We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a 3 day trip to Pitlochry and were warmly welcomed at this hotel. The twin bedded room with en-suite shower was excellent, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The view from the bedroom window,down the strath from Pitlochry town, was breathtakingly beautiful in the sunshine and very "brigadoonish" in the misty rain.
The breakfast was delicious, one of the tastiest that I have eaten for years, with the eggs particularly scrumptious.
I overhead my daughter telling a friend after our return that ... " the lady who owned the hotel just couldn't do enough for us" and that sums up our stay
We did not sample the evening meal but the menu looked fantastic.
I would recommend Tigh na Cloich hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fortyniner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

during our Scottish travel (Motorbikes tour), we had the pleasure to stay in this great hotel.Safe parking and Biker Friendly too.
the warm welcoming make you feel very comfortable even with a "Biker look" .
the room are very comfortable and clean.
we have had dinner on place and that was as well a great experience.
From discovering the "how to enjoy a single malt " as aperitif we went for Mussel as starter, a brazed Guinea fowl as main course and sticky toffee pudding as dessert. AMAZING!, excellent choice of product cooked with passion from a great Chef !.Service was excellent too.
The breakfast choice is extensive with good quality ingredients used.
And for the fully Scottish (my favorite) the Best Haggis I have ever had !
I can absolutely guarantee that you will not be disappointed by this comfortable and friendly hotel.

Hope to visit you again soon

many thanks and warm regards from Switzerland
Stefano & Ulla De Viti

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank De Viti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Once again ...we have visited this gem of a hotel for a last minute break... and come away wishing we could stay longer. From the moment we arrived, nothing was a problem in this friendly and welcoming oasis. Our room at the top of the house had great views with high end furnishings. Spotless too..

Starting both evenings with a relaxing drink in the lounge whilst perusing the menu is such a classy touch ...five star with a hint of small and friendly ....dinner on both nights was second to none ...we were lucky enough to experience the beautiful lamb shank once again (a favourite from a previous visit)and I particularly loved the mushroom risotto with truffle oil ....I have literally never tasted anything like it. In fact we have just returned from Italy where I tried risotto twice, only to be completely disappointed. If you're lucky you might experience chocolate torte or strawberry roulade......unbelievably good!!

Breakfast was everything you would expect ...excellent choice but we always stick with the full Scottish .....with the tastiest haggis I have ever had..

We only stayed two nights so didn't want to travel too far so wanted attractions close by. We have previously visited Blair Atholl but it was so good we went again ....and also visited queens view, had a lovely walk along the river, up to the damn and salmon ladder...and popped up to house of bruar.... Clothes a bit too pricey for us, but it had an amazing selection of housewares and a food hall/deli to rival fortnum and mason!

I cannot recommend this place highly enough ..if it was closer we would visit every month for a little r and r...

Hoping to go back very very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very welcoming owners and well trained staff. The attention to detail is what impressed my wife and myself, nothing was too much and you didn't need to ask for anything because everything had been thought of. For example our room key "vanished" at some point whilst we were ordering drinks prior to dinner and then reappeared just prior to retiring for the night. The waiter was very knowledgable about local Malts and was happy to advise the international guests which they may prefer. We will definitely pay another visit when we are next in Scotland.

Room Tip: Room 7 top floor with outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillianh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the lovely small hotel. This was not our first visit - we have returned there many times in recent years and a warm welcome always awaits you. The rooms are very good - number seven, at the top of the house, affords splendid views across the town and mountains opposite. The food is (prepared by the proprietor) is of excellent quality - generous portions, nicely presented (but not pretentiously artistic!). If you plan to go to Pitlochry Festival Theatre, evening meals are timed so that you can dine and still get to the evening performance without rushing. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HamishMcSporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just returned from this amazing small hotel. Very comfortable spacious rooms with wonderful views (Room 4). The food was very good quality, piping hot and again the views from the dining room were breath taking. Staff very attentive without being overly fussy. Highly recommend this Hotel for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed there on our bike tour trough Scotland with a few friends and the hotel is absolutely top class. Great location, very nice people and great service! Food was also top class.
I you want a very good and nice hotel....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Cloich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Cloich Hotel

Address: Larchwood Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $131 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigh Na Cloich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh Na Cloich (The House of the Sentinel Stone). This lovely Victorian House is a former historic lookout point and offers some of the most stunning views in Pitlochry.Our small personnaly run hotel offers the best of Scottish hospitality, along with outstanding cuisine and a superior level of service. The perfect setting for a relaxing holiday or short break in Pitlochry Perthshire and to tour the Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tigh Na Cloich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Cloich Pitlochry
Hotel Tigh Na Cloich
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing