We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal short stay hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Turriff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal short stay hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for one night and were very pleasantly surprised. This hotel is such good value. The room was clean and comfortable. The pub was excellent. We had been a bit worried by the lack of booking system and a bit skeptical of " grab a drink and a table will become available ", but this was exactly what happened. Breakfast was also v good and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Nothing to fault.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    199
    51
    34
    31
See reviews for
82
290
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay for New year, staff very welcoming and friendly, we were in room 9 on the 1st floor which was very uncomfortable the only criticism I can give is that the room was drafty at times, the windows could do with an upgrade or even double glazing . The food was also very good, with execellent service. Would we stay again, yes most certainly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arch124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is a real find - set in an idyllic picture postcard village square with a roaring log fire (tip - don't sit next to it though - you'll regret it unless you like being toasted on one side).
Perfect for after a winter walk. We've been here many times and wouldn't miss a visit when in the area. My five star rating is for the overall experience (setting, ambience etc) rather than the food alone - which I'd class as above average pub food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenjeanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

On a recent day out we stopped at the Moulin Hotel in Pitlochry for a bar meal and drink.Lovely setting cosy snug bar with a roaring fire very welcoming.We all thought this was just what the doctor ordered.
But there is always a fly in the ointment the toilet facilities [both men and women] are shocking.Very very poorly maintained have seen a bigger area in a dolls house...think back to seaside toilets in the sixties and you will understand what i mean.If you are staying in the area if possible hang on till you get back otherwise ensure you have paper hankies and hand gel.
Badly in need of the Hotel Inspector.
Would be interesting to see the hotel rooms or maybe not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Moulin Hotel is a fab place to stay or pop in for a pub lunch, Onion soup is the best outside France, steak pie mmm!!!.Staff warm and welcoming and dogs are welcome in the bar at all times, bar staff feed them biscuits. fantastic open fire, the hotel has they're own micro brewery ( you have to try the braveheart ) thats how you have to stay over. The rooms are very comfortable, the floors creak a bit but it is a very old hotel,all part of the experince

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife & I stayed here as part of a motorcycle tour. It is an old inn full of character. The service was excellent, the food was excellent & the bar area with the outside tables was great. We would have liked to have a bar meal for dinner but there were no tables left & it was so busy that we decided t eat in the restaurant. It was excellent & great value for money. The room was a good size & was clean & comfortable, if a little dated. The bar & range of ales was very good. It has it's own brewery. I will definately consider this place next time we are up this way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here late November and yet again had a fantastic weekend away.
The staff so friendly, food very tasty,I loved the fish and chips soooo good!!, roaring log fires on a
very cold night, what more can you ask for. Will be returning next November,earlier if time allows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing