We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Hydro hotel and were very impressed. The room was really good (superior room) and the hotel was very clean, warm, well decorated and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was plenty of parking and it is only a 5 minute walk to the town centre. The food was of a good standard and served in a very comfortable dining room. The leisure facilities were OK but perhaps ready for a bit of an upgrade. We would use this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 751PaulM751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello, glad you were suitably impressed with us all here and feel that based on this experience you would come again. It is always a great pleasure to welcome back customers who in time become familiar faces here. Some arrival days are like family renunions and it means a great deal to us all when, with all the choices that are out there, customers choose to come back thanks to a positive experience in the past.
Thanks for the review
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 896 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Travelled by car on a four night break starting on a Monday.The staff the facilities and in particular the food was excellent, the best value for money I have experienced in a long time, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenbranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hello and thanks for a review that included how much you enjoyed our food and what fantastic value for money you had......I know that the vast majority of our customers fell this way too. The chefs will be pleased with your comments as they work very hard to give good value and remain consistent week in week out.
Thanks again, your comments are appreciated.
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Started our break on the Friday after a 6 hour drive. Te[he whole country was gripped in snow which made the scenery even more fantastic. ALL the staff were very happy to help. Made one comment regarding slightly noisy neighbour which was fully sorted immediately, very impressed. We didn't expect entertainment so the artiste on Saturday was welcome and very good. Food was excellent although more warm than hot. Only minus point would be that there were gratuity boxes all over the place for different members of staff!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hi, thanks for your comments and I'm glad everything was in order for you. I too was 'oot and aboot' on Friday and felt the same way about the beauty that is Highland Perthshire ....it's spectacular and I am lucky to live here.
So hope to see you again in this lovely part of the world....and more importantly, in this Hotel !
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went with Shearings and from start to finish everything was first class. From the warm welcome from the assistant manager to the restaurant staff we could not fault it. The only low point was with the entertainment on the first night. One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are well appointed
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 11Yorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hi,
I absolutely love responding to reviews that include the phrases 'great hotel' 'first class' 'warm welcome' 'could not fault' and 'friendly'.........this encourages us to be all those things and more for our next set of guests.....and even our current ones.....thanks a million !
Cheers
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We travelled to this hotel as part of a wedding party and had a great stay. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The town is only a short walk away and there are plenty of attractions. The food was excellent and no shortage of full Scottish breakfasts. The room was a little tired but clean. The bathroom furniture was very tired and I had a full scale battle with the shower just to get it going. All in all a nice hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello and thanks for the review. I'm glad you thought things were excellent , including the staff, and if you come again we will do everything we can to push the 3 star review to at least a 4.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Second time here and we chose this Hotel due to a very good 4 night offer as we travelled off season. Staff are very helpful, attentive and friendly. Not the best up to date rooms I've been too but has everything you need for your stay. To me a little tired but clean! We had to change rooms and it wasn't a problem. Some windows on ground floor don't open from the bottom meant we would have to continually ask for Windows opened and closed from top so decide on a first floor room. Lift available!
Breakfast...to me is a little limited if you don't want a Full Scottish Breakfast or cooked I would like to see more choice. Dinner...mostly was very good but limited on vegetarian and we specifically asked when booking to be accommodated but I felt we were not. Lounge and dining room are very nice!
Leisure facilities are average but adequate for purpose. Ladies changing rooms require up dating as found them lacking maintenance. Clean enough!
Overall I would still recommend this Hotel and would go back myself at right price as we're on a budget.
Travel....easy to find by car and 5/10 min walk down a hill into Pitlochry. Remember that you have to walk back up if no car! Travelling by bus or train both stop at Pitlochry you can walk but depends on your fittness level. Rough guess 10/15 mins from bus and 15/20 from train.
If you have not been to this area before best first stop is information centre on main street. Recommend eating places for full meal or snacks are Cafe Biba on the main street with plenty of choice.
Visits are a plently if you have a car...House of Bruer and falls of bruer! Blair Atholl is lovely but check out info centre for more.
Hope this review is of some help.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello, thanks for the review. It would seem like most aspects of your stay were very good and i have noted all of your points to include at a staff meeting scheduled for tomorrow. I'm glad you felt the team were helpful and your issue with the window was dealt with without any hassle.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A beautifully refurbished hotel overlooking Pitlochry which is a ten minute walk away.
The staff are fantastic and can't do enough to help.
Food was lovely with a good choice each night.
We had a lovely room with a good size bathroom and plenty of storage space. There was a lovely big mirror on one wall but the lighting was so poor it made it difficult to use and you needed a torch to find anything in the wardrobe.
There was a table and two comfy chairs in the room but again due to the poor lighting, it was impossible to see well enough to read and we had to sit on the bed instead.
Apart from the poor lighting we couldn't fault this hotel and look forward to going back to use the lovely swimming pool as we didn't get to use it this time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello and thanks for your post. The staff have just made me aware of this latest review and took great delight in highlighting the fact that they had been mentioned.........this is going to cost me !!!
It's great to read that all was well and I take note of the fact your room wasn't as bright as you liked ...... next time you come make sure you mention issues like this to us and we will sort it out.....we have the tecnology and occasionally the know how !!
Thanks again for posting such a nice review and see you again soon perhaps.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $88 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing