We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming staff. Good for 1 night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff. Good for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

When we arrived at Atholl Arms hotel the lady at reception was very friendly and welcoming.The room was smaller than expected but still clean, tidy and fine for 1 night. The bathroom definitely needs updating but overall it was absolutely fine and comfortable.
We made a big mistake of driving to Pitlochry for dinner...we should have stayed and eaten at Bothy Bar which is in the hotel! Such a lovely little pub/bar, very cosy and great staff. We only had a desert there and after dinner drinks however i would definitely recommend eating there.
Also a good scottish cooked breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    214
    80
    47
    43
See reviews for
112
376
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The room was comfortable and cosy. The food was good. There was a nice bothy bar around the back of the building but it was just nice relaxing each evening by the roaring fire in the lounge. The service was very attentive. I would certainly recommend the hotel as a good place to stay whilst exploring perthshire.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John198197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed here for a three night short break - our second visit. Warmly welcomed, staff attentive and helpful, location excellent. Ate in Bothy Bar - good food and friendly service.
Room in hotel clean, traditional styling but more than adequate. Would certainly come again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Having left the nearby Bridge of Tilt Hotel because it was not a place where we would have stayed the night .
We were delighted with the accommodation and quality of food in this Hotel we were in a standard room and it was superbly decorated and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the Hotel. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The bar and restaurant were busy and the ambiance excellent. The breakfast was large and very tasty.
We intend to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emboalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We have traveled around the highlands visiting as many areas as we could, staying in a different area and hotel every few days, and out of all of the six hotels we hsve stayed in this was by far the best accommodation and the most friendly.

If you are travelling to this district it’s a must, Heather and her staff are great so friendly and welcoming, we will return here again.
Regards Peter & Vicki

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

3 night stay.
caring staff, clean rooms, lovely breakfast. delightful hotel and staff. cant wait to visit this area again. Cold outside but the roaring log fires inside were just great.
visits.
blair castle.
queens view.
athol coffee shop/shopping centre.4.miles.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

I last stayed here over Hogmany with friends.

About a 18 months before we went, friends said they always fancied a tradditional Scottish Hogmany and I knew the perfect place. None of us were disappointed. The atmosphere was amazing, the food delicious and the band each night were terrific. The rooms, as always were clean, warm and very spacious.

I have stayed at this hotel twice before, the first time when I got married there, I can't even begin to descibe how lovely Heather and all the staff were, from planning the menu to the flowers on display, ensuring all my guests were OK and advising on bands etc, nothing was too much trouble. The day went smoothly and everyone had a great time.

I then went back a year later of the Christmas time and all I can say is that the hotel is consistanly great! Always a great and warm welcome. As I said in the title, I'm looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing