We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I could live there”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for one night, since we were circulating around Scotland, and could't have picked a better place to stay between Perth and Edinburgh. We loved everything about it, the friendliness of the staff, the decoration, the quietness, the cleanliness, the food...
I recommend it to everyone and hope to stay there again on a future trip

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruicostume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear ruicostume, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much at Craigatin you felt you could live here! This could be easily arranged if you like washing dishes :-) Really pleased you enjoyed your short stay wit5h us and that you plan to stay with us again when next in Pitlochry, superb! Many thanks again. Kind regards, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    65
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
132
1,149
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
u.k.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful two night break at the Craigatin! Andrea and Martin were perfect hosts and made us very welcome!
We stayed in Room 3 with a lovely mountain view. The room itself was spotlessly clean and large with a huge, comfy bed and a great ensuite both of which were warm and welcoming after long autumnal walks during the day.
The breakfast was delicious and served by polite and efficient staff and a short walk into the idyllic town of Pitlochry took you to numerous good eating places in the evening.
We would definitely stay here again!
Deborah and Peter

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnPete16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Deborah and Peter, It was very nice to meet with you both on your recent two night stay at Craigatin House. We were super pleased to hear you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay with us and that you would not hesitate to stay with us again. Many thanks for choosing Craigatin House and Courtyard! Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Treated to a night here for my birthday. I can say it was superb.

The location is easy to find just on the main road, a 10m walk to the town centre/station.

The welcome was warm. The conservatory for breakfast was stunning. Warm and cosy.

The whole place oozes homely quality and warmth.

The bedroom overlooking the courtyard was cavernous. I want that bed!!!! Comfiest ever.

Celings were a little low even for a 6 footer. Only banged my head once and pleased to wake up and it wasn't a dream.

Breakfast was excellent. Again staff and ambience was great.

Overall a lovely place and I would go back.

Dinner in town, drinks and a trip into the Enchanted Forest are all recommended. The walking amd scenery around Queens View is also superb.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GBCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello GBCScotland, Many thanks for choosing Craigatin House for your recent birthday get away! Thanks also for posting up a review of your experience along with a couple of photos, particularly like the one of Killiecrankie in the autumn colours! Delighted to read that you found us to be calm and comfortable and your room large and your breakfast excellent. Hope you can make it back for next years birthday! Very best wishes from Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for one night and didn't want to leave. Lovely friendly welcome from Andrea. Beautiful twin bedded room in the courtyard. The decor was superb and the room toasty warm. The beds were, I think Queen size so very luxurious. Didn't really want to leave our room for dinner but took Andrea's advice and took a small walk to a local pub/restaurant.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The stewed plums, well I could have had a whole bowl full, The Scottish breakfast was cooked to perfection, The staff and Martin were so friendly and helpful. All in all I'd come back tomorrow and would recommend everyone else to do so too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello CatherineAn, Many thanks indeed for your review of Craigatin, delighted to to read you found your stay to be comfortable and enjoyable and that you not hesitate in recommending us to other. Andrea stewed Craigatin plumbs are a seasonal favorite and always go down well, I never get any leftover to try! Many thanks for choosing us and we hope you manage a return visit one day. best wishes and many thanks, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having visited the Craigatin several times before, I knew what to expect and that expectation was fulfilled again. This time, opening the car door revealed the scent of wood-burning in the slightly damp Pitlochry air.....October was upon us. The welcome was as friendly as ever as Andrea showed me to my room in the courtyard (I have stayed in several different rooms at the Craigatin - all simple yet elegant and comfortable, each with their own style.

Breakfasts are excellent and are served with relaxed efficiency and style.

Thank you once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear FairCityFrasie, Very nice to hear from you, thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at Craigatin House and for your third favourable Tripadvisor review. Always a pleasure having you and your colleagues staying with us and delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay. Looking forward to the next one! Best wishes, Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic B&B, great staff, super food - a place to recomnend at all times in a stunning surrounding. Everyone was so polite, the rooms are all done to perfection which made our stay unforgettable. We will definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rolf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Rolf A, Great to hear from you here on Tripadvisor, and thanks very much indeed for taking the time to post us up a review all the way from Ratingen in Germany. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will definitely be coming back, we look forward to welcoming you! Very best wishes from Martin & Andrea Craigatin House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wonderfully warm welcome from Andrea. Superb room in the Courtyard, excellent breakfast in conservatory with very friendly staff. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into decoration, layout etc and this has resulted in a very stylish place to stay. Excellent recommendations for evening meal in Pitlochry. Would not hesitate to book this accommodation again or to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Moira R, We were very pleased to read your complimentary review of your recent stay with us. Glad you also enjoyed our local recommendations and very happy to hear you would not hesitate to book with us again or to recommend us to others. Many thanks indeed, kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Property: Craigatin House & Courtyard
Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing