We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely rooms, friendly owners and staff. Breakfast room and breakfast itself fantastic, short walk to the town centre. It's perfect for a nice get away for a night or so. Pitlochry is lovely too.
Really enjoyed or stay and will be back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Downski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi Downski, Many thanks for taking the time to post us a Tripadvisor review! We're very pleased to hear you both enjoyed your time with us as well as the beautiful town of Pitlochry. It was a pleasure having you both with us. Kind regards, Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Four of us stayed this time last year. Ever since, we talked about going back. Would have been sooner but was sold out on other weekends we checked! And after a second experience, we're already planning the next.
Craigatin is indeed as beautiful as the website and Facebook photographs suggest and everything is to the highest standard. Even the most competitive on That Four In A Bed programme couldn't fault this place and would pay at least 100%!
Super-comfy huge beds and quality heavy drapes ensure you sleep soundly. A faint aroma of bacon lures you down to what is I think the best cooked breakfast I've had anywhere. Two of our group enjoyed the whisky-laced porridge. Three had full breakfast - quality ingredients, beautifully cooked. Scrambled eggs on toast too an excellent choice. Martin and staff make sure to keep your coffee topped up. There is also an amply-stocked buffet table with cereals, fruit, etc.
Breakfast is served in the amazing conservatory, which also provides the guest lounge with that wood-burning stove. The lounge has plenty magazines and guide books and you are genuinely encouraged to use this space - if you can tear yourself away from your room!
Numerous lovely touches from the Craigatin team ensure the service level matches the surroundings. And let's just say the birthday boy was made to feel thoroughly spoiled.
As the website shows individual rooms, I can tell you last year we were in 8 & 9 top floor, this time 3 & 4 on first floor. All spacious, well laid-out and amply equipped. Free wifi throughout.
When I find a place that's number 1 on TA, I'll usually read a few more before choosing. In Pitlochry these days, trust me, don't bother! Just book the Craigatin.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank subzeronell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello subzeronell, It was lovely having you all back with us this weekend for the birthday celebration! Thank you very much indeed for your second Tripadvisor review and very kind comments on your experience, made even more worthy from a Tripadvisor "Senior Contributor" like yourself! We're delighted you all had an enjoyable stay and that your already planning your return visit, thanks also for the Facebook mentions too, much appreciated! Very best wishes from Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in February. As we packed for leaving we were trying to sum up why we found Craigatin House to be so superior to other accommodation of a similar type. Friendly and professional owners and staff, a lovely room, spotlessly clean everywhere, delicious breakfasts and attention to detail throughout immediately sprang to mind. On closing the car door on departure we spontaneously agreed that our stay at Craigatin House had been faultless.

Room Tip: Room 8 was in the top floor of the house. Pleasant view, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 938CliveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear 938CliveH, Thank you both very much indeed for your Tripadvisor review and very kind comments, it was a pleasure having you both staying with us this weekend..
Feedback like this makes what we do all the more satisfying when we hear that guests have enjoyed Craigatin and their time with us. We do hope you enjoyed a safe journey home and that you are able to make a return visit to us one day soon! Kind regards from Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow! This is what all b & b's should be like. Its more like a small hotel. Furniture, fixtures and fittings are all done to a very high standard. We had room 16 across the courtyard from the main house and it was huge. Massive bed, separate shower room and toilet, great hairdryer, good shower, nice toiletries, tea/coffee making equipment in room, free mineral water - whats not to like? The breakfast room and lounge area are simply beautiful. Very modern and stunning outlook to a beautiful garden. It was lovely watching the various birds feeding from the numerous bird feeders in the garden. Breakfast was amazing - a fabulous spread of buffet food - fruits, cereal, yogurts, juices, croissants etc. and a lovely selection of hot foot made to order. Martin, the owner, was very friendly and informaive regarding the area and what to see and do. I would say they have got it spot-on with Craigatin - I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Liaise direct by e-mail if you cannot decide from the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello blackeyes, It was very nice meeting you both earlier this weekend and many thanks indeed for choosing to stay at Craigatin House and Courtyard. Thank you also very much for the Tripadvisor review and for loading up some great photographs of your visit. Delighted to hear you both enjoyed room 16 and the facilities provided. Hope you also enjoyed your day in the area on Sunday just as much? Very best wishes from Martin, Andrea and all the Craigatin Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here,it was perfect. We stayed in the suite,room 11, fantastic, just like having your own little flat, blue ray player, coffee maker kettle ,a small fridge would have made this perfect. The breakfast choices were fantastic,we would definitely recommend the Arnold omlette...this was so tasty! The hotel is a short walk from the town of publicity. We look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojoz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello Mojoz69, Many thanks for choosing to stay at Craigatin House and Courtyard on your recent trip to Pitlochry. The Craigatin Suite in our Courtyard building is always a popular choice and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time staying there, (point taken about having a small fridge). We look forward to hopefully welcoming you both back sometime over the course of 2013. Kind regards from Andrea, Martin and Team Craigatin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is our upmteenth visit to Craigatin and it never fails to be hugely enjoyable. The perfect antidote to a stressful week! The accommodation is excellent with well appointed modern and spotless rooms. Large comfy beds and such beautiful courtyard and gardens. The more recent addition of the lounge just makes it all perfectly relaxing, sitting back bside the log burning stove and watching the birds. The breakfasts continue to be the best in Scotland and owners and staff always very pleasant and keen to welcome us back, nothing is too much trouble for them. A lovely forest walk, lunch from the Scottish Deli and a trip to the theatre, perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello relaxogirl, Thank you very much indeed for making a return visit to Craigatin and for your third review of your experience, both of which are very much appreciated by Andrea and I. Very happy to hear you enjoyed you recent stay as much as the others and that you found time to relax in the lounge in front of the fire whilst the Craigatin birds entertained! Looking forward to seeing you again in 2013. Best wishes, Martin and Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Craigatin last weekend - from the moment we arrived until we left. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and warm and the beds were really comfortable. Breakfast in the morning, cooked fresh and extensive menu. Thoroughly recommended and would love to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueEllenW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi SueEllenW2013, Thank you for the very positive summary of your recent weekend stay at Craigatin House. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you'd thoroughly recommended us. Very best wishes from Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,122 reviews
1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $167 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing