We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday cottage & owners”
other travelers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ch1oehamm...
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday cottage & owners”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage has everything and more that you could wish for. We felt really spoilt. If you are into wildlife this is the place to go. Red squirrels who didn't mind being photographed. Birds galore too. The owners were so friendly & helpful.

Good walking area and places to visit.

I'm sure we will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you very much sharing your views with everyone. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were very impressed by all your walking, especially up and down Ben Vrackie. You inspired us both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwinpage
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A break that was perfect in every way”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Although five years had passed since our previous visit to Squirrel Cottage, Kathleen and James remembered us and gave us a hearty welcome back. The cottage is spotlessly clean, well furnished and fully equipped, not only with the essentials but with numerous extras such as toiletries, bottled water, table games,even chocolates! Outside the garden is a haven for wildlife. Red squirrels and deer are frequent visitors, and songbirds abound. The one-way glass windows enable visitors to view all this without causing any disturbance. Binoculars are provided. This cottage has all that you could hope for, and very much more.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Edwin, Thank you very much for your glowing review, we are very pleased that after five years, you feel Squirrel Cottage is as good as ever it was. We certainly plan to keep it that way and really enjoyed having you and your wife to stay once again. Our very best wishes, James and Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beall53
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wildlife heaven”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our second visit to Squirrel cottage & it didn't disappoint. As good as our last visit, highly recommended. The cottage is very spacious & comfortable for 2 guests, lots of little extras dotted around like toiletries, chocolates, milk, bread, mineral water etc all make your stay that little bit more comfortable - the owners are very thoughtful, friendly & helpful. Other extras include a 9 hole putting green, bat detector, camera trap etc all for guest use. The jewel in the crown however is the wildlife, obviously the red squirrels but also many birds including nuthatches, woodpeckers & siskins. The cottage nestles in a beautiful setting, lovely garden, surrounded by trees & a burn tumbling by. In short the perfect escape from the rat race. Many Thanks to the owners who seem to have thought of everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The red squirrels
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you very much for leaving such a detailed review of Squirrel Cottage, it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we loved having you to stay at Squirrel Cottage too. Our very best wishes, James and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ever holiday cottage!”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A very warm welcome from James & Kathleen awaited us on arrival.They were perfect hosts throughout our stay.
The cottage was warm,clean & well equipped,with many 'extras' such as toiletries provided.
The wildlife really made the holiday,all within close view of the cottage (binoculars provided).There was even a nesting box being used by blue tits which could be observed on web cam!
All the above made for a very relaxing stay.
Thank you
Ann& Mike

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity of the stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Ann and Mike, we thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay at Squirrel Cottage. Also thank you for taking the time to share your expereinces of staying at Squirrel Cottage with everyone. We very much hope to see the blue tit with eggs and later with chicks, fingers crossed. Best wishes Kathkleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFM10
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely wildlife retreat”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed for a week primarily to enjoy the wildlife and walks in the area which is very beautiful. Squirrel cottage was a home from home and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there! Didn't want to leave. Bed was a bit hard for us, but other people had commented it was comfy, so maybe just us. But we suggested a removable mattress topper as an.option for guests and this suggestion was well received by our lovely hosts. Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback, in particular the comments regarding the bed. We have taken on board your suggestion to purchase a removable mattress topper and it is now in place for all guests to enjoy at Squirrel Cottage. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to share your stay expereinces with everyone. Best wishes Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely cottage & extremely well equipped; there's nowhere better for a relaxing break. Peaceful & quiet location but only 5mins from Pitlochry & if you like wildlife, it doesn't come better than this. James & Kathleen are perfect hosts; always helpful & friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage with others. We very much appreciate your kind words. Thank you. Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christebe...
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect country cottage - especially for wildlife lovers”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was our second stay at Squirrel Cottage and plan to return next year. Our main reason for visiting the area at this time of year is to attend the Perthshire Amber Festival concerts. The birds and red squirrels were an absolute joy this year, we spent many hours watching their antics.

The cottage is very comfortable and cosy, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. Kathleen and James have thought of everything, from the lovely welcome pack of breakfast essentials to the wide array of toiletries - in fact they supplied everything we've ever forgotten to take on holiday! We've stayed in a number of self catering cottages and it's unusual to have toiletries included, but most useful. Kathleen and James are so welcoming, and always ready to help with queries about the wildlife, local walks, events and facilities. The printed information provided in the cottage is also exceptional.

There is so much to see and do in the surrounding area, even in the autumn/winter months. Pitlochry has a number of good shops/restaurants and of course the Festival Theatre is well worth a visit.

All in all, Squirrel Cottage is a delightful place to stay, we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and well equipped
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you very much for taking to write this carefully thought out review of your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage. We very much appreciate your many positive comments. Thank you. With our very best wishes, Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing