We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Well House

The Well House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Well House
Ranked #32 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

You have à good night of sleep. Big rooms. Good beds. Quit at night. Good breakfast. Much choise of everything. Very friendly owners. They will help you with everything. Close by to everything. The only negative thing was the shower. No pressure and less water.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Booked just based on the pictures on the internet realitiy was even better than that. A verry friendly and warm welcome by Mary. The rooms were nice and clean and provided everything you need to feel comfortable. We also had difficulties with the WIFI-access, but this did not lower our joy. Gordon did a perfect and attentive breakfast job, always with humorous remarks for his guests. Our first porridge experience went perfect due to the ingredients available on buffet and Gordon's recommendations. And never order kipper with the meat !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is another review where I would like to give 4.5 but the Trip Advisor mechanism will not let me.
The only small niggles (and they are small) was that we could not get the wifi to work in our room and the electric shower was warm but not piping hot (which is my personal preference). Not critical shortcomings and of no consequence to many travelers. The guest house is ideally positioned for central Pitlochry but on a nice quiet road, our room was spotlessly clean, our bed was large and comfy, the breakfast was very good with lots of choice and our hosts were very friendly and helpful - if we find ourselves in Pitlochry again, the Well House will be our first port of call.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V8Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at The Well House when my husband was cycling in the Etape Caledonia. We were very impressed, warm welcome, spotlessly clean throughout, with excellent cooked breakfasts and options of continental breakfast. Would happily stay again and recommend to anyone. You cannot beat porridge made in Scotland, it's the best in the world!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been going to the Well House for many years now. We go with friends and are allways welcomed with open arms. Gordon and Mary Leeman are happy to help in any way, The hotel is warm and friendly, very clean, and the breakfasts served in the dinningroom caters for all tastes. You never leave the table hungry. Pitlochry is a little town with lots to do and a very good theatre. The roads in Scotland are excellent and so Pitlochy is ideal as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent two nights at the Well House on a cycling weekend in Glen Lyon. Warm comfortable rooms of a decent size. Very nice breakfast. Good espresso from the coffee machine. Like the other reviews say here the hosts are very welcoming friendly people and the prices are very reasonable. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent two nights at the Well House towards the end of a 3 week tour of Scotland. Our hosts were lovely people, efficient and friendly without being instrusive. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in pleasant spacious dining room and although we never really sat in it - the guest lounge was great, providing dvds to borrow for your room. The whole setup seemed to run like a 'well oiled clock' and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Although we were only a 2minute walk into the busy town, the B&B was tucked away around the corner in a nice quiet road and we slept soundly. Thankyou for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigroyston House and Lodge
Craigroyston House and Lodge
#17 of 68 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#19 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosehill Guest House
Rosehill Guest House
#18 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annslea Guest House
Annslea Guest House
#34 of 68 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#3 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Well House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Well House

Property: The Well House
Address: 11 Toberargan Road, Pitlochry PH16 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Well House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Well House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Well House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing