We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful meal”

Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $47
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful meal”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie, was an experience not just a meal.
From the warm welcome as we arrived, to the moment we left we were treated wonderfully. The staff obviously care about the food they serve, from presentation to taste the meal was amazing. A big thank you to Graham the Chef for the amazing food and to Matt the waiter for the friendly service. A wonderful evening which we hope to repeat soon. We are really looking forward to the opening of your new fine dinning restaurant but it is hard to see how you can improve on what you are doing already. David, 17th Jan 2014.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Good morning!!

Thank you for the amazing review.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the service. The Kitchen and Front of House teams work extremely hard to ensure that our guests feel welcome and enjoy their visits, with great tasting food.

We look forward to seeing you again David M.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    65
    38
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I ate at this great restaurant on 2nd. January 2014. My husband had two starters,the soup of the day and the cheese soufflé both were very good they were washed down with two glasses of Pinot Grigio and again a great wine. I had the smoked haddock with potato and leak chowder , this was the best chowder I have ever tasted and would go back again just for a plate of this, but I will try something else as all the food on the menu looked great. There is also a choice on the lunch menu and the snack menu which also looked interesting. The restaurant was full which we were not surprised at. They also have a quiet lounge where you can have a drink and bring your dog in, which we did after our lunch. We will definitely be back next month and will book lots of time in advance to book at seat overlooking the loch. Overall a fantastic experience in both the food and location. Staff were very attentive but not overly our Italian Maitre'd (forgot to ask his name) was very helpful. Full marks to all!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good morning!!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your food, service and over experience of Fonab Brasserie.

I will pass your great comments onto Salvatore regarding his service.

Please just give us a call and we will ensure you get a table with a view.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax, savour and enjoy fine cuisine and genuine hospitality”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

From the bagpipe welcome to the handmade shortbread, the staff at Fonab make your stay feel genuinely regal. The rooms are elegantly appointed, the meals regionally inspired and deliciously executed and the views inspiring. The real treat is the staff who on all levels work effortlessly to exceed expectations. Ask to stay in the castle rooms rather than the new wing which is elegant but misses the mark on "castle" decor. We were there over a three day Christmas stay...restful and luxurious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good morning!!

That you for leaving a great review on our page.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Christmas. It was an absolute pleasure for us all to have met you guys and we hope that you made it back to Canada safely with out your husband becoming too adventurous.

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the lovely card you left us on check out, and also assure you that Matt and I will be making "Canadian Styled Margaritas" over our free time in January - not too sure about the residents cocktail that you all designed during the demonstration though!

We hope to see you again when you visit Scotland next and wish you all the very best for 2014!

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch in a Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had lunch here just before Christmas (apologies for the lateness of this review).

Food was excellent along with the service. The bread platter (side dish / starter) was terrific value and easily fed 3 hungry guests.

Main courses were all beautifully presented and the flavours and aromas were delightful.

We all found room for pudding and I have it on good authority from an ice cream "connoisseur" that the ice cream here is the best ever tasted.

Continued success to you all - you deserve to be Number 1 in Pitlochry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotsann_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good morning!!

Wow what a great review. I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience here at Fonab Brasserie,

Bidhur, our Pastry Chef, makes all of the ice cream fresh so i am pleased to see that you gave him top marks for it. I will pass the kind words on.

We hope to see you again when your in the Pitlochry area.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with a view to match”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch in The Brasserie on Christmas Eve at a table by the window. We enjoyed not only the excellent food and wine served by friendly and knowledgeable staff, but we also had the view across the grounds to Loch Faskally, backed by the Perthshire hills. This will not be the last time we eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMPH181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for leaving a great review on our TripAdvisor page.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the food, service and of course the views over Faskally and Ben Y Vrackie.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing