We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly run and rude staff”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I booked this hotel for a romantic valentines weekend with my partner three weeks prior to my arrival. They accepted my booking , took my credit card details and made a reservation for dinner. I phoned to confirm my booking a week before only to be told they had no reservation for me and they were fully booked. The female I spoke to claimed to be the manageress and hung up on me when I asked just how she intended to accomodate me. I called back but to no avail and was met with a couln't care less, take it or leave it attitude. I certainly would never either stay here or recommend it to any one.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank spagsStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 540 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

We arrived Sunday 3rd January for a "winter wearmer five nights for the price of three". The room we were give was on the second floor at the back of the hotel. I did ask about one on the first floor but was advbised the hotel was full. Breakfast was okay but was seved between 8.15am and 9.30am. The residents' lounge was closed and there was no
fire in the residents lounge bar. The only fires were in the pub area. The residents' klounge was op[en on Tuesday, but there was no fireplace and the only heat was from two small radiaters, although a watirtess did bring in a small electric heater.

As the weather was pretty cold, we decided the leave on the Wednesday morning and will certainl;y not be returning to the hotel.

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in Pitlochry far superior to this hotel..

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank MilngavieBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We liked the wonderful fireplace pub, the food & room were great, but THE BREAKFAST & SERVICE WAS EXCEPTIONAL. It was the best we encountered in our 6 days in Scotland.
Ralph & Norma from SK, Canada

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny-Reb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Took my husband to this hotel in August for his birthday we had a lovely meal and chat with very friendly staff. Weekend was ruined by a very rude, nasty and agressive owner who came out of the kitchen and verbally abused us because we had the audacity to come down for breakfast at 9.25am on the Sunday morning and asked if my husbands burnt potato scone could be replaced. We had been told the restaurant was open for breakfast till 9.30am, which normally means you can arrive up until that time. Turns out we were delaying him for a golf game, hence the unashamed. I have never come across such an offensive man before never mind in someone in the hosptality industry. Avoid this hotel like the plague. Shame - the staff could teach him how you should behave with guests as they were all delightful.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank AberdeenGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Moulin last week and, coupled with some wonderful weather, had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The rooms, although not modern were both spotless and comfortable. The bar meals in the 300 year old Moulin Inn were outstanding as was the "Braveheart" real ale from the hotels own brewery.
A visit toPitlochry is not complete without a visit to the famous Pitlochry Festival theatre. I pre booked dinner at the theatre restaurant on our second night before taking in a wonderful production of "The prime of Miss Jean Brodie." Greatb food and great entertainment - not to be missed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Went there on recommendation of a friend and found it to be the the perfect place. The location, the rooms and the food were great. Prices were very reasonable as well. The Moulin brewed beers were a delicious bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuigPuig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I have now stayed in this Hotel on countless occasions over the past seven or eight years. On each occasion the staff have been very welcoming and helpful. My clients were always treated with exceptional kindness and the quality of the overall service has been absolutely first class. Its not for those who want to stay in the middle of town with shops and other attractions on the doorstep but, if you don't mind being a couple of miles away in a beautiful little Perthshire Village, this is the place to go. The food is excellent in both the hotel restaurant and the 17th century Moulin Inn which now forms the bar of the hotel. The bar sells beers made at the micro-brewery just behind the hotel together with a fine choice of Single Malt Whiskies. If you want a modern five star hotel with all the amenities that go with such establishments Moulin is not the place to go but, if you're looking for a genuine Scottish country hotel, blessed with an abundance of traditional Scottish Highland Hospitality, then head for the Moulin Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,877 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $119 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing