We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

โ€œFantastic and Cosy wee Hotel.๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒโ€
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Cosy wee Hotel.๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely 2 Night stay with breakfast included,the staff were really welcoming and nothing was a bother to them.Our room was cosy and we also enjoyed the Proseco and homemade Chocolates we recieved on arrival to our room.We dined in there restaraunt both nights as we had enjoyed the food so much and finished of each night in either the bar or in the cosy snug lounge with the log fire.I would definitely stay here again especially if I could get the Fourposter bedroom thanks again for a lovely stay East Haugh House Hotel *****

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneDavidAmyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    120
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
85
416
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked this hotel with an online voucher, to stay in for one night as we were travelling north.
We were delighted with the hotel. The smallish but well designed room was upstairs in the cottage/annex. It had 2 large velux windows. It was fresh, comfortable, warm and generally clean, with a 6 foot wide bed and good linen and towels. Nice touch with the chocs and Prosecco, bottled water and the flask of fresh milk for tea. The hotel is near the A9 but fairly quiet.
Breakfast was delicious - especially liked the choices of fresh fruit available. Smoked haddock with poached egg was good!
We would have happily stayed another night, and would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just stayed at East Haugh House for the second time and it was even more delightful as the first. We stayed in a room in the annex, which although a little on the small side, was perfectly lovely, beautifully decorated and compact. The staff couldn't be more helpful and our only regret was that we didn't try the restaurant which looked very inviting. We will be back though and we shall definitely eat at the hotel next time because if breakfast was anything to go by then I'm sure it will be delicious. The location is perfect because you are away from the hustle and bustle of Pitlochtry town but you can walk there easily and safely in about 30 minutes. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just back from an overnight stay at EHH, booked with an online voucher and based on the amount we paid, I would say, overall, it represented value for money. The comments I have are meant to be constructive rather than destructive criticism and should be taken as such. We stayed in Jock Scott, which has somewhat original design with (my pet peeve) carpet in the bathroom. On so many levels - no! There are a few problems with the room and hotel in particular which are more to do with the age of the property, rather than anything intrinsically wrong - squeaky uneven floorboards for example. However, there should be an extractor fan in the bathroom to help with the condensation/mould problems which are apparent - not everyone wants to open the window on a cold March day to help this along. The housekeeping could also do with some improvement - we had a four-poster bed with, ahem, dust problems on the rails and bedside magazines. The chocs and prosecco were nice touches but I'd rather have a cleaner room if I'm being honest.

Service was friendly, brisk but we gave up trying to order dessert after 30 mins waiting as by that time we realised we weren't that hungry! I don't know whether they were having an off night or whether an extra pair of hands is needed when the hotel restaurant is full but either way they're losing out on business. On a positive note, the food is actually very good and they are fortunate to have capable and inventive pairs of hands in the kitchen - my venison fillet and my husband's slow cooked lamb both showed flair and imagination, to the extent that two empty plates returned to the kitchen almost as clean as when they were first used! Breakfast was also good (and faster) using local ingredients.

So, overall, a nice trip in a lovely location with friendly people and serving good food. A few tweaks here and there would make all the difference in the world. Also to reiterate another person's review, do check your bill before you leave as we later found a few extra things on there that we hadn't ordered.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jock Scott, which overlooks a flat roof. The wallpaper in both the bedroom and bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinty2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an extensive review of your stay at East Haugh House.

We really do appreciate your constructive criticism and would like to take this opportunity to reply to some of your points to tell you how we have now put these right for future guests.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding how much you enjoyed our food. Our brilliant chefs use the very finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients so it means a lot to us to hear this wonderful feedback. We have passed this on to them.

The hotel is indeed very old - some 350 years in fact! This does mean there are a few squeaky floorboards at times.

I'm pleased to tell you that the room you stayed in - Jock Scott - has just had a full refurbishment of its bathroom. Following your feedback we decided to remove the carpet and replace with lovely new tiled flooring (like all our other bathrooms) with underfloor heating. The bathroom also has a large new sumptuous jacuzzi bath, perfect for soaking away in before dinner! We have also included an extractor fan which gives that extra ventilation when it's too chilly outside to have the big window open.

We strive to deliver the very highest levels of customer service and, as you can read from the vast majority of our reviews, we do get this right 99% of the time. We were clearly having a very rare 'off' day when you visited! Please do accept our sincere apologies for this.

Feedback from our customers is crucial for our continued efforts to perfect the experience for every guest during their visit to East Haugh House so we do appreciate you flagging this up to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable Hotel. Staff very nice and helpfull.
We had a room in the cottage next to Hotel Katy Dee.
Electric heating kept the room warm but there was cold coming up throught the carpet from the concrete floor.
The room does not have much sound insulation as we could here people above.
Shower room was clean and east to use.
We had a lovely dinner and also a very nice breakfast.
Drinks very expensive.
We would certainly use this Hotel again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hopes were high for East Hugh House Hotel as I have consistently seen good reviews for this place. First thing to say is that this is a pretty wee hotel and offers real charm...can you feel a but coming?

The 'but' in this instance is sadly due to the service received. Prior to arrival, we had been advised to upgrade our room to make use of the Jacuzzi bath and had been emailed twice confirming our complementary dinner and reservation time. However, on arrival we discovered that the complementary dinner was a mistake and would not be honoured and were then taken to the wrong room. At least the receptionist was able to remedy the room issue as nobody had yet checked into the aforementioned Jacuzzi bath room. We found a used towel still hanging on the back of the bathroom door but excused this due to the room change. The room itself was really quaint and I would suggest that the price we paid for it was reasonable.

The following day we looked forward to breakfast in the hotel. Again, service let us down a bitty. The breakfast took over 40 mins to arrive and bore little resemblance to what had been ordered. We decided to just eat it anyway, given it had taken so long to arrive. We asked for toast, as we had eaten the first lot waiting for our cooked breakfast to arrive. This was forgotten and staff had to be reminded again to bring it.

We are both pretty chilled customers but, for a lot of travellers, these issues had the real potential to lead to serious annoyance. Maybe this was a bad week and is hopefully not a sign of slipping standards.

Based on the above, can't really award more than an average score.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynM201383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Kathryn,

We are shocked and disappointed to read that your experience wasn't up to standards when you visited us in March. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.

I have spoken with our staff who tell me that this was not mentioned during your stay which is such a shame as we would have liked to apologise to you at the time.

We strive to deliver the very highest levels of customer service and, as you can read from the vast majority of our reviews, we do get this right 99% of the time. We were clearly having a very rare 'off' day when you visited.

Feedback from our customers is crucial for our continued efforts to perfect the experience for every guest during their visit to East Haugh House so we do appreciate you flagging this up to us.

We do hope you will return to East Haugh again soon so you can go away with a more positive memory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spoken a very enjoyable 2 nights at the East Haugh.
From our arrival to our departure everything was as you would expect from a quality hotel.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with a country theme , with lots of tartan.

The restuarant was first class with well cooked breakfasts served in a pleasant dining room.

We dined on both evenings of our stay and the food was delicious , perfect rib eye!!

The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to makes feel at home.

Highly recommended, we hope to return to this excellent family run hotel for another break later this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0tus1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
763 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
365 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotlandโ€™s โ€œhidden gemsโ€ with the โ€œbest food in the areaโ€. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing