We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed Friday 20 June, our room was in the loft and was so pretty although my boyfriend at 6ft struggled in the bathroom! We were greeted by Anna on reception who checked us in and took us to our room, she was very attentive and offered to bring us fresh milk to our room for coffee. The attention to detail was lovely all around, from the fresh flowers in water on all of the tables to the books in the lounge, we had dinner that evening and breakfast on Saturday, the food was beautifully fresh and well cooked and the staff were excellent all round. I think we would have liked there to be a more relaxed lounge and bar area for a drink before and after dinner, the lounge , although comfortable and beautifully decorated felt slightly like a waiting room. Overall highly recommended, I hope we can go back again soon

Room Tip: We had the dunkeld suite, which although beautiful meant my guy had to crouch to have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay with us.
As East Haugh is an old family house dating back hundreds of years, the McGowan family have tried to keep that family feel about the place, whilst still utilizing certain spaces for the commercial side that exists within East Haugh, therefore some spaces may be a little compact, but we feel that this adds to the overall ambiance that we hope our guests feel when they stay with us. We will of course accommodate our guests to fit there needs when they check in with us.
I will pass on your comments to both our front of house staff and kitchen brigade, who are always happy to hear comments from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 704 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent two nice in that nice hotel having the upper room with a whirlpool type bath. The food, breakfast as well as dinner was outstanding, the house is conveniently located near to some interesting places and to the town of Pitlochry which is only 10 mins away. I would come back any time.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Konrad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, all of the team here at East Haugh work very hard to provide our guests with the best service within all areas of the hotel I shall pass on your comments to all of the staff, who are always happy to hear feedback from our guests, and we hope to see you again soon in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very good as usual, staff friendly and helpful. A good stay was had by both of us. Room was just as we wanted it, and we were welcomed back like old friends by the owners. Dinner was very good as was breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to welcome back returning guests to the East \Haugh, comments from previous guests mean so much to all the team here, as a statement of how all our hard work is rewarded, through repeat business, so once again I thank you for your lovely review and myself and the team here hope to welcome you back to East Haugh very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at East Haugh house hotel en route to friends in the north. Traveling with a dog, we were put in Katy Dee - right next door to the main hotel. The room was quite small but clean, pretty, very comfortable with lots of lovely little touches including big fluffy bathrobes. The bathroom was a good size, again with big bath towels that go all the way around!
In the restaurant you could be forgiven for thinking the main dinner menu looks a little uninspiring and predictable however, that in itself offers a certain level of comfort (you're not having to wade through lists of ingredients you've never heard of ) and of course it does not take into consideration the standard of cooking which was fantastic. Plus the daily specials menu make best use of spanking fresh ingredients. In the hands of the kitchen brigade who clearly know what they're doing we had a truly delicious and memorable meal.
The service was friendly, a little frenzied, but always with a smile from a restaurant team who work very hard to make sure that each and every guest is pampered!
My only watchpoint would be for those guests who are travelling with dogs: the hotel is dog friendly (our little Cairn terrier was completely spoilt) but be sure you are aware of the hotel's policy. For all the right reasons they prefer dogs to stay in the porch area outside your bedroom– for our 10-year-old arthritic four-legged friend this was no problem, but we might have struggled had we had a younger, less well trained, more boisterous model!
That said, we will definitely be back – and we would encourage anybody travelling north looking for a stop off to try East Haugh!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joshnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, All of the team at East Haugh work very hard, especially during a busy service to provide an excellent standard of hospitality to all of our guests. Especially our hard working kitchen brigade, who are extremely passionate about all of the dishes they prepare for our diners to enjoy, Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. We had been planning to stay for some time after the food had been recommended some years ago. Finally arrived and checked in to one of smallest rooms the hotel offers, this was a situation entirely of our own making as we had originally booked only one night and changed our plans at the last minute, however the hotel was fully booked on the first evening and this small room was all there was available.The lady on reception was lovely, and pointed out to me that perhaps I might find the small bathroom rather too small, as I am over 6 foot tall. However she did say that if we thought it necessary we could change rooms into one of the superior rooms the following day. The bathroom was really too small, and we moved into the splendidly named Dusty mIller the following day, this room was lovely and very comfortable with a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi and very powerful shower. Only one gripe, I don't really like carpets in bathrooms. The staff in the hotel are excellent and clearly work very hard to make your stay memorable, and at the same time preserving that small hotel feel.
We took breakfast and evening meal both days in the hotel. I really can't fault the food whatsoever, tasty and beautifully presented. The wine list was very reasonable also. Top marks for East Haugh,
All in all a very peaceful two days in glorious Perthsire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naepockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thankyou for your review, As East Haugh is an old building, some of our standard rooms are quite bijou, therefore we try to accommodate all of our guests into surroundings that best suits their needs, and reallocate accordingly, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

third trip to east haugh hotel this time with our newborn baby on tow ,the owners couldn't have made us more welcome, nothing was a problem like heating a bottle ect ect quality food ,amazing breakfast, hats of to east haugh

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, all of the team here at East Haugh work hard to provide our guests with true Scottish hospitality, I will pass on your comments to all of the team here, especially our lovely housekeeper who works hard to ensure that all of our rooms are serviced to a high standard to meet and exceed our guests expectations, once again thank you for your lovely review, and thank you for choosing to spend your special time with us here at East Haugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Charming little B&B, so glad we booked!

We spent our anniversary in the honeymoon suite (East Haugh), which didnt disappoint!

Well decorated, beautiful old fireplace, four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath...it was bliss!

The food was top notch too, and the staff were always on hand, and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we all work hard to provide our guests with an excellent stay here at East Haugh, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,911 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $99 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing