We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Welcoming”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm & Welcoming”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked last minute as a stop off on our way home to Skye after a hectic weeks holiday. We arrived to a warm cosy Hotel. The fires were glowing and welcoming us on a cold crisp winters day. We were given an upgrade to a spacious four postered room with a great spa bath. Just what I needed after pounding the cobbles of Lisbon for a week! Dinner was delightful with great service and at a nice relaxed pace even although the restaurant was busy. All the little extra touches are pitched just right to make you feel welcome. Only issue I had which is just down to personal taste was the blanket on the bed rather than a Duvet. I found it too restricting and heavy and very 'brown'. Maybe if they were in more inviting colours and lighter it would have been more comfortable. I am also a light sleeper and was disturbed by the noise from the Bar until folks left around 1.00am. Our room was right above the Bar so not sure how you get round that issue. My Husband slept right through it but I was kept awake by the conversations downstairs. More drink before bed maybe or join in the party. We were driving the next morning so we couldn't. Breakfast was superb and one of the best we've ever had. Will thoroughtly recommend to friends and our own guests at our holiday cottage here on Skye and hopefully we'll stop over again for longer next time.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room that is not above the Bar then you will sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    118
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
84
408
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

absolutely amazing hotel. great food and staff are so friendly, they cannot do enough for you. the atmosphere of the hotel is warm and cosy and all the little touches that were there for us was lovely and felt very personal. the surroundings of the place are nice and a great selection of things to do and see. was a great romantic night away for us both. have booked up to go back already!

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and lovely in there own way but for something special book a four poster room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a one night stay and arrived earlier than check in time to be told we had been upgraded to a four poster bedroom. Result! The room was very large, as was the bathroom which had a whirlpool bath.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. Delicious food and lovely presentation. A very cosy atmosphere.
The only downside is that it is a few hundred yards from the A9, but we could barely hear the traffic from inside. Also, its quite a long walk to Pitlochry town centre but that did not bother us either.
We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertandAntonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I received a voucher for this beautiful hotel as part of our Christmas from our sons. It was for an overnight stay including breakfast, with hand made chocolates and bath bombs in our room. We upgraded and stayed in the East Haugh room with the open fire and large jacuzzi bath. The service we received from the minute we arrived was excellent. We were greeted by Karen who told us that our room was ready early and when would we like the fire lit? We decided to walk into Pitlochry for lunch at the Old Mill Inn which was lovely. When we came back there was a roaring fire heating our room for which we were very grateful. Our room was very spacious with a four poster bed and beautiful linens. Our bathroom was a good size, with a jacuzzi bath and shower with bathrobes for our use. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant and once again, the staff were very professional, but also friendly. Breakfast, served by Sophie, was great and set us up for a walk around the surrounding area before we headed off for home. We travel extensively and this was one of the best overnight stays we have ever had. We are looking forward to going back again later in the year. Although we were sad to leave, Sandra, who checked us out was so cheery she really brightened our day! Everything about our stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: East Haugh room was worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Return visit to East Haugh for my husband's birthday. Previous stay for our daughter's wedding in January 2009. The whole experience was just as wonderful as the wedding week end. Fantastic cosy intimate atmosphere with amazing food, the best staff and lovely bedrooms makes for a very special place indeed. Certainly won't wait four years for a return trip!!

Room Tip: Four poster rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvieInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a lovely evening here with friends on Sat 2nd Feb. Warmly greeted ( as always ) by Sophie. Stayed in the room at the top of the main house. Very cosy. I can honestly say the venison I had to eat was probably the best I have ever tasted. Lovely unrushed breakfast in the morning, and then home. We only stay near Perth ,but the overnight makes a stay here even more special. Well done again ,and thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbogan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murthly
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was only last year that we came across East Haugh House and due to the excellent dinning we eat there at least twice a month and often more. Both the main restaurant and the "Bar restaurant are well laid out, food presentation and service was faultless hense we ruturn time and time again. This hotel is a hidden secret which is well worth a visit. As we live only 25 minutes away we only dine here but we have heard from friends the rooms are of high standard also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing