We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for the recent Highland Games, everything about the place was very good - service excellent, location excellent and garden apartment was excellent. Although we did not eat in the Hotel the menu looked apatising - maybe next time

Room Tip: The Garden Room is cosy and isolated from the Hotel in a good way
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you ever so much for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you had a good time at the Highland Games too!
We hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,837)
There are newer reviews for Atholl Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

check in was nice and friendly, this is a lovely "old" place with lots of charsima and charm, very high ceilings and lots of wall hangings etc nall this and i stumbled across it by chance whilst in the area for work. the bar joined to the hotel served lovely food with a great smile! nothing seemed too much trouble for all the staff even the morning breakfast staff were very cheery even opening a little early for us! the village and nearby castle are a must see if you visit the place as is a nights stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you ever so much for posting your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of package arranged by our friend who got married at the venue. The rooms were neat and spacious and the bathrooms clean and fresh. The breakfast menu was lovely and we were spoilt for choice. The staff were very friendly and assisted us with all queries. A special mention to the event staff who were very accomodating with all our requests for the wedding preparations including the special requests for specific food menus etc. The lavender spa staff were lovely and friendly and ensured we all looked our best for the special occassion. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well kept, definitely first class.
I will defintiely revisit this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you ever so much for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a wonderful time on your friend's big day! All your comments have been passed onto the events team, and the rest of the staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very impressive hotel in Pitlochry in Scotland. Reasonable rate, comfortable room, very accommodating staff! Beautiful grounds. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed walking around the town of Pitlochry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your review. We are delighted you hear you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope to welcome you back some time soon!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop off when heading North. The building is stunning, the spa facilities were clean & well stocked & the food was very decent & not over priced. Our room was fresh & clean, if I had to be picky I would say the bathroom could have done with modernisation as it looked a bit tired. Overall we loved our stay here & we feel as though we have to return as we never had time to go a walk in the grounds which looked beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazgaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, and your comments have been passed onto the rest of the team. With regards your comment about the bathroom, we are constantly doing refurbishments in the hotel to keep everything fresh and are currently updating some of our older bathroom suites, so we hope you will visit us again in the future and see the difference!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable short break here.We stayed in the Edradour Suite in the turret,and found this to be very comfortable,with a spacious sitting room with large flat screen t.v.upstairs.The downstairs bedroom had a comfy bed,and as others have said,thin pillows,but then we did have two of them,so that was fine.The floorboards were squeaky,but so are ours at home!The rooms were all well maintained and clean,and the service from the staff was first class.We had the leisure facilities all to ourselves on both days,and found these clean and pleasant to use.We appreciated the large bathrobes to wear to and from the leisure centre.
I have read some negative reports about the food,but we had perfectly good meals,well presented, though not haute cuisine.I would prefer freshly cooked food at breakfast,rather than buffet,but that is only a minor complaint.The staff in the dining room worked hard and were very attentive.
We have stayed at the Atholl Palace before,and found it just as good this time.The large public areas and lovely hotel grounds give it a very spacious,yet relaxing feel to it. We will probably return here,as we find it suits us very well.

Room Tip: The turret suites are bright and spacious with wonderful views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Atholl Palace Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments and will use these to help us improve in the future. We are delighted you have stayed with us in the past, and we will look forward to welcoming you next time!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can't say we had a bad visit to the Atholl Palace Hotel but we definitely we not vowed by the overall experience. We arrived as a mini break honeymoon for 4 nights in July. Obviously having just got married we were still very excited and full of optimism for our stay.
This did fade at first when we entered the hotel and on realising I had booked in my maiden name, explained we'd got married and could it be now Mr & Mrs...etc this was greater with yes not a problem but not even a congratulations which felt very flat as a first conversation.
The strange carpeted tiny lift is very dated as are quite a few areas around the hotel, it could do with some investment into decor and facilities.
Our room was 203 and having noted on booking that it was our honeymoon wee thought maybe a nice in the room, a bottle of wine or congrats or something but nothing. The room itself is big, with a separate sitting area with a small sofa and tv, then a dressing area, bathroom of it and a large bedroom at the end. The wardrobe was slightly oddly positioned behind the door which made for some small elbow and feet injuries if the person coming into the room didn't know you were behind the door / getting clothes from the wardrobe!
We were on a dinner, b&b deal which on booking we thought was a good deal but a times I wasn't sure. A lot of the interesting, different or delicious souring food had big supplements and a times I struggled to choose. The portions were large and we didn't go hungry again it just wasn't what we expected.
Breakfast could be a bit interesting, sometimes there you had to wait in the bar area, if you sat near the buffet are you have a constant stream of people coming past you or waiting to get past you. It is also quite a small area for the number of people and could be quite congested and oddly people pushing in to get food which might be helped if there was more space to be.
The staff on the whole were courteous but no-one was memorable, normally at least one person sticks in your mind but sadly not this time.
We did enjoy one gorgeous early eve in the sun sipping champagne on the terrace but with uk weather this was luck and we still had to fetch the £50 bottle and glasses out ourselves, it's the little touches.
Overall a fab location for visiting this area which has loads of brilliant trips which I'll review in a minute but the hotel needs investment and time and just feels very flat there's no atmosphere and personality which is a shame as the building is stunning from the outside.

Room Tip: Room 203 does have a view over the mountains but don't look down to the bins and be careful when...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Atholl Palace Hotel. We are very sorry you did not have the best of experiences with us, perhaps we do need to do more with regards the little touches you mentioned. All of your comments have been passed to our heads of department, and we will do our best to improve in the future.
We hope that you will come back and visit us again some time soon.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $172 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing