We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time at pitlochry hydro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great time at pitlochry hydro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

just spent four days at the pitlochry hydro we had a great time we were in a premier room
it was a good size it had every thing needed and was very comortable
the food was very good agood selection ,the staff were very helpful
it has anice pool

Room Tip: premier rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello,
Thanks enormously for a great review it really does mean a lot. We are forever checking trip advisor to see comments our customers post and I can promise you that when we see nice reviews it gives us all a boost. Glad you enjoyed one of our premier rooms and the leisure facilities were utilised by you.
See you again.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    298
    134
    62
    28
See reviews for
95
479
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Sports Tour package for the Etape Caledonia.

It looks as if the hotel is being decorated from the ground up-the lounge/bar/dining room was lovely with a good atmosphere, however our room was from the 1970's! In saying that, it was spacious, had everything we required and had a comfy bed, but it was pretty tired looking and the windows let in a fair amount of air with rather inefficient heating.

All the staff were lovely and couldn't have done more to help which was nice.

The food was OK-I think good value for money as part of our package and a good selection, but the portion sizes were a little small and iit all arrived v quickly, meaning you'd had a full 3 course meal within 30 minutes.

Gym & pool were good.

Location for us was excellent, but if limited mobility, it's 'up the hill' which might not suit everyone.

All in all, we felt we had a good value for money package and would not fault the Hydro, but it would not be our choice for a special weekend away.

Room Tip: I believe rooms on the first floor have been modernised recently, but carry a premium price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hello there and thanks for posing a review. There is no question that the Etape Caledonia has become a unique weekend for us. Two years ago we had half a dozen cyclists, then last year about thirty and this year at least eighty or so.......
I think we, as a team, have adapted well in order to cater for everyone and provide a hospitable base to prepare for the race. I'm glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities and felt the staff worked hard for you all. I'm guessing it will be the same next year which will, of course, be here before we know it.
Thanks Again
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Posted by Mrs Bronxglenn. I recently took my mother and sister for a weekend as it was my mothers 90 birthday. Delighted with our rooms, the service and the food was just excellent. This place seems to be run professionally, a comment that can not be said about other Shearings hotels ( ESPECIALLY IN OBAN ) and we have been in quite a few.
The manager at Pitlochry could teach the other Shearing hotels how to run a hotel properly. It's definetly the best Shearings hotel we've ever been in.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room. It's well worth a few pounds extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronxglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hiya, well thank you very much. I'm pleased everything went well and your Mum's birthday celebrations were a success. Thanks for your very kind words....I'm extremely flattered ! hope to see you again sometime.
Best Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Hydro for four nights in a Superior room. I didn't see what the standard rooms were like so I can't really compare, however, our room, although past it's best, was large, comfortable and had fantastice views and it had a nice feel about it. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate which was replenished every day (I hate it when they are stingy with things like that). We used the pool, sauna and hot tub on two mornings before we had our breakfast. We thought that the pool area was very nice - the pool being a reasonable size and not too busy that early on.
The hotel is used mainly by Shearings Coach trippers, so the clientele are a little bit older that you would get on an 18 - 30's holiday, if you know what I mean. Having said that, everyone was really friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxed. No noise or rowdiness, which to be honest, we appreciated and we certainly met some lovely people during our stay.
We thought that the food was very good and there was a good choice each day. The restaraunt never seemed overly busy, either at breakfast or at dinner. You need to select a time slot for dinner, but we didn't have a problem with that at all. the service was very efficient and quick.
The Hotel seemed very clean and well run, and without excepton the staff were excellent. They were cheerful, professional and friendly. We would like to return, as we loved the area and thought that this hotel was excellent.
Just a few words about the local area. Pitlochry is a really beautiful place and if you like walking there are lots of lovely routes. The area down by the river is very scenic and not to be missed. We printed off some walks from www.highlandwalks.com and they were excellent. The walk to Blackspout was really lovely (its a waterfall through some woods) and that took a steady two hours. I would also recommed the Auld Smithy in the highstreet for a drink and a spot of lunch. It's really done out nicely inside and the food was very good.
Last but not least I wanted to mention our coach driver, Gordon. His lovely sense of humour and informative commentary were excellent, so we wanted to say an extra thanks to him.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Hello There,
Well we are all thrilled with your review.....you have picked up on many of the qualities we pride ourselves on and it gives us all a boost when such kind words are written. Gordon is an excellent driver with lots of local knowledge and I will certainly pass on your comments to him.
I'm out in the black spout woods daily with my dog and you are right....its a special place!
Hopefully you will come again and remember, Pitlochry has a certain charm whatever the season! Thanks again for a lovely review.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

arrived 16th for a week,cannot fault hotel and staff at all. Excellent choice of food and drinks,all staff very attentive will book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi there,
Brilliant, thanks for the post. I'm glad everything was to your satisfaction and most importantly you will book again.
See you soon
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just back from an enjoyable weekend at the hotel. Enjoyed the swimming pool and spa. Rooms were clean and spacious. There was a good selection for breakfast each morning. Hotel is just a short walk to centre of Pitlochry. Would book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for posting a great review. It means such a lot to the staff and myself that customers who have a positive experience (I like to think that is the vast majority!) find the time to review us. I get dozens of fantastic verbal compliments every week so it is brilliant to see a customer has come onto trip advisor to tell the world.
Thanks again
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed from 26th March. Lovely modern hotel. Paid extra for superior bedroom which was well worth it. Room 213. Lovely comfortable room with scenic view. We enjoyed the spa and swimming pool. The staff were very attentive and worked very hard. The dining room staff - manager Graham - gave us first class service. The food was top quality and quickly served. This hotel is worth coming back to and would reccomend it. Best wishes to all the staff . Tommy and Kate Gunn, Inverness.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review......the superior rooms are very popular and are certainly worth the supplement. I will pass on you comments about our attentive staff and the kitchen will be pleased to hear you enjoyed their food.
Hope to see you again
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing