We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moulin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$126
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
$156
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
203
220
58
40
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
220
58
40
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmicro brewerylilac cottagebrewed on sitereal alelovely pubwinter warmeredradour distilleryben vrackieafternoon teadining roomlog firehaggisenjoyable staywell worth a visitfollowing morningfull scottishboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 558 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Moulin over the new year on a 3 night package. The package was pricey compared to other deals in the area, but seeing as we had stayed at the hotel twice before and enjoyed the experience we decided to give it a whirl.

The room was as expected (twin with all the usual amenities)but quite cold, luckily i had been expecting this and had brough my own fan heater as last time they did not have enough to go around.
Unfortunately, as they were fully booked for the whole 3 days there was not enought hot water to go around and showers were luke warm at best - quite frustrating when you are paying over the odds. You expect this type of problem at a low budget B&B.

The food was mediocre - quite disappointing - as the main reason we go to the moulin was for the food but now seems to have gone downhill.

The public rooms downstairs were all cold - they are unable to light their log fires due to Health and Safety reasons !!!!! so they use a couple of aged fan heaters in the main dining room to keep the chill off.

On new year eve there were ladies in all their finery having to drape their their outdoor winter coats over themshelves just to keep warm.
On the night of the 1st (buffet night) we decided not to eat in the main dining room (even though we had paid £60 each for the cold buffet) and ate in the pub bar. The reason being the total lack of any atmosphere, it was cold, no music, with not a hot platter to be seen.

Moulin seems to have lost its focus on what made it a great place to stay. They dont seem to be bothered about their guests experience anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lizzo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

This was our fourth stay at the Moulin (this time in the Annex)
and was the most comfortable yet. the rooms were very spacious
and the beds so comfy. the bathroom and seperate toilet was
very clean and again spacious.The highlight of our stay was the bar with it's roaring log fires and the superb ambiance, the food
was also very good. the porridge at breakfast was delicious as
was all the food we had over the three days. Yes yet another visit
is on the cards to the Moulin.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scottishlassie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

My family and I recently stayed at the Moulin Hotel. About fifteen minutes after arriving, my eighteen month old son started being sick, throwing up on the bed (unknown to us he had stomach bug that must have been gestating for a time beforehand). While my wife looked after him and tried to clean up I called reception, explained what had happened and asked for someone from housekeeping to come to the room.

The response was prompt. A receptionist appeared, took one look at the crying infant who was still being sick and informed us that:

- They weren’t cleaning that up (we never expected them to; we only wanted a change of bedding).
- There were no spare bedspreads in the whole hotel, so we couldn’t have one.
- The manageress had asked her to tell us that we would be charged for the dry cleaning of bedspread.

There was no offer of assistance (no, “can we get you bucket?” or “do you need any cleaning stuff?” – nothing) nor even a token expression of sympathy for a child in distress: merely a demand for money. Absolutely stunned, we asked if we could at least have some towels to put down so that if our son were sick again he would only be sick on a towel, not on of any of their bed linen

Apparently taken-aback, the receptionist asked: hadn’t we bought our own bed-linen for the cot? No-one had asked us to do this when we booked in advance and in any case we thought we had come to stay in a hotel. So the receptionist went away to see if we might be allowed to have some extra towels. She returned a few moments later and said we could have towels, but we’d be charged for the dry cleaning of any and each towel that our son was sick on.

At this point, I went to see the manageress to protest at this treatment. I was asked “what did I expect?” Good service, common humanity and simple politeness would have been the appropriate answer. As it was I confined myself to pointing out that I would be reviewing the Moulin online (“That’s fine, you do that” she said) and left.

When we paid our bill at the end of the stay, I explained politely but clearly to the receptionist on duty that we were very unhappy with the way the incident was handled. This was down less to the charge itself and more to the rude and inhospitable way we were treated. The receptionist promised me that he would pass our concerns on to the management. We were in the hotel for over an hour after this. The manageress was definitely there: I saw her in reception later on. Yet no one bothered to come and speak to us about the matter.

I should also add that, despite being confined to the room for most of the weekend, we didn’t bother to order room service at the Moulin: £7 seemed rather a lot to ask for a sandwich.

As you can probably tell, we were absolutely disgusted by the way we were treated. It made a difficult situation very much worse. To be fair, the dining room staff and the porters we met were very nice – but management was appalling.

Unless you want to take the chance of similar treatment, I suggest you try another hotel. There are plenty in Pitlochry and they couldn’t fail to be better than this.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kwinsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Moulin Hotel Pitlochry
Moulin Hotel was blocked booked for wedding guests on 7.11 and 8.11 2008. Found the food, whilst good enough was very over priced. Some of the staff would have benefited from staff training,especially in politness. Bedrooms very cold on check in. Could not recomend this hotel and would not stay again

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeliaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

When we arrived and checked in we were struck by the tweeness of our room, much like the hotel generally with its many slightly creepy stuffed animals littered around. Very reminesent of fawlty towers.

The meal which we had paid for as part of the package on the first night was extremely over priced considering what we ate - approx £50 for two main courses and a dessert (no drinks). The salmon was definitely undercooked and consequently not edible but the kitchen was closing so we didn't see any point in sending it back.

The bar and restaurant staff were v pleasant, but we had little time for the management, who were very rude to a member of our party. For that reason, we would definitely not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank happitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews