We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
367
371
215
97
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
371
215
97
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive shearings hotels scenic view shearings holiday dining room leisure facilities jacuzzi and sauna folk singer a la carte menu coach driver superior room evening entertainment half board restaurant manager meal times coach party set menu
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights had a rest time. Staff are fantastic helpfull and polite . Breakfast was good , had an evening meal starters were great main steak cooked to perfection. Hotel is pet friendly , the bar is well stocked also good choice of Gin.Did not use pool but it looked good . Hotel is situated a wee walk from main Street .Rooms are a good size clean some with great views. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Hi, after a very busy summer we now head into a busy Autumn and comments like this inspire our hard working team make no mistake.
You mention you will return which is exactly the kind of thing we want to hear.
Thanks a million.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Just home from a lovely Shearings holiday spent at the Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Every thing was spot on, beautiful comfy room,
Lovely friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful, the food was excellent and would happily recommend this Hotel to anybody
So baffled by the negative comments!!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lorettawill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Hi there, we are all delighted with your review. We try to be all of these things as often as we can.....mostly things tick by nicely and it is great to have an endorsement like yours.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights for our 10 year anniversary and chose this hotel purely for the leisure facilities.

Not sure if some people think that all hotels are brand new modern buildings when booking, but a hotel like this is located in quite an old building and there are bound to be some quirks. Yes, there are sash windows but ours opened fine and it was quite nice to have some fresh air in the room when a lot of modern hotels don’t even let you open the windows properly. We also found it quite funny that a lot of the floors are a wee bit wonky but it all added to the charm!

Our room looked recently renovated and was very clean, the bed was comfy, and we had no problems with the TV or WiFi. The bathroom was very clean also and we had no problem with the temperature of the shower. We weren’t overly keen on the outside lights that shine up the front of the building and in the bedroom window, but wasn’t a problem with the blackout curtains. We just didn’t want to shut the curtains with the great view!

We had breakfast both mornings which again was perfect for us - we preferred the buffet style cooked breakfast so we could choose what we wanted and how much we wanted. Everything looked fresh and tasted great. On the second night we had dinner in the bar and both chose burgers which we were very happy with. And for all the reviews complaining about coach tours - if you don’t want to stay in a hotel that caters for coach tours, stay out of tourist towns. There was a live Scottish singer in the bar on the Saturday night and I can say for a fact that the people from the coach tours brought a bit of life to the bar that night, singing along to all the brilliant Scottish songs most ‘young’ people probably don’t even know. I’ll take a coach tour over a hen/stag party any day.

The pool, jacuzzi, and steam room were great, my only complaint is we would have probably liked the option to use the facilities a bit earlier in the morning or later at night but they are open approx 12 hours so really not a major gripe. All the staff we encountered were great, especially at breakfast, very nice and friendly.

If we are ever heading up this way again, we will absolutely stay here and will recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank glasgowgal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for weekend part of a Facebook group meet up. Staff at reception were very helpful. We had a recently upgraded room. Room was large and pleasant. Bathroom was huge. (Shower a bit of a challenge. Very easy to get scalded).
The group had use of a reception room for the 2 nights. Sorry to night staff for the way we left the seating. Each morning the room was back to normal.
Evening meals. Food was great both nights. Service to the tables was a bit hit and miss. Overall no complaints.
Breakfast. Everyone enjoyed the food. Plenty to choose from.
Thank you.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Iflett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hi, great news ! it is lovely to read that when a group get together they have a good time in their chosen venue.... the photos look fantastic. Really pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and that the team were helpful and obliging.
Perhaps we will see you for your next gathering.
Best regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

My husband and I stayed here for an overnight stay on our way to the North West Coast. The room was most disappointing, basic in every way, we had booked through booking.com. The pool was pleasant, nice way to unwind after a long drive..

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hi, thanks for the review. Eight standard rooms will be getting upgraded shortly which will improve things and if you choose to book again get in touch with us directly and we will make sure you are more comfortable next time.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews