We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Edradour Whiskey Distillery Pitlochry Scotland”

Edradour Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$628.14*
and up
Tour to the Queen's View, Pitlochry, and the Sma' Glen from St. Andrews
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Iwade
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit to Edradour Whiskey Distillery Pitlochry Scotland”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

On Monday 1st October 2012, my husband, brother and sister in law and I had whiskey tasting and a tour around the distillery at Edradour. The distillery was in such a pretty location with a burn running through. I want to say how much we all enjoyed it and it was made so interesting by our guide, John. He spoke so well and made it all a most pleasant experience. Afterwards we bought 2 types of Whiskey, both of which we had tasted, one included a cream. Delicious. Thank you John.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank marilyn295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,090
    227
    49
    27
    56
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tiny but enjoyable”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited here on a very rainy day. It's the smallest distillery in Scotland apparently but produces a fine dram.
The guide was knowledgeable and happy to answer questions. The nips you get (2) are provided fairly early on, which I had no issue with, and you get to keep your glass.
As it's so small there's not that much to see and for whisky buffs they might feel like you're rushed round the "interesting" section where it all goes on but it's still worthwhile.
The shop and the tasting rooms are nicely new and clean and well stocked.
Worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Edradour Distillery was such a pleasure to visit. so nice not to have the 'multi-national culture' here. The staff, from initially entering the venue to the time we left were nothing other than courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour of the distillery was extremely informative and enjoyable, as was the 'wee dram'. We felt the retail outlet was both amazingly stocked and superbly displayed. We have nothing negative to say about our visit and would like to commend in particular, the way in which the grounds surrounding the distillery are so immaculatly maintained. Certanly one to reccomend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Scotland's smallest distillery has a great visitors centre, tasting bar and a very good guided tour. A great visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WNGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Edradour - the one to miss”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Four of us have been visiting this distillery, usually twice a year in August and October, for well over twenty years. Our typical spend was between £200 - £300 each visit.

We have done the tour so many times that nowadays we just visit to shop! This year we journeyed a considerable distance to get presents etc. Instead of the expected smiling welcome, we received a brusque question " Are you doin' the tour?". Our reply that on this occasion we were calling only with a shopping list provoked stony faces all round, particularly from the giants in kilts. When one of our ladies asked to use toilet facilities, we were told bluntly "Only if you do the tour". Needless to say, we left immediately even though our shopping list included expensive special items for a friend. This distillery is several miles from other available facilities.

Fortunately two days later we stumbled across Deanston distillery near Doune. Even though we declined the tour, we were welcomed with a dram (the twelve year old single malt is delicate, spicy and honeyed delight.) and enjoyed a super lunch in the bistro with walls decked with old photographs and descriptions of work in this building and the town over the ages. Absolutely fascinating information. This is where we shall be buying in future and suggest you to give it a try.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank DawlishPamsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edradour Distillery also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Edradour Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing