We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

One of the best smaller hotels I have ever stayed at. Nothing was too much hassle for the staff. Food amazing and the snug is the place to chill with a cold beer.
Did not know about this until one of my friends had been for a meal and told me about this
Hoping to get back soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    107
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
83
379
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights on a late break ... fabulous little find .. great accommodation suitably quirky ! Got an upgrade to a superb 4 poster room with whirlpool bath absolutely fabulous !
Service was second to none especially the effervescent Sophie ! Food was fantastic well presented & very high standard would highly recommend this little gem & we will certainly be back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollycatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we are always delighted to upgrade our guests when we can.

Please do come back and visit again soon one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at East Haugh House with my girlfriend last month and was very impressed. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms which was very cosy and very comfortable. Ensuite bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was great for soaking in after a cold and wet day out on the hills!

We opted for the dinner bed and breakfast package, and it was well worth the extra for the meals. The food was brilliant, my lamb was cooked to perfection. Followed it up with a great cheese board and a wee dram of whisky in front of their fire place, where we chatted to a couple of other guests staying at the hotel (all very relaxed!). A hearty Scottish breakfast the next morning topped off a great stay. Staff were excellent throughout, very friendly and happy to help.

I would say it's a great place to base yourself for a trip up to Pitlochry, especially for couples or a group fishing/walking trip. Very chilled out and warm atmosphere. I would stay again - and my girlfriend has recently bought vouchers for her parents to use there too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay with us recently. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review about it all.

We do hope your girlfriend's parents like the East Haugh vouchers you are giving them as a gift, and we look forward to welcoming them here. Maybe you should come back with them as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

In two minds whether to actually leave a review as I don't want anyone else to find out about this gem of a hotel, however it is rare to encounter somewhere so warm and homely. The perfect base for exploring the local area and the local bus stops right outside the hotel.

We received a genuine, happy welcome and shown to our room which had some lovely touches: towel origami, homemade tablet and chocolates, fluffy bathrobes and miniature bath bombs. The bed was comfortable and the room was toasty. All rooms are individual with pretty cushions and interesting pictures on the walls.

The restaurant and bar areas are formal but quaint and elegant. The wood-burning fire is the perfect spot for enjoying a couple of ales.

We dined in the bar the first night and it was delicious. The lamb and venison dishes were superb and it felt very decadent. One tiny thing though - slightly too much dipping olive oil in the bowl - couldn't get to the balsamic vinegar, so two separate bowls may be better. At breakfast we opted for the Full Haugh both mornings and it was super. Ample locally-sourced produce, served on piping hot plates and a real treat. The hot and cold breakfast selection is fantastic and it was a tough decision whether to have the kippers on the second morning but the Full Haugh won.

The customer service was fantastic - formal but relaxed and friendly and nothing was a problem. Every member of staff was polite, cheerful and helpful and you leave feeling like a friend.

Second tiny gripe is the poor sound insulation/building construction in the Stoat's Tail room. Considering the price of the room, we were affected on our second night and although not the fault of the fellow guests, the occasional noise of creaking floorboards and conversation was slightly intrusive. Next time I'll save my pennies for a night in Dusty Miller!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and lovely review of your recent stay with us - we are so delighted that you enjoyed it!

I am so sorry that your second night was slightly disrupted by the creaky floorboards. We have tried everything to minimise noise levels in that ground floor room you where in, including adding an additional false ceiling with deadening in between but we just can't get rid of the creaky floor boards completely i'm afraid. But please let us know when you visit again and we will make sure you have a free up-grade - and hopefully to the four poster room (Dusty Miller) if it's available for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Simply excellent. From the very warm welcome, being shown around the Hotel through to my leaving in the morning could not be faulted. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious room which was very well equipped - home made lavender shortbread was superb - beautifully cooked and presented cuisine in the evening and superb breakfast - all served with a smile !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We hope you can come back and stay at East Haugh House again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Where to begin!

This hotel was the perfect place to stop over between visiting the Enchanted Forest & the Highland Wildlife Centre. The staff were welcoming and helpful from the point of booking, and really made us feel like they wanted us to come and stay, something that is often sadly lacking.

With that gift of questionable timing, we arrived just as the member of staff at reception was on the phone dealing with an enquiry, but even then she took a second to greet us and assure us she would be with us as soon as possible.

The room we stayed in had a magnificent four poster bed, a jacuzzi bath, and a spectacular view to the front, out towards Ballechin Woods, something that not even the A9 could spoil. The small touches in the room, such as the lemon shortbread, really make it feel like a home away from home. I would suggest if you are a chocolate fan, pay the little bit extra for the chocolates in your room on arrival, they were very tasty, and well worth it.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant, so unfortunately I can't say anything beyond their menu looked interesting, especially the dessert section...

Breakfast was a little bit of everything, with cereals, fruit and yoghurt to help yourself to, along with the option of as much toast as you can eat, and a variety of cooked breakfasts. I can't recommend the Full Haugh enough.

To sum up, I will be staying again, and I would recommend it to anyone.

My only issue, if you can even consider it an issue, is that while heading up to our room, listening to the staff member guiding us there, not really looking where I was going, I missed the sign at the bottom of the stairs warning my to mind my head....with obvious results. I should point out that I am six and a half foot tall, so it was my own fault, I should have known better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful review! We loved to read about your stay with us, and we're delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

Next time you must have dinner here as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to East Haugh House in the very near future.

PS - hope the bump on the head has cleared up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I had such a lovely experience. It was our first weekend away together without our 14month old daughter and it couldn't have been any better. The staff were so warm and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. The room was quirky & romantic and the handmade chocolates were delicious. As for the food I can safely say that the food was outstanding both for dinner and breakfast and we certainly over indulged! I would definatley recommend East Haugh House as its worth every penny.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi bath is a must, it's perfect for relaxing after a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishsnowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay with us. We are so touched by your lovely comments.
I'm so pleased to read that your first night away from your wee one was so thoroughly enjoyed - let's hope you can come back again, and bring her with you next time as we love babies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing