We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Craigvrack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigvrack
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this for our 18th wedding anniversary as we have a 6 month old puppy and did not want to leave him at home. Lots of nice walks nearby and the owner told us of a place we could go and eat nearby and take puppy with us. We sat in the hotel bar afterwards with Charlie and the owner made him very welcome. Tired him out well for us and was safe to let him off his lead in the bar. Breakfast could not have been much better with choice of cooked breakfast and variety of cereal, fruit, toast tea etc. rooms were nice and comfortable. Very likely to go back for a longer stay. Great place to enjoy outdoors and your pet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evefrscot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely hotel in a quiet part of Pitlochry. Stayed here so we could go to the Blair Atholl International Horse Trials, spent 2 nights here and enjoyed the walk down the hill to the town for food at night. Hotel is approx. 10mins walk from the main street at a slow pace. (due to having a dog that always sniffs excessively)
Very clean hotel where clearly the owners take pride in looking after the place. Rooms are quite small, but fine for a weekend away. Efficient staff in the bar and at breakfast. Breakfast lovely apart from square sausage.
Parking on site and very welcoming to our dog. Nice to be somewhere that dogs are allowed and he was able to join us in the lounge bar.
Would like to use this hotel again but just very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

For almost £100 a night I would have expected better. Double room was too small although very clean. Staff were friendly but I wasn't impressed with breakfast. My idea of a hollandaise sauce is not a dollop of mayonnaise next to my eggs...I would suggest the chef reads up a little. Some good points about this hotel but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pod72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We needed two rooms for an overnight visit to Pitlochry for a family birthday and was lucky enough to find 2 here. Wasn't disappointed. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Plenty choices for breakfast and 3 of our party had the full Scottish which was well cooked. Coffee cups kept topped up. Friendly and efficient staff. Our double room was perhaps a bit on the small side given the tariff for the room, but this was made up for a very comfortable bed. If I were staying for a week I think I would want a larger room to spread out in. There being two chairs in the room there isn't really anywhere to put them to lounge, but for an overnight stay it satisfied our needs well enough. Our bathroom had a large shower (although not powerful) shower, but was spotlessly clean. The boys had a twin room which was comfortable to their needs too for an overnight stay but would say was a better size to spread out a bit.

It is close to the town 5-10 minute walk, easy on the way down but steep hill back up again so be prepared.

Overall a very comfortable overnight stay and would definitely consider using again if needed.

Room Tip: If staying for week or so ask for a larger room to spread out and one with a view to the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent and the owner is a mine of information about scottish and local history and nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay, had a lovely twin room beautifully decorated, it wad clean and tidy, also had a good breakfast with lots of variety, and good service too. Also has a fabulous view across the hills. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suelizj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for one night. room was quite small but fine for a short stay. room very clean and bright with lovely view. nice big carpark with ample parking. breakfast was fab, lots of choice. the rest of the hotel was very clean and bright. staff friendly. would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigvrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvrack

Address: 38 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: $100 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigvrack 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run business offering bed and breakfast in 16 individually decorated rooms. All of our en-suite rooms are a mix of twin, double, triple and family rooms sleeping up to a maximum of 4 adults. All rooms have flat screen TV's and a hospitality tray for your convenience. We have a quiet lounge for our guests to relax perhaps take a book from the small library we have. We have free wifi in all areas now, including our bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Craigvrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvrack Hotel Pitlochry
Craigvrack Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing