We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveler rating
332
340
181
78
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
340
181
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsscenic viewcoach holidaycaledonian travelshearings breakmanager chrisdining rooma la carte menujacuzzi and saunacoach driverleisure facilitiesfolk singerevening entertainmentsuperior roomhalf boardrestaurant manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 976 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

All the staff were excellent. The food was good and being able to book your evening meal time was a very good idea. There is a putting green at the hotel, just ask at reception for ball and putters. The short cut to the main road is quite steep, but if you can manage it saves a long walk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heisenberg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thanks for the review, next time you come I will challenge you to a game of putting !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay. Its biggest problem is the climb up from the village High Street.

Take a slow stroll and its just about manageable if you are mobile. Anyone with fitness or mobility problems.......take a taxi from town.

Room Tip: We had a lovely twin room on the ground floor. It was clean,quiet and had lots of natural light from its big windows.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itchyfeet029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thanks for your comments, they are much appreciated. If it wasn't for health and safety I was considering a piggy back service ! Hope to see you again soon. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

room 226 a little tired and could do with a good dusting (look behind the bathroon door!!! the balls of fluff could be still there. Was a little dissapointed when the coach parties told us what they had paid, they had the same deal as us but they got free transport and trips out.(we went by our own transport)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyberny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Will check out the dusting issue. Thanks for taking the time to comment....your points have been noted. Thanks, Chris Stanton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is operated by Shearings but we "self drove" so booked via their Coast & Country Hotels subsiduary. The price paid included half board and 3 hours free bar each evening.

The meals were good and service efficient and friendly - there was entertainment most evenings - quite traditional and old fashioned in style but ok - free wireless internet is available in the public rooms downstairs.

The hotel is located at the top of a hill in Pitlochry so it could be a problem for someone with mobility problems to make their own way to and from the town - but there are taxis available if necessary (its about a 5 - 10 minute walk down into town - much longer to come back!)

The free bar each evening was a great bonus however I understand that this has now been changed to a fixed room credit of £25 per person which I doubt would cover more than a couple of drinks each evening, which may be enough for some but its not as good as the previously available offer.

A nice place to stay for a short break in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol&Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Good to see you feel it is a value for money break and both food and service were up to your expectations. Yes, you are correct, we no longer do the 'all inclusive' package but would encourage you to try our new 'room credit' holiday as we anticipate it being equally successful.
Regards, Chris Stanton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our first impressions of The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel were very favourable. Well signposted we soon found the impressive looking building and were pleased to see extensive car parking with some disabled spots near the entrance. The garden was well tended and there were footpaths, with steps, a shortcut down into the town.
Despite a coach party being booked in at the same time as we arrived we were given a warm welcome and soon attended to.
As we requested our room was near to the lift and had a front view. We found the room very clean, well furnished and comfortable. Towels and sheets beautifully white.
The bathroom had a shower over the bath but there was a wall handle and non-slip bath mat. The window however had clear glass and so we had to leave the blind down when using the bathroom. This was not a problem but we found that the window was difficult to open to ventilate the bathroom.
Our trouser press was not working but after contacting the receptionist the handy man replaced it the next morning. We found many examples of this prompt efficient friendly service throughout our stay.
The welcome tea, coffee, hot chocolate and shortbread were replenished daily.
The meals were well cooked, of good quality, well presented and there was a very varied choice.
The maître d hotel was very efficient, courteous yet friendly and supervised his staff
quietly and tactfully. He soon learnt our preferences. We did not meet the chefs but regularly sent our compliments through to the kitchen. The service was excellent. The dining room was modern, comfortable and a lovely place to eat as were the lounges where we took our after dinner coffee.
Entertainment was available on several nights and judging by the loud applause was enjoyed by all. The bar was conveniently sited in the large lounge.
Connected to the hotel is the Spa with jacuzzi, sauna, gym and small but adequate swimming pool. All visitors had to do was sign in and out at the main hotel reception, key in a code and pay a refundable deposit for a locker. It made a very pleasant alternative to outdoor exercise.
The manager Chris leads a very efficient, friendly and hard working team. They are a credit to an excellent professional and all deserve a big ‘Thank you’ for making our holiday so enjoyable.
The hotel is a jewel in the beautiful Pitlochry area’s crown. We shall certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room but then be prepared to pay the going rate.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-ashtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to submit such a positive review, all the staff will be thrilled to see how highly you regard us. Hope to see you again soon and will make every effort to allocate you the same room if we can. Regards, Chris Stanton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews