We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were booked in for one night but stayed for two. We had a room with four poster bed, and the pictures don't do it justice. The room and bathroom were very spacious indeed, and the decor was very nice too.

The breakfast was really nice with a wide choice available. The staff were also very cheerful and friendly.

I would certainly recommend Dundarach, but we did think that it was quite overpriced. That said, it was a very pleasant stay for us, and we would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: Please ignore the stars for the swimming pool and fitness centre. These were added in error!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    58
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
76
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 3 day break at Dundarach Hotel in Pitlochry. From the moment we checked in we were satisfied with everything. The receptionist took us to our room which was in an annex of the hotel. Lovely large room overlooking beautiful gardens. Tea and coffee facilities and toiletries in the bathroom supplied every day. We only had bed and breakfast and the choice was excellent. The waitresses were so friendly and helpful.I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just back from a two night stay, amazing homely Hotel with the most pleasant and helpful staff. We travelled with our parents, Mum, who has mobility problems was made to feel so at Home with Staff going out of their way to make her stay very comfortable. Beautiful Hotel and grounds with well kept gardens. We had a superior room upstairs and superior it was! Extremely clean huge room with lovely views, four poster comfortable bed with "just off the line" bed linen, huge bathroom with robes and slippers. Our parents were in a downstairs twin room which was again extremely clean, comfortable and easily accessible to the lounge and dining room, not forgetting the lovely Garden views. Very very happy and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a decent nights sleep, good food in a friendly and relaxed setting! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I are spent two nights here and had a very pleasant time. The owners and staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs and we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful break. The location is perfect being on the edge of town giving the feel of a country hotel away from the noise of the main street yet only a very short walk from lots of shops, bars and the other attractions which Pitlochry offers. They get a lot of trade from visitors to the Festival theatre which is on the other side of the river and only a short stroll away. Our room was in the main building and far larger than we were expecting. The room and the public rooms were nicely furnished with antiques and this created a very nice atmosphere. The bar is well stocked with whisky including malts and some local blends and serves some good beers including ones that were new to me. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyljam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Just back from a night here. Lovely hotel, friendly and polite staff. Rooms were good, clean, warm and a comfy bed. Booked 3rooms for ourselves and family. Beautiful setting just wished the weather had been better so we could have enjoyed the grounds. Would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heathergMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

An excellent location and you can just see there is so much potential for this hotel to be one of the winners for that homely feel and not like those national chain hotels.

However, it is a shame the owners are letting the hotel become to tired. Old carpets, carpet in the bathroom!, old furniture, dated windows that don't open too well etcetc

Don't get me wrong, the hotel was clean, with internet access in the hallway/reception. However the mattress I slept on was uncomfortable with the metal springs scratching my back and legs :(

The pillow was strange, don't know what it was filled with but it was not comfortable at all.

Breakfast was nice, with an excellent view. Staff were friendly, but I feel that they are also desperate for the hotel to be refreshed with a tidy make over modernisation.

Corridors smelt of a run down council flat.

It is not difficult, why do the owners not do a couple of rooms at a time?

Their website is very very dated too.

I hope the owners can read and act on this positively, as the hotel has so much potential to be an excellent place to stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nta_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed with our granddaughter one night to see the Enchanted Forest which is a lovely experience, probably best for primary school children and adults. The family room was ideal - in the absence but a short covered walkway to the the main castle like building that has wonderful views to the West. The reception and waiting staff are charming, helpful and make you feel really welcome. Breakfast was a really good selection of a hot order and large buffet choice of cold selections - this was much better than many large expensive hotels offer. The large open garden is overlooked from the large lounge and restaurant areas and has a spectacular view over the valley to the hills in the West . Would certainly come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,900 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Property: Dundarach Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing