We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Scotland this trip!”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Moulin Hotel upon the advice of Scottish friends. From the train station you can take a cab. It's maybe a 1/2 mile out of Pitlochery, which for us made for a nice walk into town. The first room we stayed in (#7?) faced the front of the building, so that you could look out over the small town square and the old kirk. VERY comfortable large bed, great shower and very quiet room, even though there were guest all around. The food came highly recommended, and it lived up to it's reputation. I had a salmon trio that was as good as anything I've had anywhere. My husband loved the locally crafted beer. The bar was filled with travelers and locals alike, who were very helpful in telling me how to get up to the bar! Service was great, even on a very busy night. We liked this place so much, we came back for a second night. Room wasn't quite as nice, but still the people we friendly, the breakfast fantastic. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 548 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed for one night whilst travelling around scotland, warm and friendly welcome, shown to room and bed comfortable. In the evening we had a lovely bar meal with very quick service. Breakfast the next morning was lovely best of the eight days we were away.Good value for money we will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMFDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have just returned from having had lunch at Moulin Hotel. We ordered pizza and chips - which arrived and was nothing like pizza. It was a bit of bread with some tomato paste and grilled cheddar cheese on top. It only had 1 bite taken out of it and when we mentioned it to the waitress at the end of the meal that it couldn't be described as pizza, she rolled her eyes, said nothing and walked away. We left it 10 minutes and no one came back to our table so went to the bar ourselves, whereby we were told that no one had ever complained before and that the staff eat these pizza's. We were amazed by the staff service here (or lack of) - definitely one to avoid!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EdinburghCollection3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Childrens Cheese Pizza is just that at £3.95, purchased frozen from a top supplier, staff maybe expressed their feelings, but surely parent/s must have had meals with absolutely no complaint.
Meal taken in The Moulin Inn by the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My wife and I booked into the hotel after having visited the bar on a number of occasions while holidaying in the area. I must admit that the on-site micro brewerys Old Remedial played a large part - ale lovers take note!
There was some minor confusion over our booking and, much to our delight and surprise, we were upgraded to the Romance Suite.
This is a lovely room with a large 4 poster bed - furnished in a very traditional manner and spotlessly clean.
After a great nights sleep, we went down to breakfast and both agreed that it was perfect.
The bar is also worth a mention - staff friendly and accomodating. Great traditional atmosphere with logs crackling in open fires.
Do yourself a favour - book a night here - you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

On arrival:
We received a warm, friendly welcome at reception and taken (rather than directed) to our room, whilst having meal times and the hotel layout etc explained along the way.

The room:
We stayed in the Inn, which is adjoined to the hotel but is the oldest part of the building, dating back over 250 years. The room had a four poster and reasonable, matching furniture. The floorboards creaked a lot but hey, the place is hundreds of years old and at the end of the day "so what" if they creak. The decor is slightly old fashioned (note, 'old fashioned', rather than 'old' but just added to the charm of the place. The room was spotlessly clean. The ensuite had a good shower but could do with a bit of a facelift.

Our room was above the bar which we were concerned about to start with but we need not have worried - it wasn't too noisy and any noise that there was stopped at 11pm.

We'd opted for the Highland Delights package and received flowers (which were very nice - by no means cheap), a box of whisky fudge, a chilled bottle of champagne and a trio of the hotel's microbrewery ales upon arrival in the room. All were nicely presented on a table.

The bar:
It's pleasant to sit either in or out of the hotel and have a relaxing drink. The main bar is very well stocked and I'd hazard a guess that they've got pretty much anything you want. The hotel's microbrewery beers are all fantastic and they make their own alcoholic ginger beer as well. The bar itself is both cosy and quirky and his two lovely big open fires.

Meals and Lounge Bar:
We sat in the lounge bar to choose from the dinner menu and, as part of our Highland Delights package, were given a large glass of house wine as we waited for our table. We were allocated the same table for each meal we had in the hotel, which made things easier and made it feel personal, as it was like it was "our" table.

I do agree with previous reviews that the dining room would benefit from some quiet music in the background. Most non-residents (and some residents) eat in the bar, so that meant the dining room was quite quiet and everyone could hear every word you said.

All meals that we had were delicious. On the Highland Delights package, we were provided with a 3 course meal and were not limited in what we could select from the menu. We were also provided with a complimentary port, spirt or liquer after the meal and again, there was no limit on this (for example, I was given a good measure of malt whisky).

Overall, I'd thorougly recommend the Moulin Hotel. We had a lovely stay and found the Highland Delights package to be great value for money. One area I would suggest they improve on though, is their use of email for booking. The hotel, as you would expect in 2011, has a website but they're very slow to respond to email enquiries and indeed, one of the emails I sent did not get any response at all. I ended up making all enquiries and bookings over the phone which, although not that big a deal, was slightly inconvenient for me.

Room Tip: Go for the Highland Delights package for 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Spent the weekend in the superior room. Clean and tidy. Tv and usual tea&coffee. Have to say the floor boards were really squeaky but this added to our enjoyment.
Food was lovely and enjoyable. Cooked breakfasts just right with staff very friendly and always ready to help.
Liked the bird cards at the tables to help identify the birds in the garden.
My only complaint is that in the 21st century guests surely must be given access to Internet wifi. Afterall a tv is provided so a modem could be added.
Overall a fabulous place to stay with so much walking routes available from the minute you walk out the hotel door. Oh aye and the ale from the nearby brewery is fab!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helpmyphysics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Bar restaurant
Fish and Chips was SWIMMING in oil and fish tasted of cardboard - frozen!
Why - Scotland has more fish that anywhere else in the universe!!!
Starter would fit in my eye and straight out of local supermarket
Sultry "big-man" attitude of barman (criticism = confrontation) - grow up!
Brilliant waitress - give her a medal
Awesome place, deserving of awesome food - get rid of the dinasaurs and you will have something great

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Quade17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 17 in Pitlochry
734 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $93 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing