Days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel was very disappointing.The decor was very dull and shabby and the place was dimly lit.Infact the main light in the room and the one in the bathroom did not work in the morning.When I notified the receptionist she said "I might get someone to look at it"
The breakfast was good but overall this was poor value for the money

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HReeves, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
I am sorry that our cozy traditional decor was not to your liking.On speaking with our Duty Manager on the morning of your lights fusing, she asures me that the trip switch was reset within minutes of you reporting this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    214
    81
    47
    43
See reviews for
113
376
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Don't have the Roast beef for the Carvery. Tough+++ couldn't cut never mind chew.I Fortunately I had taken a bit of pork which was fine. Friend and another customer struggled.
Sweet fine and atmosphere cosy and staff pleasant.Just ask to taste the roast beef before it reaches your plate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HReeves, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
We would like to advise that we complained to our supplier regarding the beef on Sunday and sent it back to them.They have since refunded the cost and we are now using a different cut.Glad you enjoyed the pork please come and try or beef again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed her for one night in November as we were passing through. The hotel is interesting in decor and keeping with the age of the hotel. For me it is more suited for an older clientele. Our room was quite dark and fairly small with not much room to move but acceptable nonetheless. The bathroom was nice and no problems with lack of hot water. We didn't eat in the hotel but would have chosen the Bothy Bar to eat as it was really cosy with a fire, candles etc. The main dining hall was huge and steeped in history. Quite imposing really but a bit big for intimate dining. There was a huge roaring fire in a beautiful fireplace and that was lovely. The lounge area was a mish mash of seating and styles but could be described as quaint. That area also had a roaring fire and was very cosy. Afternoon tea was a bit disappointing as just served on one plate. 1 slice of bread with a filling of your choice, 1 scone and 1 small meringue. It didn't quite look enticing as you would like for afternoon tea. The hotel was fine for a 3 star hotel but I wouldn't stay there again as there are other hotels I prefer better. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HReeves, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive and constructive critisism.This is very helpful to us.Maybe try our Bothy Bar while passing sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Enjoyed an overnight stay but could easily have stayed for several more. Staff were excellent and the food in the bar was really good. Great room and fab breakfast. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room on the second floor and this was big and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HReeves, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive feed back it was most appreciated.Come back and see us for longer next time.Look out for our deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night in October. The hotel is well situated in Blair Atholl, and in it's heydey must have been spectacular.
it is a large,rambling hotel which needs a lot of money spent on it.
Our room was in the eaves of the building, and although clean it was very cramped because of restricted headroom, and furnished with tatty, uncomfortable chairs.
It was also cold because of the single glazed windows, poor heating and draughts.
Lighting in the room was really poor which helped disguise the avocado suite in the bathroom and the electric shower was woeful-either scalding or cold water came out at poor pressure.
We ate in the attached Bothy bar that night and we found the food to be really tasty although i wasn't happy when I asked the barman if I could run a tab for food and drinks- he demanded I hand over a credit or debit card to be retained by him until we finished- despite us being hotel guests-I don't think the card companies would have been happy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel was the first onw on our honeymoon. we order thier best room but they made a mistake and gave that room to someone esle. they compensate us with chocolate, champagne and a greating card. the room we got was the second best and it was great too. amazing views from the windows, comfortable bed and nice people.
the town itself is quiet and peaceful. and the dinner in the pub was nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Enjoyed an overnight stay, and from the minute we arrived till we left, the staff were very friendly and professional. Room was nice and clean with a comfy bed and a good shower and there was always plenty of hot water. Excellent breakfast was served in the dining room which had a big coal fire, and was steeped in medieval history.
Hotel is sited right next to the local train station, and there is a bus stop just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymcculloch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing