We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben Vrackie

Ranked #8 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great mountain”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic walk in snow and the views are stunning. Good path along a loch and up the mountain. it is not a munro but worth clambering up anyway and it was safe in snow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    42
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hill walkers”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are fit and enjoy hill walking then this is a lovely one to do. Views are beautiful when you reach the top.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Some of the best views in Scotland”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having driven past Ben Vrakie many times I was really keen to climb this one.

You can park near the Moulin Inn above Pitlochry and follow a sharp, upwards well worn track for a few miles toward the base of the mountain. It’s a beautiful walk on a good day with views right across Pitlochry. Once you get to the foot of the mountain it get’s a little tougher with a steep climb up a well maintained path, it’s hard but it’s worth every step!

Once you get to the summit you’ll find a summit cairn. Because Ben Vrackie stands on it’s own and the nearest big mountains are some distance away, on a clear day you are rewarded with the most incredible 360° views. The giants of Ben Lawers and Schiehallion are clearly visible several miles away and on a clear day you can see right up to the Caingorms, Rannoch Moor and Glen Coe beyond.

I climbed very early in the morning and was blessed with being on the top, on my own for a couple of hours before the next climbers joined me. Although not the highest or hardest mountains in the area, it’s a special one in its own right.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goldfishrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice Corbett to blow the cobwebs away”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A pleasant walk for Hogmanay to clear the cobwebs before the festivities. Parking near Moulin Inn walk starts off in woodland crossing bridges over fast flowing burns. Once clear of the trees the route levels off to a more gentle incline over open land with lovely views across Pitlochry and down the Tummel. Passing a couple of lovely Lochans there is a steep incline all the way to the summit, makes you pech a bit but worth it when you get to the top as the views are lovely. It was very windy at the summit and the cloud came over so found a sheltered spot for the cup of tea and sandwich. Going down was a bit trickier as there were patches of snow and very wet grassy banks (wet bum to prove it..!!)
This is an easy hill to do from the point that there is a clear path and stone steps but be warned if you a bit unfit (like me) the final assent is a challenge.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordilindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Up & Down”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A good days walk up and down from the car park by the Moulin Inn. Makes for an excellent finish, a good pint and a nice bit of food at the end of a great walk is the icing on the cake!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChilledJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Vrackie also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Ben Vrackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing