We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Lovely B&B. My husband and I stayed one night a the Craigatin House & Courtyard. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and elegantly furnished. Our breakfast of haddock cheddar omlets was absolutely delicious!

The one problem that we had was that we were staying in the bottom level and could hear other travelers above us walk around in the early hours of the morning which made it a little hard to sleep.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The noise in the middle of the night
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lover025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    64
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
131
1,129
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Stayed in 2 rooms at Craigatin (they couldn't accommodate us for 3 nights in one room midweek in mid September which says a lot about the popularity of the place). We had 2 nights in a "standard" room on the second floor and one night in a "luxury" room on the courtyard ground floor. We actually preferred the standard room because of the views, although it was a little smaller and slightly less well furnished than the courtyard room, which suffered from a lack of views and natural light. In each it was quite easy to flood the bathroom due to a lack of shower screens. However both were great value.
The whole place is run with cheerful efficiency and is spotlessly clean - I always do a cobweb count wherever I stay and here it was zero. Breakfasts in the conservatory are brilliant.
Craigatin is just outside the town but an easy five to ten minute walk to the shops and restaurants.
I can't imagine anyone could be dissapointed by staying here

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pindarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I usually write reviews about the quality of the rooms, beds, and the service but those areas have been amply covered by this property's many previous patrons. In truth, I make many of my judgments based on those little happiness sounds my wife makes as she settles into her new surroundings. Sometime it's small words like "lovely" or "charming" but more often it takes the form of a small shriek of joy or a satisfied sigh. Our stay at the Craigatin House & Courtyard was packed full of those little happiness moments that can make recreational travel so worthwhile whether it was opening our bedroom window to the sounds of the river valley below or just sitting in the beautiful courtyard gardens having apple pancakes with real maple syrup.

On a different note, every Monday bag pipers march down main street to a show at the review grounds. It has a definite tourist ring to it but is a lot of fun nonetheless.

  • Liked — Beautiful Surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We booked the Craigatin House Hotel for our friends and family over the weekend of our wedding in August 2007, most of which travelled up to Pitlochry from London and overseas. The rooms were spotless and beautifully presented, with a contemporary feel. The service was excellent. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful, relaxed and friendly. This is a hotel not to be missed if you plan to explore Highland Perthshire and base yourself in Pitlochry. We will definitely return in future.

  • Liked — Contemporary, relaxed, spotless, excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Almanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I thoroughly recommend Craigatin House. I stayed there last weekend (June 2007) to take part in a cycle race, and was very impressed. No complaints whatsoever.

Craigatin is a lovely traditional stone house, full of character but stylish and modern. I hate to use the 'boutique' cliche, but it feels exclusive and the quality far exceeds that of most hotels for the money.

I satyed there alone in a standard double room (the only vacancy). I got a small discount for single occupancy. Compared to a single room in another b&b, it was quite expensive on the face of it, but as everywhere was full and the quality was so high, I thought it was great value for money. For a couple it would be even better.

The hospitality of the staff was excellent, and the breakfast was very good. Craigatin is 'cycle friendly', with secure storage of bicycles.

A b&b of real quality which seems to be in great demand, and rightly so.

  • Liked — Quality and stylish
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Colnagist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed with the Craigatin once again in early season when things generall are slow for tourism in the area and smiled to find the place fully booked! Other people apreciate it as much as we do, obviously. The place was still a treat throughout, very well maintained and cleaned and the owners were even nicer than before. Spent a snowy, wet, stormy weekend cosy, romantic and warm in one of the couryard suites this time - will be back!

  • Liked — We like everything here
  • Disliked — the weather was the only issue
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotsmanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We were looked after from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Comfort, friendliness, peaceful setting and wonderful view. Deluxe room very classy with spotless on-suite bathroom;bed was a dream to sleep in.Sensibly timed breakfasts were courteously served;choice from menu was both traditional and surprising. Very close to main part of interesting town and a varied tourist area. Standard of a good hotel with the personal touch of an aspiring, cosy B & B.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Property: Craigatin House & Courtyard
Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing