We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walks”
Review of Faskally Wood

Faskally Wood
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
319 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great walks”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We always take in Faskally Wood en route on a longer walk - it is usually 'off season' and it probably gets busy at peak times and weekends. But we have hardly ever seen anyone there, personally speaking - beacuse we are there mid-week and hardly there in the summer. Loch Dunmore is a hidden gem.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    117
    32
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We walked from the Fish Ladder arounf Loch Faskally, the Tummel and the Garry, back to Pitlochry. Nice, easy walking it was 10 miles in total. Well worth doing after a full Scottish breakfast at the Moulin Hotel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Flure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great walk”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Turn left out of the hotel and cross the lower bridge across the loch, turn right and walk 2.2 miles to the Coronation Bridge across the River Tummel and walk to the right down to the River Garry and then left up the side of the river to the bridge at Killiecrankie and turn right down the other side of the River Garry to Faskally Woods. About 7 miles. I used to walk/run this in an hour and a quarter. Now (aged 71) I walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Picnic stop”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely little wood and lake nice for a picnic, very tranquil, kids wild love it here, when we were there people were having wedding photos done

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good walks”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

nice walks here-some longer but very sheltered on a cold day.Parking for cars and you can walk along to the dam and fish ladder.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faskally Wood also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Faskally Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing