We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spa visit”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I phoned last minute as the weather was bad on a visit to Pitlocry. We went for the "lunch and spa" package for £20, topped up with a facial for me (£55) and a back and shoulder massage for him (£30). We spent a very relaxing 5 hours in the spa and restaurant. Our experience really was very good - great staff and comfortable surroundings. The treatments were wonderful. We can't wait to go again to relax for a day. Next time it would be good to spend the night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDollive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, it certainly sounds like you had a wonderfully relaxing time!
I hope to welcome you back again soon!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    514
    306
    168
    102
See reviews for
368
825
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel has his monumental outside, located on a mountain. The historic building is very nice. Inside you have the fireplaces in the foyer. The rooms are ok but oldfashioned. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean, bed is nice.
Breakfast and dinner are awfull. Food quality is not allright, so just book only the room for the night and find breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to see you did not enjoy your meals with us, we take these kind of comments very seriously and are always looking to improve, as it is very important to us that our our guests are happy. If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact Jenny Dow, Sales Manager, on jenny@athollpalace.com.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The castle and its grounds looked fabulous from outside so we entered with a sense of anticipation about our turret suite. As we walked through the door it seemed like too much effort had been paid to the grounds and not enough to the interior.

Radio 2 was being piped through the atrium which I interpreted to mean "We don't care. We're just wishing the day away". The reception area looked reminiscent of that at a youth hostel and various pieces of information were shared on cheaply processed laminate sheets. The old fashioned lift eventually arrived and took us to the third floor where we found stairs to our room. The view was stunning but the room was shabby with a distressed carpet and scuffs on skirting, bed and soft furnishings. The window was full of dozy bluebottles that we had to deal with. Upstairs was better although the TV was stuck on subtitles. We then discovered that there was no hot water at which point the staff sprang into action by doing nothing at all.

We went to the bar where we were instructed to ring reception for service. Having done that, a pager on the bar, right by the phone we'd just used, rang with nobody to hear it. A barman eventually mooched in from somewhere down the corridor. He sorted the drinks and apologetically told us we'd be disappointed by both games room and snooker room. He was correct.

The dinner menu looked very 1970s so we went elsewhere. When we returned to our room later there were some new flies but no hot water. The receptionist said she thought someone had "had a look". In the morning someone else came to have a look. He ran the tap for 10 minutes before confirming there was no hot water.

We left soon after with apologies and a large discount. This hotel has no attention to detail, no proactive staff, no obvious leadership and no special touches. The pricing is delusional. Give it a miss unless you have remedial taste or a very good sense of humour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank MartinNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We will make sure our team is aware of these issues and make sure this does not happen again. My Sales Manager Jenny Dow discussed this with you on departure, and she followed up with an email to confirm what was discussed, so I hope this helped a little to make up for your unsatisfactory stay.
I do hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the future.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great break stayed at hotel sampling their Roman Spa; needing some TLC and general upkeep but none the less relaxing and adequate. Dinner enjoyable and blissful view over dinner with a good selection of options. Staff attentive and pleasant.
Enchanted forest trip very enjoyable though slightly disappointed that the last story telling was as we arrived therefore no way of knowing or making it therefore did not get the pleasure of the story yurt

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CcBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, what a shame you missed the story telling! You will have to plan to visit again next year. I very much look forward to welcoming you to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and it was a lovely venue. You were welcomed with a stunning view over lovely gardens and then coming out of the cold into a welcoming lounge area with log fires burning. Breakfast was served with the most amazing view and our hotel room was well equipped, with a comfortable bed and good powerful shower.

They have made the most of their location and I would stay here again. We didn't make use of the facilities, but there was a swimming pool, tennis courts etc - so very well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you ever so much for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will visit us again, next time perhaps to enjoy the relaxing spa!!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel and booked their Enchanted Forest package, which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Paid extra for a deluxe room with lovely views and this came with champagne and chocolates for our arrival. Room was large and tastefully decorated in keeping with the period features of the hotel. Lovely grounds. Just a 15 min walk to where the pickup was for the Enchanted Forest.

3 course dinner was lovely.

Only criticism would be that we had a 15 min wait for breakfast. Breakfast is served until 10am on Sunday, would suggest an 11am finish with a noon checkout.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you ever so much for posting your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

7 of us stayed for 2 nights for my sisters 30th Birthday celebrations (specially mentioned when booking)
Arrived at hotel and the reception thought that we were only staying for one night (worrying) after about 5mins this was sorted out however only two rooms were ready, absolutely fine as we were early for check in anyway, 12noon. We went down to the town to have some lunch and arrived back at 2.30pm to check in our room was not ready still (even though there is a guaranteed check in time of 2pm) a few unsuccessful calls were made to housekeeping staff i eventually just asked to be called at my sisters room when things were sorted. This wasn't the best of starts as the two others who were staying in the room were booked in at the spa for treatments at 2:45pm. Not much of an apology was made, an excuse about the fact there was a wedding party due in was given, something that is not acceptable.
As we were having treatments I asked reception if they had robes and slippers for us, they said they did not and that the spa staff would have some available This was not the case, I asked at the spa and the girl looked at me like I was talking a foreign language. After her leaving to "find out" she came back and said they were "awaiting a delivery" - surprising as I would assume the hotel has their own laundry facilities? - this is something which should be looked at, would have greatly improved our experience if robes and slippers had been provided.
So not the best of starts. A little disappointed as the hotel knew this was a special occasion and in my opinion they could have offered something extra or given an upgrade/discount for the mishaps.
The restaurant was lovely and the food in the evening excellent. The barman/waiter Ross, was a lovely guy and made us all feel very welcome, he brought us drinks to the lounge and nothing was too much trouble.

Our treatments at the spa were good, however some of us were given the option to have a scalp or hand massage with our facials, I wasn't, disappointed. There could be more emphasis put on the spa and leisure facilities perhaps a refurbishment and over haul, the reception area of the spa looked dingy and unkempt. There was a definite lacking in the leisure facilities however it was lovely to have the place to ourselves on the Sunday, silence is golden.

The grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful and i especially loved that the kitchen has its own herb garden.

Overall a very enjoyable trip away and would return, maybe not for a spa weekend but definitely for a quiet weekend, some good food and drinks and a relaxing sit by the fire :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquic247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and can only apologise for these issues, which we will do our best to ensure will not happen again.
I hope you will come back and visit us again sometime in the future.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing