We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel, Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for one night at Pitlochry Backpackers in a private double room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations and info on the town of Pitlochry. The room was a pretty decent size with a pretty good bathroom attached. The bed wasn't great as it was just a couple of foam mattresses stacked but it turned out to be better than we thought it would be. Located right on the main street in Pitlochry and less than a 5 min walk to the train station. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi to our Canadian Friends :)
Thanks for taking the time to give us a nice review :) We totally appreciate the comments. Really glad you had a nice stay with ourselfs and my fingers are crossed we meet you again sometime in the future. all the best for the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

called in after walking the robroy way, was given the turret room (double, en-suite),plenty of clean towels an overall lovely room with a great view from the comfy chairs in the turret window.
hostel is full of lovely bright colours and has a good standard of cleanliness both in the room, en-suite, and the hostel in general.
very friendly helpful staff who recommended places to eat and were also able to advise on travel options too.
cheap breakfast available. plentiful free tea, coffee, hot chocolate.
fantastic central location. would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your kind review, Im really glad you had a good stay with us and congrats on completing the Rob Roy way...............another walk done eh. Il pass your nice comments to the staff and they will totally be please to hear them. Thanks again for coming and staying with us and all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Lovely hostel with friendly and funny staff. The common area was really big and had a pool table where you could play for free which was a nice change!! The rooms were good, beds comfy and showers decent. Internet a bit funny at times but generally a really nice place to stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieroyal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thanks again for the nice review, I would have gave you a game of pool if i knew you liked your pool :) I know what you mean about the internet,We are trying to resolve this with Bt at the moment and i think a new rooter is on the way so hopefully next time all the internet needs will be sorted :) All the best and take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

After an abrupt change of plans to my backpacking trip, I had to pack up my tent and all my gear from the Aberfeldy camp site for a day of hiking around Pitlochry before heading home that evening - and alas, there was nowhere to leave all of my heavy kit! A friend popped into Backpackers, asked if there was anyway I could leave my stuff there for the day, and they were very obliging and let me leave everything with them, for free, to pick up whenever. Thanks guys, I would have had a bit of a nightmare trying to get up Ben Vrackie with a rucksack as big as I am! Will definitely stay here if I ever come through again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi,
Thanks for the review and it was good that we could help you if just a little, Ben Vrackie is a lot easier without your backpack i can assure you:) Hopefully see you some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a budget hostel and must be judged as such. We had a double room which was quite large, comfortable bed and had a sitting area with table and 2 chairs in a turret on the road side. It was clean. Toilet and shower en suite were dated but fully functional. Ryan the manager is a real hoot, great character, very hospitable and friendly. Breakfast is basic continental, cereal, juice, toast. Free tea and coffee making anytime. Free car park at the back. Right in the town centre which can be plus or minus. Main road wasn't too busy on a Wed night

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Guys,
Thank you for taking the out to review the Hostel :)
Also we are really pleased you had a good time and thanks for the lovely comments :) It really good to hear nice comments for me and the rest of the staff because we do try. Hopefully we will get to see you guys again in the future and we can thank you in person.
All the best for the future
Thanks
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very standard hostel in a good location. Our twin room was nowhere near worth £45, crap night sleep in rubbish beds, punctuated roaring and singing from drunk people outside the bar next door.
A BnB would have been a much better option for the same price. Lesson learned!

Room Tip: Avoid the ones on the side next to the pub if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millymeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hostel and glad to hear that you liked our great central location. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the bar next door. I have raised your complaint with the manager of the pub who apologizes profusely for any annoyance their customers may have caused you. We work together with our neighbours to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum which it usually is. However, in this case it appears that they were unable to keep everyone quiet at closing time. I am also sorry to hear that you found our beds uncomfortable. This is genuinely the first time we have ever had a complaint about the beds in your room so we will investigate further to see if we can determine why they were so uncomfortable for you. We are in the middle of completely refurbishing our bedrooms and if the mattresses are unsatisfactory they will be replaced. We wish that you had raised your concerns with us during your stay and have given us the chance to try and put things right for you. Best wishes, Ryan, Manager, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I booked an 8 berth room plus a twin for just the one night due to our roaming weekend. All of the party were more than happy with the place, the showers were decent and nice big rooms. Free tea and coffee and a free pool table! The people who run the backpackers are fabulous, very helpful and welcoming. If you need somewhere on a budget for a night or a week I'd recommend here - beautiful area and a great place to stay. Will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hi,
Thanks for the nice review :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy you might return on day.........i will put the kettle on for your arrival :) All the best for the future and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
472 reviews
6.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Address: 134 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of beautiful rural Perthshire, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel makes a terrific first stop for any trip into the Highlands. All the comforts of a hotel plus the ambiance and facilities of a hostel - twin, double and dorm rooms are available plus a wonderful sunny lounge, overlooking the main street. Pitlochry Backpackers is an old Victorian hotel, bursting with character. We offer a range of rooms - dormitory (4-8 beds), twins and double rooms (our twin & double rooms are all en-suite). It's such a relaxing place to stay and unwind, with its big cosy lounge that boasts a free pool table, comfy sofas, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate, free WiFi, musical instruments, games, book swap and loads of info on the local area. We also have a separate movie lounge with comfy sofas & cushions and a wide range of movies for our guests to watch. Our comfy beds come complete with bedding so there is no need to worry about carrying a sleeping bag and our self catering kitchen has everything you will need to prepare your favourite dinner. It's a great place to meet like minded people and although you might think you're only staying one night, you'll end up staying three or four - it's that kind of place!Best of all it's literally a stroll away from the beautiful highland countryside. In just 5 minutes you can be at a tranquil lochside with views through the trees to the hills above this pretty highland town. There are many wonderful walks to take; to waterfalls, along rivers, through ancient forests, or up Ben Vrackie (2760 feet, the hill above the town) - these walks all start from our hostel door! The area is also dotted with distilleries, castles and ancient standing stones all within easy reach. Perthshire is also a big centre for adventure activities, including white-water rafting, canoeing, bungee jumping, mountain biking, canoeing etc if you're up for it - or simply get your boots on and get exploring - there are some fantastic trails. The Pitlochry staff are a friendly bunch who know the surrounding area like the backs of their hands and are willing to help so don't be shy! Come and have a chat at reception and we can make sure you make the most of your time in Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing