We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views of Pitlochry and the surrounding area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben Vrackie

Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views of Pitlochry and the surrounding area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The initial climb is an average uphill walk. The last quarter is climbing up rock steps which was a good exercise.

At the top are great views of the surrounding area. The route is clear from the car park. We managed it in two and a half hours and we're definitely not fitness freaks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tooba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    43
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice walk from Moulin (near Pitlochry) up to the top. The last 1 or 2 miles are steep but the view you get from the top make it up for the effort.
Maybe not for everybody but doable with a reasonable training.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Happy hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've been climbing this mountain every time we can have a trip to Scotland, and that was our fifth. Love the walk up and the lochan for 'oor picnic' but this time we were shrounded in mist.
Still made the top as rain forecast the next day, and it was so dry after lovely weather.
Great wee mountain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ben Vrackie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a fine hill with a good path but, as has been said, it is steep after Loch an Choire. Families can do it, but it is a Corbett and weather can change suddenly in the hills so choose a good day and enjoy the views. I returned to climb it again after 50 years and loved it The loch makes a lovely lunch spot on the way down. In summer the top is covered in yellow alpine lady's mantle.
If you are in the area, then return another day and walk the Bealach path from the Ben Vrackie car-park to the fork in the path - turn left instead of right to Killicrankie and go over the fells to the pass of Killicrankie and then back through the forests and under Craigower Hill back to the car park. The two walks can be done as one but they are both worthy of a day to enjoy. The visitors' centre at the pass has a lovely quiet garden for a picnic lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for hikers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are a lot of signs and you can't really miss the path. It was a great surrounding, from forest to the Loch in the hills. Unforunately the weather became bad so that we stopped about 200 m before the top and made our way down. We wouldn't have seen anything on the top, so this was the better decision.

Because you have to climb about 600 m in 4 km it's good if you have a good condition and the right hiking equipment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Vrackie also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Ben Vrackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing