We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again to Perthshire”
Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Lanarkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“back again to Perthshire”
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We came back, more of us, hotel remains most excellent. Good weather in the highlands of Scotland. Same staff and proprietors here in this cute piece of scottish architectural history. Same great breakfasts, same delicious dinners with fine wines. Dundarach is handy for town centre and the evening excitement.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil-um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
79
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Susan and I stayed here, at the Dundarach Hotel during September and were pleasantly satisfied with all aspects of the visit. The restaurant food, in particular was perfect.

Good service staff, warm atmosphere and jumbo twin beds. Nice friendly guests too. We made friends with Jock and Eleanor, from Edinburgh, if they read this please get in touch.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kennydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Stayed with a friend for 4 nights and can highly recommend this hotel. My room was in the annexe and was very comfortable and spacious. Bed was a little hard (but some people may prefer this). Decent bathroom with new towels. Room very quiet and peaceful.

All of the amenities you would expect including internet service. Breakfast was plentiful with the usual selection including full Scottish, kippers, porridge, continental etc. Most of the staff are from Czech Republic and Slovakia and gave good service and spoke English well.

Nice location and about 5 minutes easy walking into town.

Only small criticism I would make, is that there did not seem to be a hall porter which would be nice to help with luggage on arrival.

Very good value at £48 for DBB (we ate in hotel on 1st night) and £37 BB. For this reason I give it top marks.

  • Liked — Excellent value for money
  • Disliked — No-one to help with luggage
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MacMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We were at Dundarach for 4 nights, April 20th 08, it was warm, cosy, the food was excellent, the staff were polite and attentive. They did a birthday song for us. It was sunny all week. Lovely spot in Scotland

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank loughlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

Brilliant, Me and Mark are here in Pitlochry fishing in the river Tummel, below the dam. I just caught this whopper 18.5 pounds
See the photo!!!
We are in single roomes here which have everything we need including big flat screen TV's.
The meals are great, the packed lunches are outstanding and there is Tetley bitter in the bar + some scottish ones.
My 4 day package is costing me£47 per day all in and the fishing costs loads mort than that, but its worth it.

Trevor

  • Liked — The staff and the owners
  • Disliked — The other guests were less than friendly
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trevPitlochry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

We stumbled on the Dundarach by accident, we want a good hotel but came on the off chance we could get somewhere.

We were offered a superior room for an extra @ £12 per night
paying £104 for bed and breakfast.

Best breakfast ever with omelette, mushrooms,and black pudding, I had juice and wholemeal toast, my man took the jumbo option.

A Czech restaurant staff were so eager to please we stayed on for another night. The best thing was the Festival of Lights in the woods here, what a great night, especially for children.

Since we are away on weekends and don't like flying I think we will be back to do white water rafting in spring. Try the old mill for malt whisky, its in mid Pitlochry.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — no all good
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank myomosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I had an extremely poor and insulting experience at the Dundarach. After arriving into our room, we couldn't get the heating on, the room was extremely dated and old and therwas no hot water. WE decided to leave and recieved the worst customer service ever. When the owner heard we were Irish he said "You're Irish we'll want to get rid of you then". Having been insulted I asked if he treated all his customers like this and he replied "You're not out customers". He refused to give me his name, and when we said we'd report him to the tourist board he told us to go on ahead yet still refused to give us his name. His poor wife pretended not to hear his insults and tried her best to keep things calm. It finished off that the owner shoved my receipt into my purse and slammed the shutters in my face when I asked his wife did he think that it was nice to say to customers that "You're Irish, we'll want to get rid of ye"

Extremely ignorant, aggressive and manipulitive man. God love his wife and staff!!

  • Liked — the drive out
  • Disliked — the owner
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank dreamerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Property: Dundarach Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing