We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing cottage with amazing views”
other travelers have booked this property
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Cow Shed livingroom Cow Shed Bedroom with super kingsize or twin beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Cow Shed livingroom
Cow Shed Bedroom with super kingsize or twin beds
Cow Shed Entrance & courtyard
Cow Shed kitchen
Spacious bedroom (super kingsize or twin) at the rear
The wood burner takes logs & coal
Open plan livingroom / kitchen
Cow Shed wood buring stove
Cow Shed bathroom with modern electric shower
Cow Shed decking, ideal for taking in the fabulous sunsets
Cow Shed bedroom
Cow Shed dining
Morning river mist seen from The Cow Shed
A frosty view from the Cow Shed looking north up the glen
Aerial shot - The Cow Shed is in the building group just left & below centre
Summit rocks on Ben y Vrackie, above Pitlochry
View of Glen Garry (our glen) on a walk out from The Cow Shed
Lettoch Cottages
Beinn A' Ghlo - our local munro
Beinn a' Ghlo - our nearest munro is 10 minutes drive away
Lettoch is almost dead centre of the shot, taken from the other side of Glen Garry
Morning mist. Shot taken from the front door looking south.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Vicky C
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful accommodation with amazing views from the patio doors, lovely to sit outside on the verandah with a glass of wine watching the house martins flitting about. Very clean everywhere and had everything we needed. The bread, scones and honey that was left for us was a very nice touch, we enjoyed the bread so much we had to buy some more from The Watermill in Blair Atholl,. The log burner was lovely to have lit at night, very cosy. There are lots of lovely walks in the area we enjoyed Linn of Tummel, Soldiers leap at the Killiecrankie visitor centre, Bruar Falls and Blair Castle and walks by the river at Garry Bridge and if you're feeling brave you can do a bungee jump from under the bridge. The walk at the back of The Cow Shed is very steep but worth doing for the amazing views all around. There is shopping in nearby Pitlochry to stock up with supplies but also lots of places to eat if you don't fancy cooking. Steve and Kirsty the owners are very friendly people. Would certainly recommend The Cow Shed

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craggsmc
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

An outstanding cottage in a fabulous location. Steve and Kirsty have created the perfect place to make the most of the wonderful views across Glen Garry. The cottage is very well equipped with everything needed for a relaxing stay. A lovely welcome pack is provided to get your holiday off to a great start and there are lots of information details from walks to places to eat. We can recommend coffee and cakes at the Watermill at Blair Athol and Cafe Calluna in Pitlochry. Pitlochry provided several lovely places for evening meals from the relaxed atmosphere of Victoria's to the 'fine dining' at Fonab Castle. Places of interest are too numerous to mention and you will find it difficult to fit everything in with one visit... you will certainly want to return again (both to the cottage and this beautiful part of Scotland) .
We have been coming to this area for many years and never tire of the stunning views and wonderful places to visit and cannot think of a better place to stay.
Once again many thanks to Kirsty and Steve for making a most memorable stay at the Cowshed.
Maggie and Colin

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lillian a
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our ideal place.”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our third year at the Cow Shed and we can't get enough of it. It is well furnished with a fantastic view from the livingroom. The kitchen has everything you need. There are plenty of walks from the door. A short drive to the stunning Blair Castle and a little further for the House of Bruar. Also a short drive away is the bustling town of Pitlochry to cater for all your needs. Steve and Kirsty (the owners) are very special people and maintain the property to the highest standard. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C
1 review
“A really excellent place to enjoy a holiday in and around Pitlochry. Fabulous accomodation with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A very well equipped holiday house just perfect for two adults looking for a home from home. Beautiful location with lots to see and do on your doorstep. Ideal if you like walking, cycling or just visiting Pitlochry, Bruar, Blair Atholl or Aberfeldy. Wonderful hosts make sure you have everything you need and offer lots of information and help to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melwood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Sing till the cow(sheds) come home”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What is the ultimate compliment for somewhere you've been to stay?:- That's how I would furnish it.

The wife decided she wanted to spend a week in the country in the hills of Scotland.

Sounds like a good idea until you know we live in the country in the hills in Scotland. Well as usual she was right. We live in the beautiful Scottish Borders and I have to say that northern Perthshire is even more beautiful than where we live.

There is not a thing wrong with the Cowshed. Everything you would need for a week away was there and all the little extras that make the difference. We could see from the visitor book that plenty of folk come back. You can bet we will too.

The owners were lovely, friendly people. A pleasure to have met them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbum
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy, inviting and just perfect”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Could not have asked for a better location to stay for a week.
The cow shed was so cosy and decorated to a very high standard .the bed is REALLY comfortable and you have everything you could possibly require provided.
A very long drive from East Sussex we received a very warm welcome from Steve who was so kind, helpful and knowledgable about the local area. Plus a few goodies on our arrival.
Travel on the A82 and A85 is stunning. Autumn colours were out of this world as was the Enchanted Forest . ... a yearly attraction.

To be honest I cannot fault the Cow Sheds ... just perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

First class describes our experience staying in the cottage (cow shed). It was clean, tidy and warm all the amenities that you may require are on hand. Great views to wake up to in the morning, very handy for going up the A9 to Aviemore or down the A9 to Perth plus all the local tourist places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing