We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
$172
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel(Pitlochry)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$120
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$110
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$99
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,052)
Filter reviews
2,052 results
Traveler rating
819
582
352
191
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
819
582
352
191
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender spaturret suitetennis courtsplunge poolpitch and puttstags headmanor houserestaurant managerafternoon teasteam roomwedding partywelcome drinkputting greenhotel groundsspa breakspa arealovely grounds
Filter
Updating list...
1,301 - 1,306 of 2,052 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a fantastic time here. Our room was not ready when we arrived so we had lunch in the restaurant. The food was very tasty and the view was terrific. Our room was suffice, the bath was a bit patchy and rough with some enamel peeling off but the shower was good enough.
We ate a three course meal in the evening and the food was amazing. Our waiter throughout the day was Ross, he was very hard working and polite. In fact all waiting staff and reception staff were very friendly. We had our breakfast delivered to our room, this incurred an extra charge but was worth it. We will use this hotel again and hopefully use the spa facilities next time.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have great views
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanineManderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for posting such a glowing review - Ross will be pleased! I have made sure all your comments have been passed on to Ross and the rest of the team, it is always lovely to hear good feedback. We are going to be operating a rolling refurbishment scheme to all rooms across the hotel, including bathrooms so the issue you had with your bath etc will not be an issue for much longer. I look forward to welcoming you to the Atholl Palace Hotel again very soon!
With best wishes
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a bargain break two nights DBB for a very good price at the beginning of February.

Although I had stayed in this hotel before, it was over thirty years ago, so I had little memory of it and didn't really know what to expect.

On check-in, staff were welcoming. The room was a good size, with tea and coffee maker, plus a bathroom with nice toiletries. At night the bed was comfortable.

Dinner was included in the deal and I was concerned that this was going to be a low point, but it was actually very good indeed on both nights. The deal covered three courses, plus coffee. Breakfast was also very good. The hotel is on the top of a hill and the view from the restaurant takes full advantage of this - when you can see out through the large windows.

There is a lovely pool and spa area with steam room and sauna.

The weather during our stay was better than we had any reason to expect and we managed a couple of good walks: first a two mile walk up to the Falls of Bruar (60 minutes) and then a three-mile (two hour) trip around the Pass of Killicrankie. There are many good walks available in the local area, including in the grounds of the hotel and the hotel will give you a map on check-in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were exceeded especially with dinner! We hope that now you have been impressed, you will come back for another walking holiday and stay with us - we will look after you! Next time, ask us for a packed lunch to keep you going on your explorations, we would be happy to help
With best wishes
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night in the winter with friends. The hotel room and the spa were okay, nothing to write home about (can't speak for services, we only used the pool and jacuzzi, which were nice), but the grounds around the hotel is something we really enjoyed taking a walk through. Breakfast was average, but the dining room had a spectacular view that more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is a shame you feel you had a mixed stay, but I am delighted you enjoyed exploring our grounds and woodland walks - they really are stunning.
I hope you will visit us again when you are next in Scotland, as we are undergoing lots of upgrading and refurbishment, and the result is not to be missed.
With best regards
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We've been here before and had enjoyable stays. This was the best! First change was a new reception desk area and glad to see the log fires still in use. Spent many an hour reading paper in front of a roaring log fire. Our room had recently been redecorated (still could smell the paint) and had great views from the 3 large windows. Bathroom had new tiles and fixtures.
Great food in the restaurant and served by really attentive and friendly staff.
Hotel was busy but this didn't cause any queue for restaurant at breakfast. Staff worked well at clearing and re-setting tables.
Hotel location makes for a 10 minute stroll into town.
I had made couple of requests prior to arrival and pleased to say everything went to plan.
Overall we had a great relaxing weekend in great surroundings and well looked after by the staff.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bath then specify this. Some rooms only have a shower.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I will make sure all of the team see this, I am sure it will brighten up their day!
I very much hope you will visit us at the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With best wishes
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a thoroughly lovely weekend here. The drive up to the hotel sets the scene. The hotel itself is magnificent and is set in lovely grounds. On arrival we were greeted at reception by a lovely efficient lady who got us checked in promptly and gave us directions to our room and the spa.

We were each staying in a single room. Both rooms had recently been refurbished and were spotlessly clean.

We were both booked in for 4 beauty treatments split of the Friday afternoon and the Saturday. All the treatments were great. We made use of the sauna and jacuzzi on the Saturday. The spa area was nice and clean.

We had breakfast both the Saturday and Sunday mornings which was very tastey and a great selection. We had evening meals on Friday and Saturday. The food was absolutely delicious. We also had afternoon tea on Saturday which was a lovely treat.

All round a great stay and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatClark90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

What a wonderful review to read! Thank you so much - it certainly sounds like you had a ball, and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace!
With best wishes
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews