We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
101
69
27
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
101
69
27
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room enchanted forest railway bridge hot selection fine hotel four poster bed a family run hotel cooked breakfast blair athol distillery theatre visit stayed here for one night short walk old house stunning views breakfast was excellent overlooking the garden comfy bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 209 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and can’t fault the place. Great location and only a 5 min walk or so to town centre. It’s family owned and you can tell. Service from initial check in to then being shown to our room was superb . Room itself was comfortable albeit a little old fashioned. Breakfast was excellent and the views from the restaurant are superb . Again the service was very friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 905peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We got a last minute deal on booking.com although I’m not sure it was priced favourably compared to booking direct with the hotel. Top tip- check before you book!

Super location, plenty of parking, warm welcome and even showed to our room which was on the adjacent annex not the main hotel (view of houses nearby rather than any picturesque Perthshire mountains).

Room was a twin, plenty of space, spotlessly clean and decor, whilst neither traditional nor modern was of good standard.

Bathroom fittings were new and flat screen tv also in room.

WiFi worked well - was able to stream Tour de France highlights which was a plus.

Breakfast is a cold buffet and order hot from the kitchen. Busy Sunday morning so at 8.30am the room was packed. Be prepared, not all guests will have manners or dining etiquette but this is no reflection on the hotel or the staff. Get there early or later. Window seats are best.

It’s a family run concern which is nice to support, especially in communities whereby tourism is a key income. Given season and availability of accommodation on the day, whilst travelling further afield might get you cheaper, you are paying for location. And as the hotel was full, the pricing must be appropriate for the area.

The only ‘niggle’ was that the shower was a bit of a faff. Especially to get hot water through. Not a deal breaker or major issue, just be patient and try and work out the tap combination. Another tip, don’t pop your head over the tap as you do....when you find out how to switch to shower you get soaked

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank martinkW9255QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This hotel is situated at the bottom end of the town, just before the railway bridge. It was built by a wine merchant as his country retreat in the latter part of the 19th century when the railway line was built to Inverness. It has that wonderful old house feel about it that makes you feel welcome. The welcome by staff is great and as a family run hotel for thepast 32 years the professionalism shows.WE were housed in the annexe which is right next to the hotel. The room was lovely and the only sounds were the birds singing in the trees. Occasuinally the train horn would sound to let people know who were crossing the railway line, that it was getting near. (there is a crossing that takes you right in to Pitlochrt without going the road way and climbing the hill into the town. The walk from the hotel to the town takes 3 to 5 minutes). WE sat out in the beautiful garden, full of great, tall mature trees and an amazing view over the Tay valley. It was a lovely afternoon and the owner came out to speak to us abouit his garden and the planting scheme. The rhodidendrums must be a spectacular sight, Something we will be back to see!. We chose to eat in the town at our favourire restauent(Victorias) but I have it on the best of authorities(a close relative who visits regularly) that the food is excellent in the hotel. We both slep as well as we could because the night was very muggy and warm, but the beds were very comfortable. WE had a window seat at breakfast overlooking that magnificent view. There was a great cold selection but you had to make your own toast, which is happening in a lot of hotels now. It means you can have hot toast instead of it sitting getting cold. The hot selection was excellent and everything was very well cooked./ THis is the only hotel that my husband has ever said that he would return to, and believe me, that is a great accolade. We have revisited many hotels but at my request. we both agreed that this is one we both agreed on to come back to. Thanks to all the staff. Hope to see you before too long.

Room tip: Any room at the front of the hotel to give you those amazing views.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff, fabulous breakfast. Didn’t try dinner, but reading reviews wish we had. Stunning views and lovely stroll to the theatre. Not sure about the coloured cornicing though. Will definitely be back

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank alygoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Derek gave us a warm welcome.
Bedroom was spacious and comfortable, with a stunning view to the forested hills from both windows. Could never tire of looking at that view!
Breakfast had a good variety of choice. Hot dishes were perfectly cooked.
Dinner excellent each course delicious food, again perfectly cooked.
A fine hotel with very good attentive staff, and a relaxing stay.
It is a great find.

Room tip: Beautiful views from the "new part" rooms 14 and 15
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hazelwright4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews