We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Red squirrels”
other travelers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Shirley12...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Red squirrels”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Red squirrels everywhere in the garden and lots of bird feeders.
My parents stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed their stay.The cottage was fantastic with nice little touches (sweets) left for the guests
The owners were most friendly and helpful and would recommend this rental to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your parents enjoyed their stay at Squirrel Cottage - we thoroughly enjoyed having them to stay they are a lovely couple and so pleased they enjoyed themselves. Yes and lots of Squirrels about too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beall53
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wildlife Lovers Haven”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Squirrel Cottage on 25th Apr for a week & were very impressed with the quality of the cottage, the views & setting, the great hospitality of the owners James & Kathleen, as well as the amount & variety of wildlife we saw. There were lots of extras at the cottage for guests use, a bat detector, wildlife camera trap, a little putting course in the garden, plus a few groceries & toiletries to name but a few of the pleasant surprises offered by our hosts. James & Kathleen are on hand if you need them but give you the privacy you need as well. We were very lucky in that we saw the beautiful red squirrels every day & caught a little footage of a pine marten on the camera trap, there are too many bird species for me to name but if you love wildlife, peace & tranquillity this is the place for a terrific holiday. Thanks for a great break from the rat race & having booked again for next year speaks volumes about what we think of this special place.
Michelle & Ian.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2015
Michelle and Ian - thank you very much for sharing your experience at Squirrel Cottage, it was a real privilege having you to stay and enjoy all the wildlife, something we also get a massive amount of pleasure from too. Yes the camera trap, is new and its is another way of capturing the wild life, especially those elusive pine marten. The great thing as you know, is the camera trap allows one to see what happens at night around various food deposits left out for the night creatures. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nuts About Squirrel Cottage”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific stay at Squirrel Cottage in February thanks to the abundance of wildlife that could be seen so readily from the windows, the comfort and warmth of the cottage, the many local attractions to visit and the wonderful welcome and hospitality of the property's owners, Kathleen and James.
If you are keen on wildlife photography or simply on watching wildlife with the minimum of effort then Squirrel Cottage is just the place for you to stay for a while. Thanks to the cottage's "magic" bedroom window you can lie in bed and watch the wildlife just feet away from you while they are not aware of your presence due to the special film over the window. What a simple but ingenious idea !
Drive or walk the beautiful Perthshire countryside, eat at the many and various excellent hotels or restaurants in the vicinity, visit the Pitlochry Theatre or one of the many visitor attractions nearby( in season) and come home to the comfort of Squirrel Cottage and to the delights of its garden and accommodation.
Kathleen and James are the most delightful hosts. They are always on hand to help, advise and share their engaging personalities but would never interfere, only lend support.
Go and enjoy Squirrel Cottage and its magic window and surrounds.It's very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wildlife
Liked least: Being there in the dreichness of February
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Thank you very much for your fantastic comments giving an insight in to your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage, the wildlife and the area. The couple who are currently staying in Squirrel Cottage have brought their wild life camera trap plus the loan of our own camera trap, I am delighted to report that they have been able to capture the pine-marten marking their territory around the cottage at night - a real first! What we enjoy so much, is the added dimension all our guests bring while staying, as each adds their own unique perspective to the Squirrel Cottage experience. Thank you very much for giving your time to sharing your stay. Kathleen and James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venusScot...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself to a stay at this home from home”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Great place to stay at any time of the year. Cottage itself is cosy, extremely well equipped, spotless and set in lovely grounds with plenty of birds and wildlife to watch from the comfort of the large conservatory. The owners are very friendly without being intrusive. There are walks from the house which have been reccied for you with directions and points of interest recorded on laminated cards. The shops, restaurants and pubs in Pitlochry are only 3 miles away. The retail shops at Bruar are about 4 miles in the opposite direction. The surrounding area is steeped in history and the landscape is stunning. Highland Safaris in Aberfeldy is a great place to visit, especially as you pass The Highland Choclatier en route which is also worth a stop for a quick fix for any chocoholics.
We stayed for three nights but you could easily stay for much longer as there is plenty to do and see near-by and you will also want to spend time simply enjoying the cottage itself and yes there are squirrels in the garden which are great to watch and/or photograph.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the birds and squirrels from the lovely conservatory
Liked least: Having to leave after only three nights
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of staying at Squirrel Cottage and your tips on what to see and do in the area for prospective guests - we thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay. Best wishes, Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgpr2015
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best self catering accommodation ever”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in Squirrel Cottage for a three day break, wanting peace and tranquillity away from our busy lives - this cottage certainly fulfilled that and we came away refreshed and determined to re-visit sometime. The facilities were great, even bird watching from a comfortable bed!! All the little personal touches supplied by the delightful and helpful owners were greatly appreciated. We sat and read our books, took a gentle stroll to the Hotel for lunch, wrestled with the television occasionally and generally relaxed in beautiful surroundings.
We would thoroughly recommend a sojourn in Squirrel Cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Thank you for sharing your experiences at Squirrel Cottage - we are delighted that your three day break fulfilled your desire for peace and tranquillity from your busy lives, and the busy bird feeders entertained you, we also find them mesmerising – best wishes Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandranMa...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect.”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful short break at Squirrel Cottage in December. It was a winter wonderland with snow and ice outside but we were snug as bugs inside. My husband fell n love with the woodburnng stove. Squirrel Cottage is better than a home from home.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Squirrel Cottage and so pleased to hear you loved your stay. It was great having you and your husband to stay. Best wishes from Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callum M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet countryside base”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This cottage was the perfect base for an outdoors weekend away in the Highlands. Kathleen and James were very welcoming and flexible with checking in & out.

The cottage itself was incredibly well stocked and had everything you could possibly need, including an extensive larder.

Would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are both really pleased it worked out well for you and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing