We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craigatin House and Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Craigatin House and Courtyard”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

As friends of Pitlochry Theatre, we have been visiting Pitlochry for over twenty years and stayed in many different hotels and B. & Bs. Without a doubt, this has been the best visit yet. We stayed in the Courtyard and had a large bedroom, very stylish and relaxing. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. I had the smoked haddock omelette and, it was so good , I had it again the next day. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and we will be back every time in future when we visit the theatre.

Room Tip: We had room 10 in the courtyard and it was really big and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aamck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi aamck12, Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review, made all the more satisfying given your experience of Pitlochry town and the number of years you have been coming. We are all very lucky to have the Pitlochry Festival Theatre in town and the quality entertainment they provide for our guests, the town would be a lot poorer without it thats for sure. Here's to the next 20 years of you visiting us :-) With very best wishes, Martin & Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    64
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
131
1,131
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I and parents stayed two nights at this quaint bed and breakfast. Andrea and Martin were charming and very accommodating. We stayed in rooms 8 and 9, which had amazing views! The home and grounds were magnificent merging a 200 year old home with an updated addition. Andrea's breakfast was tasty. The smoked haddock omelet and croissants were delicious. We would love to return and recommend this over any place in Pitlochry!

Room Tip: Who needs a pool or gym on holiday?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieV553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello KatieV553, Lovely to hear from you on Tripadvisor so soon after your stay, thank you very much for taking the time to review us all the way from Atlanta Georgia!! It was a great pleasure having your family group staying with us for a couple of days, we wish you had been able to stay a few more days too. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts at Craigatin House and the views from your top floor rooms No.8 & 9. We look forward to that return visit one day. Many thanks again KatieV553, kindest regards, Martin & Andrea - Craigatin House & Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at Craigatin House & Courtyard. We have had a fantastic stay. On arrival were given a very warm welcome from both Martin & Andrea. The room we were staying in was very clean and presented to a high standard (as was the rest of the property). The room was very spacious and very well equipped. Parking for everyone was in the grounds and very easy to access. Breakfast was superb a great choice and cooked to perfection. The dining area is very light and airy overlooking the garden very pleasant. There is also an area which you can use to read the papers or just enjoy the peace and quiet.
Martin recommended a few local places we could have dinner at. We visited the local golf club (about a ten min walk) on two occasions and had two lovely meals Wednesday is curry night and Thursday night is grill night but they still run their normal menu alongside. We were again given a very warm welcome and the club house is very clean and comfortable. Well worth a visit. Martin and Andrea have high standards and this was reflected in the places they recommended to us to dine. We have stayed in may guest houses and hotels but Martin, Andrea and the rest of the staff put many establishments to shame. They are naturals and they all do an excellent job they make sure your stay is enjoyable. We are already planning a return visit and more of the lovely walks Pitlochry has to offer. Thank you to Martin, Andrea and the rest of the staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello Kathleen E, Thank you both very much indeed for choosing to stay at Craigatin House on your recent visit to Pitlochry. Thank you also for the very kind words in your Tripadvisor review, we are delighted to hear how you enjoyed your stay at Craigatin House. Great to hear you enjoyed the Golf Clubhouse too, one of our favourite Pitlochry places for lunch/dinner or even just a coffee reading the papers and watching the golfers coming in on the 18th hole. Thanks again for staying with us, it was lovely meeting you both! Very best wishes, Martin, Andrea and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A very warm welcome awaits you in this outstanding hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hosts and shown to our room. We were given some local information, including walks and sights worth visiting. It is the personal touches that make this hotel what it is. There is bottled water supplied in the room at no extra charge and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are out of this world and everything you could possibly wish for, from cooked items, juices, cereals, fresh fruit, croissants, porridge etc. The hotel is spotlessly clean and is just as described on their website. I have never had a warmer welcome and would definitely recommend you try this hotel, but you need to stay for more than one night to appreciate it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Linda F, We are delighted to hear you had an outstanding recent stay at Craigatin House, and enjoyed all the facilities we provide, it was a pleasure having you with us. We hope you managed to get to see a few of the things that make this part of Perthshire special, like The Queens View, The Dam and Fish Ladder or the many walks that start and finish in the town. Thanks also for the recommendation, we hope to see you again one day in Pitlochry! Best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Once again Craigatin House delivers a accommodation and breakfast that takes a lot of beating! Freshly painted suite and well maintained overall Craigatin continues to re-invest in it's accommodation.

Breakfast service and food choice and quality would put some 5 star hotels to shame.

Once again well done to Martin and his professional team and thanks for a relaxing anniversary weekend in Pitlochry a town that offers many options for a short break.

Room Tip: Choose from the house or the courtyard rooms - or why not book the suite as we do for even more flex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeKeillor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Graeme, Many, many thanks indeed for your return visit to Craigatin House, it is always a great pleasure to welcome regular guests back! And thanks also for your kind comments and fourth Tripadvisor review. We're very pleased to hear your anniversary and birthday weekend was enjoyable and thanks again for re-booking for next year. We look forward to seeing you again. With very best wishes from Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of March following recommendation from my parents. I can certainly say their recommendations were lived up to. I would even say that they were better than we expected.

When we arrived we were warmly greeted and given a number of recommendations for dinner in the area. The room was exceptionally clean and very spacious and well equipped. We stayed in the courtyard which meant that we basically had our own front door to come and go as we pleased.

Breakfast in the morning was very simple. We had been recommended the pancakes and we would recommend them to others. I can also recommend the smoked haddock omelette. The buffet selection was appropriate and a nice range.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wishing to stay in Pitlochry at a reasonable price. We will be back!!!!

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Gillian B, Many thanks for your recent stay at Craigatin House and thanks also to your parents for the recommendation! It was fantastic to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and that you liked your room and enjoyed your breakfast! We hope to welcome you both back again one day soon. With very best wishes, Andrea and Martin - Craigatin House and Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Im writing this review from the comfort of my huge six foot wide bed in room 16 at Craigatin House.

Firstly I'd like to say that although we have not yet finished with our stay here we both agree that this is by far the best place we have stayed at as a couple.

On arrival we found the gardens and building looking very grand and blending in to the area beautifully. We were actually an hour early on arrival but were still greeted warmly with Martin the owner.

After showing us to our room we were hugely impressed with what we got. The decor was to our taste, furniture was all of a high quality, spacious and very clean!

Breakfast was amazing and we can't wait till tomorrow to try different things as the items we had today were brilliant. All very fresh and the waitresses very attentive.

I'd like to say a huge thanks to Martin and Andrea for making our stay great not only by providing a genuinely awesome room and stay but also for secretly organising flowers and champagne to be in our room for our return after I proposed to my now fiancé!

We will definitely be coming back to The Craigatin House and will certainly be recommending to all our family and friends.

The reviews on trip advisor and other places speak for themselves. You have to experience this peaceful place for yourself and witness the hard work that these owners have clearly put in to this establishment.

10/10 on every point.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank danielallan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear danielallan1990, Many thanks indeed for your very kind review written from your room at Craigatin House and CONGRATULATIONS from all of us on your recent engagement. It was lovely meeting with you both and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your room and breakfasts over your special weekend stay. We now look forward to welcoming you back every year, forever, celebrating your engagement anniversary :-) Very best wishes from Martin and Andrea - Craigatin House and Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,865 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,761 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Property: Craigatin House & Courtyard
Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing