We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Trip Down Memory Lane”

Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder spans the River Tummel at Pitlochry in Perthshire, Scotland. It was built between 1947 and 1951. By damming the River Tummel, Loch Faskally was created behind it. There is a salmon count monitor and the dam power station has a visitor centre.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Trip Down Memory Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My dad used to pretend he was going to drop me over the side of the dam when I was wee. Luckily he never did, but that stomach rush still exists when I stand and look over!

Sadly we didn't see any salmon a leaping, but going by the electronic counter, they have already had nearly 1000 more salmon on the ladder than the annual average.

A beautiful spot for a walk and picture taking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    408
    175
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very interesting and great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We walked across the dam and then down beside the fish ladder. We then took the footpath past the Festival Theatre and crossed back over the river on the suspension footbridge. The views were very good. It was almost the end of the salmon season so there were no fish in the ladder. There is a meter showing how many fish have made their way up the ladder.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although we went "out of season" for watching the salmon run it was still worth the walk along the river and up the steps and across the dam. There is a fish counter on display and during the season there is a viewing window where you can see the fish making their way up one of the "steps".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Closed on hoilday Weekend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

While staying for a long weekend in Pitlochry in late September my wife and I decided to take a walk to the fish ladder and dam, having first checked online that the fish viewing chamber and the dam visitor centre are open daily until late October. Imagine our surprise when, after walking two miles to get there, we found both the viewing chamber and the dam vistor centre locked up tight! We were not the only people wondering what was going on.
This is unfortuntaly typical of many places in Scotland and it is no surprise that with service like this and our unreliable weather, that so many of us choose to holiday abroad rather than in our own exceptionally beautiful country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARKESVILLE
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Neat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We walked around the fish ladder after crossing the suspension bridge. Beautiful area to take a walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdeanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing