We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Manor House and Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were impressed the minute we pulled into the property's entrance. Beautiful flowers, stone buildings and walls, old slate tiled roof, interior courtyard, and a really fun door stop (a little cast-iron scottie dog lifting his leg on the door). This property has great personality! We were greeted by Andrea who right away asked if we had any requests, needed dinner reservations, or had questions about where to go and what to see in Pitlochry. We took her up on her gracious offer to make a dinner reservation for us at the Auld Smiddy. It's a good eating establishment just down the road. Our room (Number 3) was large, which was good because the bed was huge! The room had a nice view of some hills behind the property. Very pretty and peaceful. Lots of birds chirping and adding to the beauty of the springtime weather we experienced while there. A short walking distance from the property is a nice tucked away 18-hole putting green. Our vacation is now over and we are back home. But we are still joking about how we got to play 18-holes of golf in Scotland, the birthplace of golf! It was a nice enjoyable thing to do on a sunny afternoon. Its actual location is on the Pitlochry map that Andrea will give you when you arrive. While the Craigatin House is located at the end of the main road, you can walk everywhere (and we're not overly athletic). We walked to the Pitlochry Festival Theatre, the Dam and Fish Ladder, Blair Atholl Distillery, and the 18-hole puttling green. Plus all the restaurants, shops, and pubs you can wish for. If you have a chance, visit Hettie's on the main road and get some butterscotch ice cream. Just one scoop will do you. The guy who scooped for us gave us a scoop that equated to probably three scoops in reality. And yes, you can walk there too! Would I stay here again? Yes, and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineSuzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Front Office Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hello SunshineSuzn, Thank you very much for your favourable Craigatin House Tripadvisor review all the way from Saint Louis, Missouri!! We enjoyed reading your review and summary of your Craigatin House and Pitlochry experience. Great to hear you managed to squeeze in a quick game of nearby Pitlochry golf!! As you say, its a great way to spend a couple of hours on a sunny afternoon. We have the monster of golf tournaments in Perthshire later this year when The Ryder Cup comes to Gleneagles, I bet the Pitlochry Golf Course will be very busy then. Great to also hear you enjoyed some of the highlights of Pitlochry with an ice cream from Hetties, dinner at The Auld Smiddy and a walk over to the dam and fish ladder. Hope its not too hot over in Saint Louis right now! Thanks again for staying with us. With very best wishes, Martin & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

You have to be quick when the Pitlochry Theatre brochure comes out, and you decide which plays you want to see, to make sure you get into Craigatin House (again). We usually book our room first then the theatre afterwards when we know we can get to our favourite guest house. Martin and Andrea made us very welcome as usual, and we highly recommend this superb and relaxing place to stay. It just gets better every year!

Room Tip: Not room 6 please - that's ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheadleJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hi CheadleJohn, Many thanks indeed for making a return visit to Craigatin House and for your forth Tripadvisor review. We were obviously very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us once again and we do appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you both back again very soon, The Pitlochry Festival Theatre has had a great year so far and were only half way through, plenty of great quality entertainment to come! With very best wishes from Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent a night at Craigatin House and could not have wished for anything better. A warm greeting from our hosts, a large bedroom - room 3 - with a big comfortable bed. Breakfast is normally served from 8am but when we explained we needed to be away by 8am, our hosts arranged for the kitchen staff to be there early to enable us to have a cooked breakfast at 7:30 - the omelette was delicious - and we were very grateful to them for accommodating our travel plans. I would highly recommend staying at Craigatin House and wish we had been there longer to explore what Pitlochry and the surrounds has to offer.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Graeme D, It was great meeting with you both on your recent visit to Craigatin House Pitlochry and thank you very much for your very favorable review of your time with us! After having to leave so early we hope you do manage to get back to Pitlochry one day to discover more of the delights Highland Perthshire has to offer. With very best wishes, Andrea and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Craigatin House and Courtyard in one word “Excellent”

We arrived on Friday June 13th , 2014 and stayed for two days.
The B&B is a very beautiful Victorian building with a lovely garden. Our room (double room) was even as the other rooms very nice and cosy decorated. Craigatin House is centrally located in Pitlochry (just a short walk to the shops, bars and restaurants). Breakfast was great, lots of choices. Our favorite:
Apple Pancake with sliced caramelized banana. The owners Martin and Andrea are very friendly and helpful as well as the staff. Service could not be better, we forgot our wallet in Craigatin House and it was sent by Martin (on their costs ) with the Royal Mail International Track & Sign to our house in The Netherlands.
Thanks Martin, Andrea and staff you will see us again !

Marc & Marja Slooten

Room Tip: Every room is good, it depends on how much you want to pay and what space you need during your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSl00ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hello MSl00ten, Many thanks indeed for choosing to stay at Craigatin House on your recent two night stay in Pitlochry, it was a pleasure meeting you both and having you staying with us. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that your wallet arrived back safely! Well done also on The Netherlands making it to the quarter finals of the Wold Cup, you might just win it this year! Many thanks again, kind regards, Martin & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As a small group tour operator we are constantly on the lookout for wonderful wee accommodations that fit in with the small group feel we are looking for. Since finding Martin and Andrea at Craigatin a few years ago, we no longer need to seek out accommodation in this area as we would never consider staying anywhere else!
What do we look for in accommodation? Of major importance to us is a warm friendly welcome with hosts who are genuinely pleased to see us and have us in their home. Martin and Andrea excel at this which leaves us with a worry free stay each and every time. Also important is cleanliness and comfort and again, Craigatin is perfect! Even though everything else is of lesser importance, Craigatin still earns high marks! We stay all over the UK and Ireland looking for accommodation that maintains as high a standard as Craigatin and appreciate that it is so moderately priced compared to similar accommodations in other areas!
The best praise however, is that our clients always love staying here and know that we have taken them to the very best. We can wall in the door and completely relax knowing that are clients will be take care of in every way and leave with fond memories of their stay at Craigatin in lovely wee Pitlochry!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear ScottishDreamTours, Many, many thanks for your very kind review, after a difficult couple of weeks it was a pleasure to receive it. Welcoming you both at our front door, always with a cheerful and delightful group of Scottish Dream Tours travelers is always a great delight and we truly appreciate your custom. Thanks for your very kind comments and third review, we look forward to working with you for many years to come. See you soon. With best wishes, Martin, Andrea and Team Craigatin House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We didn't only spent 14 days in graigatin house, we live in the best B&B.
This house and special room Nr. 9 ist very comfortable, stylisch and with a famous view.
Breakfast ist delicous, rich variations, best traditional breakfast, very tasty porridge, fresh fruits everyday and selfmade cake with rabarber of the own garden.
Martin and Andrea are excellent hosts, warm and friendly an do every thing to feel like home, inclusive birthday surprises and lots of tips, what to do in the surrounding area.
The beautiful building ist comfortably furnished, very clean, with a lovely garden.
The whole team ist high motivated and engaged.

We will be definitely back.

Thomas and Monica from Germany.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0nika105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Monika and Thomas, Thank you very much for your very kind review of your recent 14 night stay at Craigatin House. After 14 nights you arrived as strangers and left as friends it was a pleasure having you staying with us. Lovely to hear you liked your room and breakfasts during your stay and more importantly that you will be back one day. Lovely meeting with you. Best wishes and kind regards from everyone at Craigatin House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Craigatin House on 11th and 12th of June and enjoyed the experience although it could have been a little better. Check in was efficient and the staff was pleasant. The building itself is beautiful and it was very clean. Unfortunately, the decor in our room reminded us of a Holiday Inn or Best Western, which is what we try to avoid on our vacations. As we love historic properties, we would have enjoyed a room more in keeping with the building’s exterior.

The above notwithstanding, Craigatin House is a great place to stay and I must say that our host, Martin, is outstanding. Not only was he willing and able to answer all of our questions regarding local attractions, he happily made several worthwhile recommendations. Breakfast was also very enjoyable and the fresh/warm croissants are simply too hard to resist.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Roger L, Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Craigatin House. We were sorry to hear we were not what you had expected. For anyone interested in what our rooms look like, we do have multiple pictures of all of our rooms on our website and social media sites like Pinterest. Maybe you hadn't seen these pictures Roger before you booked with us? Delighted to hear that overall you found us and our recommendations to be very good and Craigatin a great place to stay. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us Roger. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $176 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing