We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fonab Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Old Mill Inn(Pitlochry)
$176
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atholl Villa(Pitlochry)
$143
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
$172
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$166
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$120
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$110
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$99
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,301)
Filter reviews
2,301 results
Traveler rating
1,833
318
113
29
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,833
318
113
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch viewwoodland suitethe fine dining restaurantsandemans restaurantthe penthousewine flighttasting menunew wingnespresso machinebeautiful hotelafternoon tealuxury hotellounge barspa facilitiesstunning viewsfresh milkfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
2,063 - 2,068 of 2,301 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in a woodland suite to celebrate my partners birthday a few nights ago. I was so excited with all the lovely little things in the room including a nespresso machine, homemade shortbread and no less than Thierry Mugler toiletries! Wow! We had our 9 month old baby with us but the staff were very accommodating and we did not feel uncomfortable dining with him at all. The food in the brasserie was absolutely delicious, but was most impressed with the breakfast! Fresh, hot, lovely, delicious, french pastries straight out the oven! Gorgeous fruit salad and a wonderfully tasty cooked breakfast, all brought to your table! We were also sent a glass of champagne for the birthday celebrations which was the cherry on the cake. That was all after we had enjoyed our sleep in the most comfortable bed ever. Heaven! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabelleno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us at Fonab castle Hotel.

Delighted that you chose us as your venue of choice for your partner's birthday and we all hope they had a lovely celebration.

i am pleased that you enjoyed our little touches like the Nespresso machine and the Thierry Mugler and not forgetting the homemade biscuits. And again a mention for the comfortable beds - they really are appreciated.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed dining with us in our Brasserie and felt comfortable. Thank you for sharing your very positive thoughts on our breakfast - its always good to have a great stat to your day and our breakfast certainly does that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab castle Hotel in the very near future.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Fantastic setting overlooking the loch,First class furnishings, staff very friendly,obliging and sociable,Food is great and large portions.Never stayed anywhere in the world in such a nice atmosphere. It s worth 6 stars.

Room Tip: Pick a loch view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your views following on from your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

Thank you so much for your very kind comments and support - we really appreciate you sharing your comments.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Fonab Castle and we trust that it is not too long before we are welcoming you back.

Till then, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband took me here for my birthday and I can't praise the hotel highly enough. From the moment we were met and taken to our turret room with a beautiful view over the loch to the breakfast in the morning, it was all perfect. The room was very luxurious with all kinds of nice touches such as thick dressing gowns and an excellent welcome tray and I have never slept in a bed as comfortable- it was like floating! Every item the taster menu in the Fine Dining room was delicious and I even enjoyed the beetroot sauce when I don't like beetroot; the amuse bouche of monkfish tempura, the duck course and the ox cheek were particularly memorable and I wish I had had enough room left to eat more than one of the four petits fours! Breakfast in the brasserie with the view was also excellent - my ham was melt in the mouth and the fruit and yogurt option was just right. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our turret room had views overlooking the loch
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are delighted that you chose Fonab as your venue of choice to celebrate your birthday and that you were well looked after from the moment you were met and walked in through the doors.

I am pleased that you gave a special mention to the comfortable nights sleep, as well as all the amenities and services we offer in the rooms, our beds get a lot of comments for their soft supportive comfort.

'Sandemans on the Loch' fine dining restaurant is certainly getting admiring comments and we note that you also enjoyed your visit to it - including the petits fours!

Thank you for the kind mentioning of the staff, they really appreciate that and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab Castle in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just back from staying at fonab. This is definitely a five star hotel in a beautiful location. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. The meal in the brasserie was lovely and surpassed only by the breakfast which was first rate. Our room was in the castle and overlooked the loch and was immaculately presented. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. We were lucky during our stay to meet the owners who are very driven and were interested in all the guests comments. A great hotel. We will be back.
Andy&linda B. Aberdeen

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments following your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction - from the dinner and breakfast in the Brasserie through to our well appointed rooms in the castle with the fabulous views over Loch Faskally.

Everyone at the Castle - proprietors, management and staff - all want to make a hotel that delivers comfort, wonderful cuisine and happy memories. We do listen to our guests and are forever questioning what we do and offer, so as to deliver the very best that we can to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stay in Pitlochry once a year and this is a huge improvement on last year's hotel. it really was wonderful. It's the kind of place where you are tempted to stay in and enjoy the hotel instead of venturing out. Our room in the new wing was flawless. My only comment would be that the suction doors do slam shut quite loudly, but it didn't dampen my enthusiasm. First rate, charming staff too. Amazing meals and drinks and quite the comfiest hotel bed ever. We'll come again next year. We're chuffed with ourselves for finding it.

Room Tip: New wing was very nice with a small balcony overlooking the loch
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

i am delighted that you found our Woodland Rooms within the modern wing of the hotel to be up to the standard you expected and a little bit more. Your mentioning of the 'comfiest hotel bed ever...' reminds me of one guest who said it was 'like sleeping on a cloud' the thick mattress toppers and luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding from The White Company' sure are appreciated by our guests.

Now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and for very many years to come. let us be your new home from home in Pitlochry.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews