We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking scottish charm.”
Review of Craigvrack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigvrack
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Before we booked we checked the Trip advisor reviews,

But this hotel has recently been taken over and we found ourselves in
unchartered waters.


We have enjoyed many holidays in Scotland and we have made some wonderful scottish freinds. We always choose family owned hotels or guesthouses because our girls thrive in a family atmosphere and it is
important that it feels like home for them.

The new owners are probably still finding their feet, But, I have to say I have never felt so unwelcome!

Especially as a paying guest!

This family need to decide whether they want to be a public house for
the locals or a quality hotel which values its guests.

I had thought that this may have been an excellent venue for Hogmanay
and our trip was a bit of a fact finding mission for my large and extended family.

Make no mistake, this was a clean hotel in a nice part of town but for us it lacked the true scottish charm we have come to expect.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank splitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2007

Small but nice hotel in an ideal setting - although for elderly or infirm residents the uphill walk from the town centre to the hotel should be borne in mind. The distance is roughy 400 to 500 metres from Pitlochrie main street.

Stayed for three nights on half-board basis. Food was excellent. Bedroom was very small but adequate. Nice litlle lounge bar in the hotel and prices ok. Staff friendly and the hotel very clean and well-decorated.

The bar ran out of dark beer on the Sunday night (not my fault as our group weren't drinking that much) which was surprising and rather disappointing. Also ran out of cheese (so the cheeseboard wasn't on at dinner) and also venison ( a couple ordered it at lunchtime on the Sunday and, although the order was taken the waiter returned to say they had ran out of it). However, as stated, the food was excellent and really well-presented and the lounge bar was really nice.

Fine hotel for a short break but bear in mind that there is no entertainment provided - although the Pitlochry Hydro is nearby. I would guess that you could go to Pitlochry, on half-board - basis cheaper and at just-as-nice a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmcefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Been to Pitlochry a couple of times but this time decided to stay and we picked the Craigvrack Hotel - Fantasic couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. All the staff are so helpful nothing is to much trouble! Perfect place for families and couples. Lovely restaurant, lovley bar and great location the views amazing - please go and see for yourself. I'm going back next month!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PerriFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

We were visiting the Enchanted Forest and Chose to stay in the Craigvrack. The pictures don't do this place justice, very friendly, great location, very clean. Bedrooms were big and comfortable and had everything you needed.

Last down for breakfast but still greeted with a warm smile and lovely views from the window in the restaurant. Brekkie was also delicious!

Value for money, we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynners32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sersoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank JoepMCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,272 reviews
1.9 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigvrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvrack

Address: 38 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: $100 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigvrack 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run business offering bed and breakfast in 16 individually decorated rooms. All of our en-suite rooms are a mix of twin, double, triple and family rooms sleeping up to a maximum of 4 adults. All rooms have flat screen TV's and a hospitality tray for your convenience. We have a quiet lounge for our guests to relax perhaps take a book from the small library we have. We have free wifi in all areas now, including our bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craigvrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvrack Hotel Pitlochry
Craigvrack Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing