We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than many hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
g_cook29
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than many hotels”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Fromt he moment you step in the door of this B&B it's A+ service. Great rooms, great sleep and fantastic breakfasts. The owners have a comprehensive knowledge of the local activities and advised us on a local walk which was great. Will come back here again, I have no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_cook29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi g_cook29, Glad to hear you liked your stay with us and that you enjoyed one of the many local walks that can start and finish right at the Craigatin House front door. Look forward to seeing you again on that return visit! Best wishes from Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    65
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
132
1,149
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

we have just returned from a two night stay, in courtyard room no.14, after a very friendly welcome we were shown to our room which was lovely,tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean,the location was excellent and the house and gardens were stunning,The choice at breakfast was great and i can definitely recommend the smoked haddock omelette and of course the traditional scottish,as we were on our way home after a great weekend we received a phone call to say we had left one of our phones,it was put in the post and was delivered the next day many thanks to Martin,I would definitely recommend craigatin house,as thee place to stay in Pitlochry and we will be returning ourselves in the future.

Chary & steven

Room Tip: the web sight show's each individual room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz4258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello shaz4258, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent two night stay in our Courtyard room No.14, thanks also for sharing on Tripadvisor. Pleased to hear the returned mobile phone arrived back with safely too. Thanks very much indeed for your kind comments, we hope you manage a return visit one day. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I had a great 2 night stay at Craigatin for my birthday. Despite delays in our travel and arriving later than we had anticipated they were very understanding and we got a great welcome and explanation of everything when we arrived. The room was great and very comfortable and nice and warm for our arrival.
Breakfast is in a fantastic conservatory like area with views out across the garden. The food available just backed up our enjoyment of the trip. I can recommend some great apple pancakes which I worked my way through both mornings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikras42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Ikras42, Thanks for your recent visit to Craigatin House for your birthday getaway, it was a pleasure having you staying with us and delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time. With best wishes from, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I spent Easter weekend at Craigatin. As ever a fabulous welcome from Andrea and we were delighted when we arrived at our room beautifully decorated, and a lovely chocolate Easter bunny with an Easter card giving a very personal touch. Breakfast was of a very high standard - would recommend the whisky porridge and very tasty Arnold omelette. Beautiful. Relaxing atmosphere with very well groomed garden with many places to sit , read and take the sun. Would recommend this fabulous Scottish retreat to anyone who enjoys a little piece of luxury.
Carolyn Dyer (Paisley)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Carolyn D, Thanks very much for choosing to spend Easter 2014 with us at Craigatin House Pitlochry, what a great weekend it was with some unseasonally superb warm weather. Pleased to hear we have two more Whisky porridge and Arnold Bennett omelette converts too! Thanks for recommending us, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards and best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A beautiful 150 year old building in a stunning location - the owners have spared no expense to ensure that guests have a first class experience. We had my 88 year old mother with us and she was well looked after and her room had been carefully chosen for her convenience.
The decor was stunning- our room was very spacious and the bed was huge. All the materials used in the rooms were gorgeous - traditional but modern too!
We particularly liked the extension with the log burner which made a relaxing place to sit and read the papers and have a glass of wine in the evenings.
Agree with other guests comments about the breakfast- great choice and fresh ingredients. Best fried egg ever!
Would certainly recommend the Craigatin and would love to return one day in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Room 3 was spacious, quiet and the teal and chocolate decor scheme was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Xena W, Many thanks indeed for choosing to stay at Craigatin House for your recent family visit to Pitlochry. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for the kind comments on your room, our dining rooms and our breakfast, we do appreciate it. Hope you can make a return visit one day soon. With best wishes from Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I had a great 2 night stay at Craigatin last month. We were quite weary after an overnight international flight to London, then a flight to Edinburgh and the 1.5 hr drive from Edinburgh; so when we arrived, we couldn't have been more grateful that Martin let us into our room 2 hours ahead of check-in time. The room was clean, spacious and had a nice courtyard view. Martin was very helpful on Day 2 as well when we helped plan out our day (hikes/views & shopping- it was one of the best days of our trip). The breakfasts in the lovely, modern breakfast room were both very good (stick to traditional- my husband did not like the pancakes but otherwise everything was great!!). The service, room and location (walking distance to several restaurants) were perfect and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear laurenpk, Delighted to read you both had an excellent stay over in Pitlochry at Craigatin House, it was a pleasure having you with us! Also pleased you were able to get out and about to experience the multitude of fantastic things to see and do in this beautiful part of Highland Scotland. Sorry to hear Mr laurenpk didn't like his pancake that much, we do have five cooked breakfasts choices, see our website for all the different options. Pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and thanks again for staying with us. With kind regards, Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Craigatin and as perfect as ever. Our favourite room No 8 has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! The view
is not bad either. Breakfast was superb I had the smoked haddock omelette - delicious! I just wish I had the time to stay more than 1 night
but one has to work. There is no doubt I will return to Craigatin for my 4th stay. Many thanks Martin and Andrea.

Room Tip: Room 8 has lovely views and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Margaret G, Many thanks indeed for coming back for a third visit to Craigatin House, we wish you could have stayed longer than one night too! \we're very pleased to hear you both enjoyed your short stay with us and your breakfasts. We look forward to that 4th visit very soon! Best wishes Andrea and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
878 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Property: Craigatin House & Courtyard
Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing