We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break - would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break with Caledonian Travel staying at the Hydro. This was our first visit and I would happily return and recommend it to others. Indeed on talking to some of the fellow passengers they were equally as impressed and hope to return. We had room 226 (twin room with a view) and I would recommend the supplement. The room was very spacious and well furnished. It looks like the room, bathroom and corridor had recently been re-decorated. Beds were very comfortable and although there is no central heating, the room had two very efficient heaters that kept the room very toasty.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - difficult to pick one out above the others. The lounges, bar and restaurant have been very nicely refurbished and very comfortable. Leisure facilities are good - swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna - lovely!
Like the previous reviewer (babs57) I cannot understand some of the comments made about the restaurant. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices and breakfast rolls and croissants. Plus numerous and variety of cooked breakfasts and tea or coffee and toast. For the evening meal there was a three course meal with sufficient choices for each or you could choose al a carte with loads of choice. The meals we had very delicious and they certainly do not skimp on the portions. Service was also excellent.
The only cautionary comment I would make is that the hotel is uphill above the main shopping area of Pitlochry. It takes about 5/10 mins to walk from the main street and it is quite an incline so may not be suitable for people with mobility issues. However, there are local buses that go up that road and there are always taxis at the nearby railway station and wouldn't cost much.

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi, and thanks very much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. It would seem that we ticked all of your boxes and that means everything to us. Happy customers is the name of the game and as I have mentioned many times on these pages, we work very hard to deliver the goods.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 921 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel very clean and comfortable food was excellent and the service in the dining room was first class Very varied selection of meals well presented and cooked Our bedroom was very clean but cold and stuffy because we could not open a window and the bathroom could have done with an extractor fan It took quite a while to warm the room as there was only a fan heater which broke down on our last day . Our coach driver Gordon was very informative and knowledgeable about the area as well as very friendly In all very good value for the cost of the holiday and we will return

Room Tip: We should have upgraded Avoid room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hello there and thanks for your nice comments. I am particularly pleased to read that you found our food to be excellent and that Gordon was very informative on your trips out. it is always extremely satisfying to know that you would return.
Thanks a lot.
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned from a Shearings break to the Pitlochry hydro. . An excellent hotel We had a room with a scenic view no 216. which was excellent and I can recommend the suppkement well worth it. . I an surprised at some of the reviews of the restaurant as we have nothing but praise for it. The breakfast was amazing a good selection and something for everyone. The only thing i would have liked would be a Scottish Breakfast. ie. fried potato scone. but this is just a suggestion not a criticism. The entertainment in the bar was very good. and the in house credit a bonus.
.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a scenic room. we had 216 well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi there and thanks for posting a five star review, we are all delighted that you had an excellent time and enjoyed our entertainment.
Hope to see you again up here in Highland Perthshire.
Best Regards, comments like yours make a massive difference to morale.
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We travelled as part of a shearing break (our first in around 18 years) for our wedding anniversary and we could not have hoped for more. Our driver Gordon and the other coach driver Geoffrey were great, very informative of the local area and a very funny double act.
On arrival the hotel was clean and welcoming and rom the minute we were greeted by the manager to the day we paid our bill and departed we had excellent service from all the staff. A special mention has to go to Wajeck on the bar as he was very friendly, remembered us each time we saw him and most of all very patient.
The choice of, included, food was excellent, hot, good size portions with very quick service and my husband can attest that all the food you had to pay a bit extra for was also worth it.
I also had the veggie sausage same as a previous reviewer and I loved mine as it was different, I agree a bit over cooked but it was definitely edible.
All the waiting staff were very quick and efficient and the service was a credit to the restaurant manager Frank.
We did not use the pool but it did look inviting from the outside.
Overall A* from us we are looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the front have great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi, I love the title of your review...thanks. The chuckle brothers ( Gordon and Geoff) will be thrilled with your comments and are now in rehearsals for their Britain's Got talent audition in a couple of months time.....
Glad you also enjoyed the services from all our staff and in particular Frank and Wojtek.
I'm also glad you enjoyed our food too, we work very hard on that score. Having said that there seems to be a veggie sausage situation going on....never in the history of Trip advisor have two successive reviews mentioned the same breakfast item...... Now I know one customer likes the Linda McCartney style soya meat sausage and you like the potato and veggie patty style, but which ones best....there's only one way to find out.... FIIIIIIGHHT.
Best Regards
Harry Hill
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

lots of good points
1.this is beautiful as you approach
2.a warm welcome awaited us at reception.
3.the downstairs area has been tastefully refurbished and looks smart and modern too
4.the room was lovely and warm and clean
5.bed was comfy and room was clean
6. all the staff were very friendly

a not so good points
1.the shower was only a trickle but bearable

some dreadful points
ie the breakfast....
1.being in scotland i was dying to have good porridge and this was like wallpaper paste. maybe that is the traditional way of making it but it was the worst i have ever had. neither did they have any brown sugar to sprinkle on it which i accept is my personal preference but it is rare for a restaurant to have none on the premises at all
2.bread for toast was very poor quality and tasted like a tesco 9p loaf
3.it wasn't very hot
4.the vegetarian sausage. well for a start it wasn't a vegetarian sausage, it was a mixed vegetable, sausage shaped thing, with carrots, cabbage, peppers etc in it - not a breakfast sausage at all.
on top of that it had been deep fried and was just the most revolting thing i have ever been served (next to the porridge!) it was clearly overcooked and smelled and tasted burnt
5.the presentation on the plate was more like a greasy spoon and everything just piled on top of each other - not very appetising

we did not eat a meal here in the restaurant so cannot comment on the rest of the food, maybe the breakfast chef was just having a bad day but we definitely wont rush back here for breakfast.

would i stay again? yes on a room only basis

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi, sorry we didn't quite bowl you over on your recent visit. I appreciate the fact you have listed the positives too which always suggests that you have given us a fair and balanced review based on the experience you had.
A closer eye will be focussed on breakfast to identify if your issues were one off or bad habits creeping in. Finally, please do not think that we pay 7p for a loaf of bread.....times that figure by 14 and you are about there.
Thanks again and I hope you give us another chance.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Enjoyed a great new year, the hotel is very clean looks as not long been decorated, our room was freezing on arrival but soon warmed up with a heater you had control of your self not timed by the hotel as in a lot of hotels we have stayed in. Fruit, wine, min whisky, tea and coffee and biscuits provided in room. lovely tasty food in dining room all staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. Entertainment was typically scottish, one of the reasons we went to scotland so no complaints there. Every effort was made on New years eve to get everyone seated in the entertainment room. Fireworks after midnight and sandwiches which were a nice surprise. would recommend this hotel and hope to go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylovingnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hello and thanks for posting a nice review of us. Everything appeared to be in place and I am glad that we exceeded your expectations in terms of how our operation functioned at an extremely busy time. I am pleased you noticed and appreciated the little touches and enjoyed the entertainment.
A lot of effort occurs in the kitchen and the staff in there will be thrilled you have mentioned their food.
Thanks again
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Been here before in Summer but despite the very bad weather we were unconcerned as there was something going on most of the time. The hospitality from staff was great and the food would not disgrace a Michelin starred restaurant. The waiters were speedy but not intrusive, and the auxiliary staff did a very good job. My room was clean, warm and comfortable. Congrats all round, so much so that we took a reservation for Christmas 2014! Only one minor complaint - the evening entertainers were, in the main, too loud but perhaps they were aware of the fact that most of us were "of a certain age" and possibly had hearing problems. Looking forwatd to seeing you all again in December.

Room Tip: Rooms 120 to 130 are quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doric78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi there and thanks for the review, just like the previous reviewer I am extremely pleased that the effort we put in for Christmas was recognised and appreciated. I guess a five star review speaks volumes as does the fact you have already booked for next year.
Yes, those pesky entertainers......I will monitor volume levels and reduce if required.
Thanks again and will see you in 49 weeks which will be here before we know it.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $73 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing