We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Considering we had such a great time at Craigatin, I can't believe how long it's taken me to write a review!

I went with my boyfriend in November for 2 nights (we're in the 24-30 age bracket!) and we stayed in Room Number 3 which was lovely - modern yet relaxing and comfortable. There was plenty of storage and the original sash windows with wooden internal shutters were a nice detail. The hotel itself has kept many of its original features but with superb quality contemporary decor - not a piece of tartan in sight!! The bathroom was quite small with no bath, but it was neat, clean and modern. The owners were friendly, helpful and couldn't have done more to make us feel "at home". The hotel is easy to find. If travelling through Pitlochry from the south, just drive straight through the town and Craigatin is on your left handside just before you leave to rejoin the A9. When we went there were lights on the trees at the end of the driveway which also made it easier to find at night again! Plenty of parking too in the grounds.

Like a lot of the previous reviews, the breakfasts were amazing! During our time there, we had the apple pancakes, cooked breakfast and the smoked haddock omelette - all of which were delicious! There was also a selection of cereals, fruits and yoghurts to choose from along with toast, fresh juices and coffee/tea.

While staying at Craigatin we had a great meal up at the Moulin Inn which is about a 5mins drive (at the most) through Pitlochry. Low ceilings, roaring fires and plenty of character!!

Would certainly visit Craigatin again - will hopefully get back in the summer!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillish2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,359 - 1,365 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2009

A very high standard "city boutique hotel" accomodation in Pitlochry Perthshire. Very friendly staff and reasonable rates over very busy New Year period made our getaway with the family just right.
A great location at the North end of Pitlochry which meant an easy walk into town and also to the beautiful Loch Falisky.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank GreenhouseEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We chose Craigatin House due to the reviews on tripadvisor and it did not disappoint.
We stayed in room 10 of the coach house and it was like being in a 5* hotel but with the B+B bonus of a kettle, hot chocolate and the most wonderful ginger biscuits by a local bakery. The room was spacious and the bed huge. The decor was very contemporary, clean and of very good quality.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts delicious.
There was nothing to fault this accommodation. Even being located at the end of the main road in Pitlochry (so a 5min walk to the shops/restaurants) was a bonus as it was a quieter area.
Would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to explore Perthshire.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiefloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

What a wonderful place for a lovely getaway at the end of a hectic year. The breakfasts were wonderful and so nice to see something different on the menu rather than the same as you find at most Bed and Breakfast places. We stayed in the courtyard, room 11 whihc was a suite and it was gorgeous. Andrea and Martin were exceptionally helpful and friendly and we could not have asked for more - we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsparkle010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

What a find! Beautiful rooms with great attention to detail.
Breakfast was truly a gourmet feast - recommend the porridge with whiskey and brown sugar. Mr and Mrs Anderson are very professional and have made Craigatin a beautiful boutique guesthouse. Can't fault the whole experience!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CornishStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

My dad & I spent 3 wonderful days at Craigatin House in early November. Rooms 6 & 7 on the first floor were just lovely, and comfortable respite after our long days of touring the beautiful area. Our initial stay was to be just 2 days, but we very pleased with Craigatin House as well as the central location of Pitlochry.When Room 6 was not available for our 3rd night, I simply moved to Room 15, which was located in the former carriage house. The entrace to this room was from the outside, and is on the ground level which was fine with me, and again another beautiful room. This particular room was equipped with a handicapped accessible shower and two beds. Although the house was quite full during our stay, we rarely heard any other guests, and only saw others at breakfast or walking up the drive after dinner.

We walked to dinner each night a few blocks away and enjoyed the cool evening walk back to the house after eating. Auld Smittys was recommended by Martin and Andrea and we enjoyed the atmosphere and food there very much!

Our hosts, Andrea and Martin were very attentive to our questions and Martin shared a book of local history for us to read while at breakfast. And speaking of breakfast.... Andrea's breakfasts were just wonderful! We tried both the traditional as well as the tasty apple pancakes over our few days. My dad favored the porridge with whisky each day.

Our sincerest thanks for a warm, comfortable and friendly atmosphere for our stay in your lovely home. I hope to be able to see you again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suz_e_q_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Martin and Andrea are running a great B&B and I wish them all the best. The rooms were hotel standard and the breakfast was just brilliant, with really nice personal service, and all of this came in a lovely setting. We stayed in the Suite which was great value for another room, and a place to chill out with great views of the mountains. We followed Martins advice on where to eat both nights we were in Pitlochry and it was spot on, he also sent us to local sights that I had never seen despite visiting the area countless times on family holidays when I was young. I urge anyone who is going to stay in Pitlochry to go to Craigatin, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtallscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,087 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $171 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing