We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fisher's Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
St. Andrews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a last minute decision. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely and clean and you can tell they are doing their best to fix it up. Location is fantastic, on the Main Street close to railway station and also the beautiful scenery.
Breakfast was good, usual continental buffet however the hot breakfast was freshly cooked not a buffet which I enjoy more.
Would stay again. And recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    435
    240
    106
    55
See reviews for
180
535
53
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have stayed at this Hotel a good few times over the years. We recently stayed for two nights
On arrival at the Fishers we were offered a large whisky or sherry which we enjoyed in the lounge.
The hotel is right in the centre of Pitlochry with the Railway station at the back and the bus stop at the front. Limited car parking is at the side and front of the hotel.
The hotel has recently been re-furbished to a good standard.
Bar prices in the Kingfisher are about the cheapest in Pitlochry.
We found the staff to be helpful,cheerful and polite. Will be back again.

Room Tip: We were at the front next to the main road.No noise heard when windows are shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed their for four nights, and I like the place. Its location is ideal: right by train station, main street, river. Their food is actually quite good - I was very pleasantly surprised. Dinner's were fresh tasting, the fish perfectly cooked, etc. Breakfast was pretty much standard fare, but nothing to complain about. The rooms need updating. The bed, well, you can tell its a cheap mattress. Not exactly a luxury hotel kind of bedroom, but then, Fisher's is a bit of both (economy and grand). You have the white linen tablecloths and waiters in suits, yet you also have cheap mattresses and low grade sheets etc. Although I was there four nights, the soap, shampoos etc were never restocked. So in some ways it seems cheap. The staff was always exceptionally friendly and helpful. Oh, and almost everyone there is a senior citizen. I like that, as I was traveling alone and not wanting to attract attention, but if you are young and single and looking for a hip place to go, this is NOT it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went for a couple of nights in end May. Good location, fine breakfast and evening meal. Cater for lots of pensioners, so thankfully not rowdy. The bar area was really good, with great food and live bands. Got a lovely whisky as a welcome to Fishers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at the Fishers for 2 nights in May 2013 with my partner. Its a lovely looking building, very well placed in the town and for the station. There was a car park but it was full so we had to park on a side street.
Our room was on the first floor with no view but that didnt bother us. The room had been refurbished recently and had everything you needed including a great shower. Unfortunately they had left random plastic piping sticking up out of the floor next to the radiator which seemed a little odd.
We got back to the room late on the first night which is just as well as we appeared to be above the function suite (Rm 126) and not only could we feel the music coming through the floor but we were able to hear every word that was said over the PA. I called reception who basically said 'Just wait a while, it'll soon be over.' Not very helpful.
Breakfast the next morning wasn't much better. We walked into the dining room and I asked the manager if we could sit where we liked and his response was "No, the place is a bomb site." He did manage to find us a clean table though. The buffet tables had not been replenished in some time and there was still an hour of breakfast left. We were given cold toast, there was no jam anywhere, no continental breakfast options left, no milk in the dispensers, tea and coffee came without milk or sugar and they took a while to take our cooked breakfast order. The best bit was asking the waitress for something and having her colleague come out to retake the order because she didn't understand me and then the item never actually appearing.
To give them their due, the service was much better on the second day when they were quieter.
I wouldn't rush back and I certainly wouldn't want to pay full price for the room but it was a roof over our heads for two nights.

Room Tip: Avoid Rm126 on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sooz322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Negatives first. Yes parking can be a challenge so arrive well before check in time of two. Yes in parts the hotek is date.This makes it much easier to find a space. Read much critiscism of food. Not when I was there. Food and service were excellent. Our room was compact but clean and modern. Location is excellent. You are right in the middle of the town. Handy for local walks amenities and access to Ben Vrackie. Hotel staff are very welcoming and helpful. Only hotel I have ever been in that offers you a free whisky on arrival

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bphannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for one night, ready to complete Etape Caledonia the next day. I cannot fault the hotel's location, right on the high street in Pitlochry and where the sportive started.

However, the car park is very small for the size of the hotel.

When we checked in we were asked if we would like to join the pasta party. Some people behind us whispered that it wasn't that great the previous year so we declined (and went to McCays opposite which was fabulous).

The room was spacious and the beds were comfy. There was no bath but the shower was powerful and had lots of hot water. There were odd pipes sticking out of the walls in the bedroom and the radiator had clearly been bled and sprayed rusty water over the wall but no attempt had been made to clean this up.

As we were getting up at 5am to cycle 81 miles a good night's sleep was imperative. Unfortunately our room was above the "entertainment" suite which included a live singer. When we complained to reception and pointed out that the hotel was full of lots of cyclists who had to be up early we were told that the singer would stop by 10.30/11pm. They also assured us they would ask her to turn the music down. There was no perceptible difference to the volume in our room. She stopped around 10.30pm.

The breakfast, although put on early for the cyclists which was very helpful, was chaotic - we had to clear a table ourselves and the porridge was inedible - a real shame in Scotland, and for cyclists. They weren't helped by the toaster machine setting off the fire alarm so we were all evacuated. The restaurant staff were very friendly but it was all a bit of a shambles and they could probably have done with more staff on.

Overall the hotel is in a fabulous location, especially for the Etape Caledonia and I would stay there again for this event, but I would request a room at the front of the hotel and away from any entertainment, I would get there earlier to try and get a parking space (although we arrived at 3pm), I wouldn't bother with dinner at the hotel, there are lots of lovely places in Pitlochry and I'd consider taking my own porridge/granola.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Property: Fisher's Hotel
Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing