We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“not bad, but could be better”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

just back from a 2 night stay. our remit was a hotel in the pitlochry area with a pool, and that brings you down to Scotlands Hotel, Atholl Palace or this one. The latter was booked, and Scotlands was £50 more expensive for a superior room( we drove up to the Palaceon our way home, and its a very impressive buidling. looks like worht a visit ). We therefore went for the Hydro, despite a few reservations that it's owned by Shearings, the coach holiday people. OK, first the genuine good points. Staff all very friendly, our Superior room was actually nicer than expected ( room 219 ) right under the left hand tower as you look at the hotel ( great views over the valley ). The public areas of the hotel have obviously been recently done up, and the pool and jacuzzi are really nice. The devil is in the detail though, which leaves you thinking it could be so much better. The changing rooms of the pool are in need of a good revamp and very old fashioned. Showers are a dribble.Major revamps obviously involve investment, but leaving the showers with mouldy old rubber matts, that you could change for a fiver, just smacks of lack of care. In the room there was a flat screen tv..but its pretty useless if there's no reception. The hotel obviously needs a basic sky package, as DTV continually breaks up, and we kept losing signal completely. in theory not a huge point, but in this day and age its not unreasonable to expect a working tv in your room. Its often difficult for a mid size hotel such as this ( or an overly large one, think Fairmont in St Andrews ), to be able to conjour up any atmosphere in the bar area. this is no exception as the atmosphere was non-existent. This isn't helped ( and apologies for sounding ageist ), by the fact that we were probably the only guests under 60, and the cruise ship style entertainer really not our thing. This review probably sounds overy harsh but its not meant to. Its a decent hotel, with well refurbished rooms ( the Premier that we had a look at wasn't worth the extra money over our Superior ), but let down by small points, and probably more that we are the wrong demographic ( 30s couple ). If you're happy with a decent room and a pool then this hotel is fine. If you're looking for a bit of atmosphere to come back to , then this isn't for you. We had a nice time, but we wouldn't go back ( and we didn't fin Pitlochry itself particularly friendly or interesting) Horses for courses I guess

Room Tip: if you stay. get Superior 219. don't see how you could get a better room in the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyelf8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Hello and thanks for the review. Lots of positives and a few negatives I will go off and have a look into. We try to ensure that no matter the age profile of our customer we tick as many boxes as we can and are always looking to improve. Thanks again.
Chris Stanton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    309
    148
    65
    31
See reviews for
99
497
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhaven, Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Been to three of the hydros in Scotland and have to say this is the best so far. The staff in the restuarant and bar were very efficient, meals were served very expertly and the maitre D was on top of the excellent service they provided. The room was lovely and very warm. Could not fault anything, the pool and spa was lovely and warm and never really busy. Menus choices were excellent and varied every evening and the all day food service was good too. Its only 7 minutes from High street if you go down the path at the side of the pool, but quite a hill on the return journey. Value for money

Room Tip: Green room at the side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thanks for the review, very kind. I must point out, however, that we are not linked to other 'Hydros' as we are part of the 'Coast and Country' portfolio.
Best regards
Chris Stanton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

we had booked a superior room for four days ,thanks to Elaine in reception flowers ,chocs ,fruit and bubbly were delivered for beryl,we found the staff very nice and helpful and the room was one of the best we have stayed in the views were wonderful,the food was varied and well prepared and we both enjoyed the breakfasts we would if visiting the area again consider staying there if we could have that room and you still had those very well turned out polite dining room waiters and waitresses.

Room Tip: the superior room we had was excellent the views were fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougandbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Hi, Yes Elaine is very good isn't she .... she tells me all the time! I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. Much appreciated.
Chris Stanton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed 1 night and was old, but not good value. Small and old room for the price. Breakfast was great. Full of an old peoples bus trip

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

break was first class . food was very good bed was a killer !!! . even after putting 4 pillows under mattress it was still saggy . had to have toilet seat replaced filthy !!! staff were lovely . spa sauna ,and fitness centre and a pool !!! wonderful will be back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tansy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Hi, thanks for your comments ....... I have changed the mattress and thanks for bringing it to our attention. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed here in august for the tattoo. A very dated hotel that could do with a good clean. The room we were in had stains on the duvet and even worse stains and dirt in the bathroom. Behind the bath taps was black with mould, the shower was broken and the toilet rim was black with mould. On the first night I was walking through the bar to the restaurant and caught my trousers on a snag on a settee, I reported it to the duty manager, but the cause of the snag was still there on the Friday. It seems it is a set trap .
The food in the hotel was very good and the service was above the average expected, so there were no complaints about the food or the catering side. The reception I cannot comment on because I did not have a lot to do with that side, but they did seem to do their job. I don't think I will be frequenting this hotel again, the dirty sheets put me right off.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank staffysapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My partner and I decided to try our first coach holiday with a 4 day/3 night National Holidays late deal to the Pitlochry Hydro Hotel. We got a good discount and paid £99 each for this, staying fron Friday to Monday in August. We had not taken this type of break before, perceiving it to be for "old" people, although we are in our 50s ourselves!!
We arrived at about 5p.m. and the duty manager came onto the coach to provide some basic info about the hotel and its facilities/procedures etc., which was followed by an efficient and speedy check-in. Our room was on the 2nd floor, which we accessed via the small lift (6 persons max.) and we had a front-of-hotel view, looking down to part of Pitlochry and across to the mountains surrounding it - very good. Our room was quite acceptable, if a bit dated, but clean towels, hot water and a clean and O.K. bed - basically all we expect from most hotels!! A kettle with cups, tea and coffee with biscuits were available and topped up each day.
Each day we were able to book a time-slot for our evening meal, so it wasn't the regimented style of having an allocated table every night and we never had to wait for a vacant table, despiote the hotel being full over the weekend we were thee. Our first evening meal was a little bit disappointing - echoing a previous reviewer's comment about "school dinners" - but for the price we paid we weren't too disgruntled. There was a basic choice of about 5 starters, with 5 mains (although for a £7 supplement you could have steak or duck), followed by about 5 desert options. There were plenty of wines to choose from and we had the cheapest Merlot at about £14. Coffee was available outside the restaurant to take in the lounge if you wished.
However, the next day at reception, I was told that a new menu was being introduced from that night and it proved to be a significant step up in quality from the first night's meal. slightly more options (with the same supplementary choices) but much better quality, accompanied served in new bowl-type plates, which were told was also part of the upgrading, giving a much better impression. Bearing in mind what we paid, we certainly couldn't complain!! The restaurant staff (a mix of Scottish and European) were friendly and attentive, overseen by the Scottish restaurant manager, who kept things running efficiently.
Breakfast was a combination of self-serve cereals/juices etc. and table service for a cooked breakfast choice, with only the coffee being a disappointment - it was somewhat bitter.
Although I intended to use the hydro facilities, there was not time, mainly due to the extensive trips out each day provided by National Holidays, although there was gym equipment, swimming pool and jacuzzi, which appeared to be used by external entrants and well as hotel guests.
Overall, great value for money and an enjoyable long weekend, enhanced by National Holiday's excursions and service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing