We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is outstanding. I could go on and on but I will summarise as to not bore you all.

Staff - a real asset. Attentive without hovering, charming, knowledgable etc

Room - gorgeous, massive and well furnished. It is clear a great deal of thought into the interior design has been made. The bedding, towels, coffee machine, etc are all high end. Only thing missing in my opinion was tissues, not nice having to blow nose on toilet paper.

Breakfast - brilliant. Absolutely fab choice, all very tasty and good quality.

Afternoon Tea - wonderful. Although quite a lot of food - the individual cakes and sandwiches were quite large. The choice and quality of cakes was outstanding.

Dinner - very good. Restaurant was busy but staff coped perfectly. Excellent cocktail menu and choice of food.


Overall a very good hotel already despite having only been open for a few months. I am very picky and expect the best when staying at 5* hotels and Fonab met my expectation. Very much lookign forward to returning when the spa and pool open.

I have stayed at the current Tripadvsior No1 UK hotel - Rudding Park and I loved it. Fonab is of the same standard so I expect to see awards from Tripadvisor and the many travel companies/associations/boards over the next year.

Room Tip: If a bath is important to you, ask when booking as not all rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Good afternoon!

What a great review.

Thank you so much for the kind words. I am please that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,028 - 2,034 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Fonab and you could not fault it. We were greeted by the Head Concierge, Otto, who was extremely professional and a lovely gentleman. From the minute we stepped from our car to the minute we left the hotel he was there to help and advise in any way possible.
The room was outstanding with plush furniture and dressings. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and spectacular views from the room balcony.
The dining room was not a disappointment either. The food was delicious, and reasonably priced. Breakfast was exceptional with a vast menu, including locally sourced produce, cooked breakfast, fresh fruit and pastries. The waiting staff were totally on the ball and especially Ed and Dener who made you feel like special guests every time you walked in.
Fabulous walks straight from the hotel and a 5 minute walk into Pitlochery. This hotel has everything and more, and that was without the spa area that is to open next March.
You would be mad not to visit this hotel in your lifetime!!!
Well done to all and thank you for a wonderful weekend, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views and comments with us.


We are all delighted that you loved staying with us and thoroughly enjoyed yourself in Fonab Brasserie. The staff are also tickled pink at your recognition of their service and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just had our honeymoon at the Fonab and to say this was an incredible memory is an understatement. We were made to feel welcome from the minute they called to ask what time we would arrive to the moment we left.

In a world where customer service is often lacking, the Fonab excels. EVERY member of staff is attentive, engaging and welcoming. They always asked what we were doing and had we had a great day and nothing was too much trouble. From swapping breakfast items to the whiskey room, the service was 5 star.

The room was amazing - views over the loch and a huge bed that made for a great night's sleep. Peaceful and relaxing, everything at the Fonab is geared to making your stay an amazing experience. The staff in the brasserie are fantastic and a credit to the hotel. They made breakfast and dinner real fun - it's great to see people enjoying what they do and it makes the whole time you're there a pleasure.

More hotels could adopt this attitude - it made us want to eat at the restaurant and spend time there rather than go elsewhere.

God knows how much better it will be with the spa, gym, restaurant and lodges when they open.

This is one of the country's finest hotels and you won't be disappointed with your stay. Book now whilst you can because in a year or two this place will be packed all year round.

Congrats to the owners, management and staff - you're a credit to the vision of this stunning setting.

And thank you for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoyaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

WOW - Thank you so much for such a great review. I am so pleased that we made such an impact on your honeymoon - a time when making memories are so important.

We are all delighted that you appreciated the attentive nature of our service - something we are at great pains to achieve. From the bottom up we are all engaged and interested in not just making our guests feel welcome and looked after, but also just being interested in our guests and making sure they have the best time EVER.

Like you, we cannot wait till our Spa and Sandemans Fine-Dining Restaurant is open - then you have all the more reasons to come back and luxuriate in all that Fonab has to offer.

In the mean time, we all wish you all the best and thank you for saying that 'This is one of the country's finest hotels and you won't be disappointed with your stay...'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A new place above a loch within walking distance of downtown Pitlochry and, man, did they do this place right. Perfect combination of modern, but classy, style and understated but attentive service. This is a fabulous place to stay. And, without a doubt, the best breakfast -- e-vuh -- in the UK. Plentiful fresh berries, French toast, Scottish pancakes and all the usual local specialities served in a dining room with a tranquil view of the loch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and comments - which we greatly appreciate.

We really value your comments on the hotel and its design and mixture of classic and contemporary features. And WOW - thanks for your great mention of our breakfasts overlooking Loch Faskally.

We do hope that we get to welcome you back to Fonab - a hotel we are all justly proud off.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in 7 good hotels/B&B's before our night here, if only Fonab where in every location we stayed across Scotland, because we would have stayed in Fonab every night! Also, every member of staff was so welcoming and approachable. Very much without a doubt excellent.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Fonab.

All our staff strive to make each and every guest stay a memorable one - so it was heartening to read your comments on their service and to know that it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Fonab Castle. The situation is just stunning and the rooms and amenities fantastic. We were greeted when we arrived by Gary who went that extra mile to ensure we felt our stay was personal and comfortable. The room on the 1st floor in the castle was beautiful with amazing views over the Tummel from the front. The room had windows not only in the turret but also on two of the other walls so is bright and with gorgeous furnishings. When booking again we would request a room a further floor up to ensure you had Panaramic views all the way round as one window looked into the new extension. You can't tire of these views! All the extras in the room added to our stay, the coffee machine, beautiful toiletries, fresh milk, morning newspaper, turn down service and as one previous guest had reported the marshmallow quilt!

The staff were delightful , and definitely added to the ambiance of professional but friendly. All went the extra mile throughout our stay, especially Marco the concierge. The restaurant managers Denor and Salvatore were fantastic both evenings and added to the delightful ambience in both the Brasserie and lounge. Our waitress Shannon was efficient and charming. You would have thought they had all been working together for years and not just the seven weeks the hotel has been open! I have not even got to the food......

We ate both evenings in the Brasserie and we could not fault it in any way. The cheese soufflé is to die for! It is by far up there with the best meals we have both enjoyed in Scotland. We are looking forward to returning and would love to bring our children once the Spa is open. The attention to detail and personal touch has certainly put this hotel top of our wish list. Thanks again to all the staff

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Powerpuff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us - we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Fonab Castle.

You mention the lovely room you stayed in and like other guests you mention our wonderfully comfortable beds - the secret is the thick mattress toppers that let you feel like your sleeping on a cloud.

We are also pleased that you also mentioned the staff and how helpful they are. It is interesting that you mention how they added to the ambiance - as so many factors add up to a great atmosphere and here at Fonab castle we have considered as many as we can so as to get the best possible balance to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.

On a personal note - I am totally with you on the cheese souffle, it's also a favourite of mine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab Castle in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A very special place to spend our wedding anniversary with wonderful food,accommodation and exceptional service. We will definitely re-visit and recommend to our friends.The location is perfect with Pitlochry within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheenam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review.

We were delighted that you chose Fonab Castle to celebrate your wedding anniversary and enjoyed all that we had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back - lets hope it sooner than your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $238 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing