We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tired!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We last stayed in the Moulin 6 years ago and decided to go back for a 2 night short break stay. It's in a lovely spot and is very impressive from the outside, but unfortunately the intervening years haven't seen a penny spent on the inside. It's now desperately old fashioned with dated decor and fittings, Its tired and in need of a complete overhaul from top to bottom. We too encountered the 'frosty middle aged woman' at breakfast on our first morning who was quite terse with us but fortunately on our second morning a young Australian girl was on duty who proved a real breath of fresh air. The bar is friendly and welcoming with a good range of drinks including excellent beers from the brewery and decent food, although is it so difficult to produce homemade rather than frozen chips? The manual booking and billing system although quaint is a throwback to a bygone age and like the rest os the hotel is desperately in need of joining the 21st century.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aragon-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Tired - No, and I can assure you that many pennies are spent each year on a continuing programme of redecoration, refurbishment and restoration. BUT Moulins oldest part of the building has a popular charm, that comes with an age tag of 320 years, the 4 bedrooms in that part are all ensuite, have older furniture by design, are well lit and are many peoples favourites.
An extension was added in 1885 where all the rooms have ensuites, by using two rooms to make into one, and the newest extension was built in 1973 with 8 quite large, spacious rooms again all ensuite. Plus our self catering cottages.
We have regular Environmental inspections, plus Fire and Health & Safety, and of course other guests - some 7000 residents, and some 250,000 Inn visitors each year - and any observations are quickly responded to, but mostly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    199
    52
    36
    32
See reviews for
84
292
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longniddry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had friends staying from Canada & wanted to take them overnight to show them some of Scotland, as we had such a nice stay in October, we thought it would be the ideal place to come to, as before everything was nice except this time we were able to eat in the Inn as it wasn't too full, the food was good for 3 of us, but my friends steak was fatty & tough, but she didn't want to complain, the breakfast was good & we will be back again, but maybe give the steak a miss!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 114ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked the Hotel over the phone, choosing one of two possible weekends. Very frosty middle aged woman took the call. Turned up on the day to find no such booking. Back to that frosty middle aged woman again. She denied all knowledge of my booking until I asked for the refund of the £10 deposit to my credit card. As it turns out they had booked us in for the wrong weekend! Plan B is altogether much better than plan A. Stayed at The Annslea instead and what a welcome. They accommodated us very well and at the shortest of notice. Being almost in Pitlochry turned out to be much more convenient that out at The Moulin. At The Moulin we were treated as an inconvenience. At the Annslea as friends. Nuff said!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Not a pleasant person. he admits he was looking at two dates and apparently booked the wrong one and proceeds to both blame and insult my staff, with a snipe at the Hotel as well.
We took his booking as requested, we were full that evening, so we were unable to rectify his mistake. Peeved and Insulting is his response, no blame to himself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Fdriday to stay one night. We were meeting friends who had just finished the Rob Roy Way. We were checked in promtly and guided to our room. Thank goodness! The layout upstairs is very higgldy piggldy! We got lost trying to find our room, but that is part of the charm of this hotel. The decor of the whole place is a bit dated, but everything is well maintained and very clean.

The bar is well stocked and serves a good pint of Stella accordingly to the other half. The prices were reasonable and actually cheaper than some of the pubs in the town centre. Our friends who stayed the previous night all said that the restaurant food was very good. But as we were going for a meal in the evening we thought we would just have a side order of chips with our drinks. Unfortunately it states on the bar meals menu that side orders would not be served without a main meal, so we ordered several bags of crisps instead.

The staff were very helpful at all times of the day and night.

The hotel has a micro brewery next door and you can buy gift packs to take home with you. Which we did as an early fathers day present for my Dad. He's saving them for a special day so I can't tell you if it's good or not.

The only drawback of this hotel is that it is not very central to pitlochry. Its nearly a mile up a steep hill so you will either need to walk and keep fit or drive in to town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handbagsandgladrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at hotel as part of a walking break in the surrounding area. Friendly hotel with great breakfast. Also has a nice snug bar with good bar food available. A short walk out of town, it's set just out of Pitlochry in the little countryside hamlet of Moulin. Good value too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irlanda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Bank holiday weekend. Atmosphere,food and drink excellent. Very friendly staff. Decor a bit old fashioned but I guess it suits the place . Intend to stay there again if we are in area. Easy downhill walk to town but of course the reverse on way back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room which was fine but I believe there are superior rooms,superior in what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stopped here on the way to and from the Edradour Distillery. First class local beer, I tried 2 of them an very tasty indeed. I had the lamb shank, which was a little tough in parts (small parts) but did taste very nice, I can totally recommend the whisky sticky toffee pudding. Friendly staff, a nice old fashioned type of place. I can not comment on the hotel, only the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing