We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The best place we have ever stayed.The breakfast is fantastic and the rooms are even better than they look in the photographs. The bed was so comfortable and the complimentary toiletries are a nice touch.The staff are very friendly and helpful, recommending restaurant and activities nearby. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hi Eleanor M, Thank you very much for choosing Craigatin House for your recent Pitlochry visit. We were thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and especially your comment "The best place we have ever stayed". thanks very much indeed. We look forward to that return visit! Best wishes, Andrea and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Craigatin is an efficient and well run B&B. The courtyard rooms are variable. Ours, corner room 12, didn't have a lot of natural light but the room was big and bed comfortable. High scores may be linked to most guests being asked if they were Trip Advisor users and could they leave a comment. Still deserves high rating but volume of scores I am sure is related to this activity. It's a walk along the road to town with restaurants etc. but not so far you'd need to drive.

Room Tip: Some courtyard rooms are ground floor so be aware when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear MorrisEdward, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Craigatin and for your complimentary review, made especially satisfying from a Tripadvisor Top Contributor like yourself!
Very pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your visit.
Apologies if referring to Tripadvisor on departure caused any offence? Yes we do make reference to Tripadvisor and other customer review websites, reviews help us improve our business and attract new business! Given the size and relevance of Tripadvisor these days I am surprised that no one has ever asked you this before! Thanks again for staying with us, hope to see you again. Best wishes Martin & Andrea Anderson Craigatin House and Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent guest house, well located. Very friendly and helpful staff, superb rooms decorated to high standard, fantastic breakfasts to start the day. There is no doubt we will return. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hello Graham A, Many thanks indeed for posting up a complimentary review of your recent stay at Craigatin House Pitlochry. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return again. Very best wishes, Martin & Andrea Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a great short stay at Pitlochry thanks to our host Martin. Great room in wonderful location and great breakfast to start the day right.
Highly recommended.
And thanks again Martin for all your recommendations to make our short trip to Scotland perfect.
Lutz and Cordula

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Lutz and Cordula, Thank you very much for you kind Craigatin review all the way from Germany. We are very pleased to hear you both enjoyed your time at Craigatin and your short tour around Scotland. Come back and see it all again soon! Best wishes, Martin & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Craigatin House was very well located in the town of Pitlochry. I walked to town each day to shop and the restaurants for dinner were all very easy to reach on foot. I would recommend making reservations for restaurants as they fill quickly.
Our room was in the loft of the carriage building. I'm tall and the sloped roof wasn't a serious issue. The room was quiet, clean and fashionable. Breakfast was good with lots of selections. The owners are friendly and very helpful with suggestions for attractions in the area. WiFi was available in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2RoamAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hello Luv2RoamAround, Great to hear from you and thanks for your review all the way from Vancouver! We were most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Craigatin and that you managed to take in a few of the best local attractions (Queens View and Edradour Distillery). Thank you very much, kindest regards, Martin and Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights (2nd and 3rd Nov) as we had a wedding to go to on the Saturday and would highly recommend it. It is better than most of the hotels I have ever stayed in. Stayed in room 6, 6 foot bed which was so comfortable, flatscreen television, nice bathroom. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. All very clean and tidy. The place was also nice and warm, good for me as I enjoy the heat. I am quite fussy and I have to say I don't think I could pinpoint anything on the bad side for this place. Owners were very friendly too.

Breakfast was great! All very chilled and relaxing. Porridge with whiskey and cream, yum! The omlette and full breakfast were great as well. Definitley sets you up for the day.

All in all, we had a great time staying here and would definitley recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Front Office Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hi karenydavis, Many thanks for your November stay with us to attend a local wedding. Its always very rewarding satisfying a discerning customer and we were delighted that your found your overall experience to be very good. Thanks for the review and the personal recommendation. Best wishes, Martin & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bed & Breakfast. Can match any top hotel in the country. Staff and owners are a pleasure to deal with. My experience so far is nothing is too much for them. We stayed two nights and had a wine in the room using the room water glasses. Without any prompting, next night we had two wine glasses waiting in the room as extra and a corkscrew.

There is also a warmly heated public area where you can relax in front of a log stove and watch the birds in the garden.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hello Vic A, Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your recent stay at Craigatin House. Our log burning stove in our guest lounge has been one of our best investments for guest enjoyment on these chilly autumnal days, its hard to leave it confines once your seated :-) It was a pleasure haveing you staying with us, we hope yo can return again one day. Very best wishes, Andre and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $176 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing