We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Views after a Good Climb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigower

Craigower
Scunthoror
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Views after a Good Climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The walk starts in the town and takes you along the golf course and into woods. It is a strenuous climb through forest and trees but the views are fabulous when you get there. What better place to take your picnic and eat and enjoy the views.
The forestry commission were doing work when we went to we had to detour slightly but we got back without any problems.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WendyH332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rather difficult to find the place to start but once we were on our way, we felt the climb was well worth the effort as the views from the top were wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKWELL, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Goat's Crag”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was a beautiful walk from the town centre of Pitlochry on a sunny and bright 29th day of November. My walk took me on a gentle stroll through Pitlochry's clean and tidy streets, past well built and maintained houses and across gentle, sloping hills and pastures. The final climb is very steep but the rewards at the top are well worth it! The river Tay, Loch Fascally and far off mountains look wonderful. Take your binoculars and telescope to the summit1

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great walk with fantastic views from the top. Well worth the struggle up the hill. If starting from Moulin watch out for the golfers when going through the golf course. There is limited parking in Moulin and Craigower so go early.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent short walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great little walk from Pitlochry 2-3 hours up and down. You can also combine this with a longer Killiecrankie circuit circa 10 miles in total. Various options but most straightforward up side of golf course and follow track. Watch out for red squirrels rarely fail to see them. Deer in the woods also you might get lucky and see them in a clearing. The main pull up to Craigower is 150m ascent but any reasonably fit person will manage it fine. At the top the main view north and west is stunning and well worth the effort. Go slightly to left and the views over Pitlochry and the south can be awesome. We had the ravens performing fantastic acrobatics at the top which was great fun.
Go on give it a go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank desmondo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigower also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Craigower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing