We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic 3 day family stay”
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Mill Inn
Ranked #2 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantasic 3 day family stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children at the end of July 2012.

When we arrived in Pitlochry we had a bit of trouble finding where to park as you have to drive up a road that looks like part of the pavement and there isn't many parking spaces.

However, our room was massive with 2 double beds and the travel cot already set up for us. The shower room was spacious and clean (as was the room). We had family staying at the fishers and scotland hotel and I would say our room was the best out of nearly all of them. We couldn't get the tv to work on our first night which was a bit of a pain as the olympic ceremony was on but staff that night did try their best and it was resolved the next day by Nikki.

Breakfast each morning was generious and very good. We didn't stay for dinner but had lunch there on the Saturday. We found the childrens meal to be basically exactly the same size as the adults but the adults meal was double the price. However, the food was good and about average price for Pitlochry.

The only noise we did hear was from the creek outside (when window shut you couldn't hear it) and on the Saturday night we could hear the band playing but it wasn't too loud and wouldn't disturb sleep.

Overall, we had a great weekend and would stay here again as a family or couple. I wouldn't hesistate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    107
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
132
783
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in November. A1 location, very modern and comfortable. resturaunt great, breakfast amazing. very friendly. Pitlochry is a lovely town surrounded by amazing places to go and see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumphy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Old Mill Inn for two nights. Room 5 was fantastic, quite, very spacious and clean. The bed was super comfy! The restaurant on site was great and meant we didn't have to find somewhere else. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiaora19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

staff were very helpful and attentive.room 9 was lovely with 2 double beds plenty of tea and coffee +bottled water+shortbread.would stay here again.it is situated in centre of town and most eating places are within walking distance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travelled by train and found the hotel very easily Only a few minutes walk from the station.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Our room was spacious and spotless with nice soft furnishings.
Excellent breakfast, good choice and freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie55186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonniescotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lovely and spotless room - very spacious and modern. Food was excellent and service attentive although felt a bit sorry for only one staff on serving breakfasts who worked really hard. Liked that I could see the food being prepared in a well organised kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottBonniescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Fantastic access from public transport. Beautifully situated. All staff extremely friendly, helpful and interested in guests persuits. We ate in the restaurant and were very pleased with quality and presentation of the food. Room was spacious and beautifully decorated to a scottish theme. Very comfortable bed. After a lot of walking - didn't want to get up!! Only critisism - could hear neighbouring room's (room 1) TV quite loudly. Breakfasts superb. Lots of choice and attention to detail. As a 5pm big deal offer - the value was fantastic. Thankyou to all!

Room Tip: Room 2 view and sound effects from the burn which activates the Mill Wheel. WE liked this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avril a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Property: The Old Mill Inn
Address: Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Inn is a family owned hotel, offering excellent accommodation, food and service. Recently renovated to a high standard, The Old Mill Inn started life as a Corn Mill situated in the heart of the highland resort of Pitlochry. Winners of Inn of the Year 2014 at the Scottish Hotel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Pitlochry
The Old Mill Inn Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing